We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
5300 West Touhy Ave, Skokie, IL 60077
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$157
Booking.com
Hotels.comUS$157
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.comUS$165
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Skokie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Newly renovated as of 2019. The North Shore is home to NorthWestern University, Wrigley Field, Ravina Music Festival and many other favorite destinations. Plus, Skokie, Illinois, is minutes from Downtown Chicago. Stay convenient to the city and area businesses at the Holiday Inn Hotel Chicago North Shore Hotel (Skokie). The hotel features the famous Bar Louie Restaurant on property an award winning gastro bar serving Lunch and Dinner. Our hotels location is near the Chicago Metra making city travel easy and downtown entertainment options endless. You can rent a Segway at Navy Pier, walk along Lake Shore Drive and see the city from Willis Tower Close by, enjoy live jazz at the Skokie Theater, shop the open-air Westfield Old Orchard and browse the unique South Asian markets along Devon Ave. Corporate guests appreciate our hotels location near major Chicago companies, including Shure, Amazon, Fed Ex, Illinois Tool Works.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
633Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 163
  • 156
  • 122
  • 93
  • 99
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Megan S wrote a review Sep. 2022
1 contribution
Day 1:By far the worst stay I have ever had at a hotel. First let me start out by saying upon checking in guests were flooded in the lobby complaining about there room keys not working. Waited at the front desk for at least 3 minutes while front desk finished there conversations. It was only when a man in a suite who worked there told them to check us in. We were given our keys and proceeded to our room only to find out that keys also didn't work. My friend went downstairs to the lobby while I spoke with other guests in the hallway while they waited for there keys as well. So finally we got into the room and needed to charge my phone. The USB or outlets on the nightstand in between the beds did not work. Went over by the TV where they had additional charging station, that also didn't work. Finally the charging outlets on the left hand side worked. Bathroom tub walls were dirty and under the sink was full of dust and debris. Later that evening we headed down to the pool area cause I didn't feel like sitting in the room and the pool was packed along with the hot tub which consisted on tons of young kids, so wasn't able to enjoy that and headed back upstairs. Day 2: Absolutely no parking available, parking lot was packed as a wedding was going on. Ended up having to park in the back of the building stepping out I almost feel from the uneven parking lot. Large crater on the ground and ended up rolling my ankle nearly dropping everything in my hands. We had a bunch of things to carry in which were heavy and it was impossible to find out way around the hotel. We asked staff where we needed to go and they couldn't direct us cause they didn't even know. Beyond irritating. We get to our room and begin to relax and I grab the 2 pillow I put on the chair the night before and notice that there is BLOOD on the cases. Absolutely unexpectable and disgusting. Called down to the lobby and the crank on the phone didn't apologize, didn't say anything other than I'll have new pillow brought up. After all that, I checked the bed thoroughly and noticed other stains on the fitted sheets as well. So my question is were these sheets washed in between stays? I'm guessing not. I was so grossed out by this I decided to step outside. When I stepped outside I seen that there were tons of cars lined up in front of the hotel on both sides preventing any cars from pulling up to the doors if they needed to park there momentarily. Not to mention the screaming and partying that went on till the morning, when it clearly states 10pm. I would never return to this location ever and I hope that by this review you can save your money and stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: everything was terrible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael and Sue wrote a review Sep. 2022
Mornington Peninsula, Australia4 contributions
After alerting the hotel we would check in late earlier in the day - and they acknowledged our booking - we arrive after dinner to find out they had over booked their rooms and we were offered a standard double in lieu of a Premium king as booked. No offer to refund difference or compensate. The room we have has no natural light and stinks of chlorine from the internal pool, this triggers my wife’s asthma so really unpleasant. Very ordinary room - more like a Motel 6 but we paid 4 x that much to have sone comfort before our 20 hr flight home later today. Breakfast in the dark dingy Bar Louie was just tasteless, dry and horrid. No service - tables were sticky snd not wiped down between guests properly - awful coffee. Overall a really disappointing and frustrating experience - not what we would expect from a Holiday Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Michaelandsue2, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize for the breakfast and the comfort of our room. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Berry922 wrote a review Sep. 2022
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates38 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed here on our way out of Chicago for a night. And where to start. The place is a maze. A business motel style at best. No proper directions to where to park for which block. Definitely not an IHG standard hotel. Then to add it all up, in addition to the run down walls, faucets, rooms there were weird noises coming from the fridge, ac, bathroom. The internet was spotting all evening. There was a huge spider in the bathroom (😳😳😳) and dirty towels/rags laying outside rooms (YUCK!!!). To top it all up, the bed sheets had dried blood stains on the sheets (OMGGGGGG!!!) and bed sheets are TORN and un ironed. I called the front desk to complain and she (I believe her name was Chelsea) not only sounded not interested at all but very unapologetic , rather didn’t care. Seems the people running this place are cutting corners and really don’t care about the well being or experience of their customers.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Park near your block instead of the main entrance
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Berry922, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize for the noise from the fridge, the internet and the cleanliness in our room. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M Berger wrote a review Aug. 2022
3 contributions
woke up in the morning with bites all over our feet and legs. Took video and immediately contacted the front desk. They took and incident report and the manager on duty promised to refund our stay. They absolutely did not! We checked out and when I called to follow up with a manager they informed me that housekeeping looked for bug and didn't find any .... I made it very clear that we have video and photos. Then I was told that they couldn't do the refund since it was a 3rd party booking (untrue) . The absolute worst customer service experience and I travel all the time. Would NEVER stay there again and would only recommend it to a mortal enemy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Todd J wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution
Lousey experience. Our first room had a faulty outlet in the bathroom. That's pretty inconvenient for a wife and teenage daughter that carr about their appearance. The second room had a burnt out light in the shower that required arguing with the management to get maintenance to come fix. The matresa was completely worn out. The ice maker on the second floor didn't work. Pick a different hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi S4381GJtoddj, We appreciate you for choosing the Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie) for your leisure stay. Providing an excellent level of hospitality and cleanliness is our topmost priority. I would like to offer our sincere apology for the issues you encountered during your time with us. Your honest review is very important, and I will share this with our appropriate hotel team to take necessary action to prevent any issues from reoccurring in the future. I hope we'll remain to be your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting. Yours in hospitality, Melissa P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abdul Rahman A wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution
the reception was really good people over there especially mr Malek he always help a lot, all others are perfect as well. room service is also perfect and they clean the room very well. the facilities in the room are more than perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sarah E wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution
This hotel is disgusting! I don’t see how this can even qualify as a hotel. It is really more like an old, dirty motel. It seemed nice enough from the outside but we were put in an older part of the building and the hallways were gross, carpets were not vacuumed, and there was trash in the hallway before we even got to our room. The room itself seemed decent enough, but upon closer inspection, the carpet had not been vacuumed and the fixtures were outdated. It was hot and the thermostat did not work. The bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom had one bar of soap and the door creaked rather loudly. The mirror hanging on the back of the door had paint streaks on it and looked like it had come from the last century. The shower looked like it had not been cleaned in months. Definitely do not stay at this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Sarah E, We appreciate you for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn hotel brand for this trip and for sharing your feedback. I am glad to have been a host to one of our valued guests. I trust that all is well. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests are important to us, and I'm sorry to learn about your experience. I have shared your comments with our Hotel Management team. I am sure they will use this as a reference for improvement. I also have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your stay. I hope you give us the chance to turn things around the next time you stay with us. Safe travels, Glaiza G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve W wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution
Terrible hotel. I was a guest for 3 days and I would have had a better experience at a roach coach motel. The room has water damage, the carpet looked 20 years old, and the front staff were unable to communicate in english when I asked for coffee. 3 days and no one ever came and cleaned the room or even offered towels. If there is a procedure to request service it is not provided. The hotel charges $10 for a free continental breakfast, i get that Chicago is expensive but how do you charge for a free breakfast at any other hotel, and it is not any better than anything else, if anything it is worse. Frozen reheated junk, not worth paying for.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug. 26, 2022
Hi F4291PSstevew, Thank you for your review and for choosing our Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie) for your travel needs. We appreciate you as one of our valued guests! We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. I'm sorry about the situation encountered during your stay. I brought this up to our local management's attention. I'm confident that the necessary actions will be taken to ensure better service. I also sent you a private message discussing this further. We look forward to seeing you again on your future trips and we'll do our best to make your next stay better than the last! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Teresa U wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution
I really enjoyed staying here while visiting my son at school! The staff was amazing, especially Patty!! Rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff were all friendly. I have my fur babies with me and we couldn't have been more comfortable. Thanks so much! Patty, you rock!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kathie T wrote a review Aug. 2022
Highlands Ranch, Colorado3 contributions
Made a reservations thru Travelocity/Expedia, for 8/5 thru 8/8 + pay at hotel, and decided to check out early on 8/7. 3rd party site says contact hotel, hotel normally cannot change a 3rd party hotel reservation etc. We wanted to ensure I would only be charged for 2 nites, not 3. The front desk team went above and beyond to make sure the 3rd party (Expedia) was aware the WE made the decision to cut our trip short. So not to cause issues between the hotel and them or us and Expedia. We thank you for your patience, listening and assistance. Great customer service. Hotel is clean and great location as well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$134 - US$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn chicago north shore skokie hotel skokie, holiday inn north shore, holiday inn skokie, skokie holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisSkokie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
264
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include AMC Showplace Village Crossing 18 (0.4 km) and Georgia Nut Company Outlet Store (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sanders Restaurant, New York Bagel & Bialy Corporation, and Shallots Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.