We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Show Prices
#2 of 14 Hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Champaign\/Urbana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 422: English reviews
Kalispell, Montana
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Located about 10 minutes from the airport and just a few minutes from the university and downtown Urbana, this Hampton is yet another example of the consistency this chain delivers. The room was spotless (including the grout, nooks, and crannies in the bathroom) and reception courteous. There's a breakfast area (didn't use due to food allergies) and a Perkins across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nwmontanagirl
Nik K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize we did not properly recognize you for your loyalty as an H Honors Gold member. I understand that you have many options when you travel, and I appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton family of brands. I will be sure to address this with...

L'Anse, Michigan
Reviewed 13 June 2016

The hotel was fine. For the money, the rooms were very nice. Breakfast was the usual fare for a meal included with the cost of the room. The staff was particularly friendly and efficient. We would stay there again if we were ever in Urbana again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S2468RUjohns
Nik K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team. I will be sure to share your thoughts with them, as they always appeciate great feedback. Come back and see us again soon! Nik Kern General Manager

Waukegan, Illinois
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Besides the room being comfortable, location very convenient & close to the university, the Staff was pretty great too! The fitness room was nice, could have had a few more machines, but it did the job! No complaints at all!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Me60085
Nik K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm glad it was AWESOME! I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team. Nik Kern General Manager

Oak Lawn, United States
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Extremely clean and comfortable beds. Staff was friendly and knew their job. Bathroom was a great size and VERY clean. The breakfast was perfect. Most importantly, a non- stressful check in and check out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
Nik K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at our hotel. I'm glad we were able to make it stress free, and of course offer a clean and comfortable room. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the entire team. Kind regards, Nik Kern General Manager

Bloomingdale, Illinois
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Would seriously consider staying in the same hotel because the phone operator scared us that we did not have a reservation when we called on the arrival date and conflicting information of front desk staff when we arrived to check in. Front desk staff did not smile or greet us or even ask if there are anymore things to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edmondc26
Nik K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. It looks like the E-Check In process did not complete as planned, and that is the reason for the "scare." As you can see this is not the norm for our hotel, as we pride our selves on friendly staff and clean rooms. I hope you...

Quincy, United States
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We stayed here because we wanted near the Hospital up the street for a operation the wife had. There's a Perkins restaurant next door also which made everything very close and walking distance so we never had to drive once we got here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Nik K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments regarding your experience with us. We all hope your wife is doing well after her operation. We look forward to hosting you again should your travels return you to the area. Kind regards, Nik Kern General Manager

Sioux City
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Overall the stay was good. The gal that was checking us didn't seem to have it all together. She seemed extremely overwhelmed. We had a military discount and she re-figured out bill and when I went to check out in the morning she had it wrong so we had to wait until the morning guy re-figured it. Would stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
Nik K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at our hotel. We do have a few new team members at the front desk, thanks so much for your patience while we continue to get them fully up to speed. We look forward to welcoming you back. Nik Kern

Homewood, Illinois
Reviewed 5 June 2016

After an airb&b fell through, this was a welcome result. A modern, plesent and clean hotel from top to bottom. Staff was very present at all times and responded to some noisy kids quickly. The complimentary breakfast and coffee are first class.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cncgone
Nik K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for the very kind review of your recent experience. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope you think of us first when you return to the CU area. All the best, Nik Kern General Manager

Athens, Georgia
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Great hotel and the staff is friendly and extremely helpful. One of the staff helped me with my car when they probably could have just cLldd someone. Breakfast was great and the location is extremely convenient to the University of Illinois U-C.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 124jamiea
Nik K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments regarding our team. I agree we have an awesome staff that will go above and beyond for our guests. We hope you were able to travel home safely, and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Kind regards, Nik Kern

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Good place to stay. But gave three stars for service due to whirlpool not working right even after I brought to the attention of the desk. Same for tv in exercise room. Also no refrigerator or microwave in room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 268valm
Nik K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay.We've followed up on the issues you mentioned. We do have refrigerators and microwaves in select room types and can be reserved. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Safe travels, Nik Kern

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1.7 km away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
2.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
1.6 km away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
2.9 km away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#5 of 25 in Champaign
532 reviews
3.6 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Address: 1200 W University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Price Range: $130 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Carmi, Illinois, United States

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner rooms are sunny”
 of 5 bubbles enjoy0001, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 111 is close to the pool and entrance/exit. It's a king suite with couch.”
 of 5 bubbles ohiogirlcm, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Gus' famous chicken is only a half mile away. You should try it :) grocery stores close by.”
 of 5 bubbles robinr40, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The breakfast here is great - better than any other Hampton I've stayed at.”
 of 5 bubbles jasonm350, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Use your hilton honors account after you negotiate your best price. This will insure you get free WiFi. Don't have one? Sign up is free.”
 of 5 bubbles Availiam, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay