We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Ironbridge Coalport

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Ironbridge Coalport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall a very good place to stay. Had a private room for 4 people here. Was good basic accommodation, shared showers were ok. Downsides, there was a school trip or similar staying. And families with children running around constantly down the corridors shouting and screaming. There needs to be family sections and adult sections. Also, I wouldn't bother having breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beckabock
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for leaving this feedback. YHA is committed to providing a quality food and beverage offering at competitive prices. Our meat is Red Tractor accredited and our hot drinks are Fairtrade. Breakfast is currently £5.75 for adults and £3.25 for under 10s, consisting of seven hot items and a cold buffet of toast, cereals, croissant, cheese, yoghurts,...

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

this was our second stay at Coalport YHA and we were not disappointed the staff are friendly and helpful our room was cosy and warm. everywhere looked clean and tidy. It is ideal if you want to visit any of the museums they are all nearby some within walking distance. overall we would recommend this hostel highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patkey258
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for the recommendation, see you again soon!

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a great hostel and a great location too. Virtually on the banks of the lovely river Severn. Good cafe, nice rooms, modern, clean and well equipped if you want to self cater. Nice comfy sofas in the lounge and even a pool table if that's your thing. Great for visiting all the historic sites nearby and wandering the paths...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManInBlack64
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and visiting the area.

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Lovely hostel with friendly and helpful staff. We rang to say we would be arriving later than expected and this was fine. The hostel was clean, well organised and welcoming and it is in fantastic surroundings. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean and tidy. Thanks for a lovely stay, we will certainly be back for a proper holiday!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairebb20
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed yourselves and will be back! We look forward to welcoming you again.

Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This really can't fail to meet most travellers' criteria - it's a recently refurbished hostel in a particularly scenic and convenient spot. We were visiting the various Ironbridge Museums over a period of a few days so a couple of nights here was just the ticket. Good self-catering facilities and lounge right next door for the kids to watch a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules N
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent feedback and great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and exploring the Ironbridge Gorge

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

I booked a private room for two as an overnight break on a long journey expecting just to get a bed for the night, but ended up with a huge 6 bed ensuite room which was very comfy (maybe slightly too warm?) The hostel is set in a stunning part of the UK and it seems there is so much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jigsawmel
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback.

Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Writing this review as I am about to check out and I have to say that I have absolutely love my time here. The staff is amazing, friendly, and very helpful. Ironbridge-Coalport is located within a complex that at one time was the Coalport China Factory, one of the many industries located in the Ironbridge Gorge along the Severn River....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VAP1611
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and for leaving such informative information for other travellers

Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Did not stay here but used the cafe as we were at the Coalpoirt China Museum which shares this campus. The service was great, the staff friendly and helpful, food and drinks very good and great value for money

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve01957
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving the feedback and praise of our café which is open Easter to end September, and most wekeends throughout the year.

Kuwait
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Really enjoyed our stay here. We had a private room with own facilities. Typical YHA style - compact and functional. The building itself was brilliant. Two lounges, self-catering kitchen, laundry room and downstairs a nice cafe/restaurant. A very interesting area to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zaals
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave this review

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Self catering facilities were great, good social space, and good wifi. Our room had two sets of bunks and was ensuite - the shower was good. Staff were friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
YHAIronbridge, Owner at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalport
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
836 reviews
0.9 km away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
3.0 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Shakespeare Inn
Shakespeare Inn
#9 of 21 in Telford
180 reviews
7.1 km away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
1.2 km away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#1 of 4 in Jackfield
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Coalport offers comfortable accommodation and excellent home-cooked food in a beautiful historic location. Housed in the oldest surviving building of the famous Coalport China Works, within the Ironbridge Gorge World Heritage Site, it offers easy access to its many attractions and museums. National collections of Caughley and Coalport china are displayed at the china factory museum next door and it's a short walk along the Shropshire Canal to the 200-year old Tar Tunnel. Children get a fascinating insight into Victorian life at the nearby Blists Hill village or can visit Enginuity! - an interactive science museum. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Ironbridge Coalport

Address: High Street | Coalport, Coalport TF8 7HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coalport
Price Range: $40 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Ironbridge Coalport 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Ironbridge Coalport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Ironbridge Coalport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You could ask to overlook the park as opposed to the road. We didn't have wifi in our room, possibly too far away from hub.”
 of 5 bubbles ernestinen, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This is a typical YHA hostel. It's basic, but it's clean, safe and a better experience to travelling than hotel-life, in our opinion.”
 of 5 bubbles zaals, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Free Wifi in the public areas within the hostel”
 of 5 bubbles Clashworth, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get discount by becoming a member”
 of 5 bubbles Gorwydd, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor for rooms with private facilities-probably quieter if you are early to bed.”
 of 5 bubbles ladymancunian, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay