We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort sits in the beautiful setting of Starved Rock State Park. Located just 90 minutes from Chicago & the Quad Cities and an hour from Bloomington & Rockford. The resort includes Grand Bear Falls Indoor Waterpark (re-opening late fall). Accommodations include custom lodge rooms, two-bedroom Vacation Villas, and three-bedroom Log Cabin. Cabins and Villas feature full kitchens. Guests can enjoy a view of nature at our Bear Island Outdoor bar and our 18-hole Canyon Creek Miniature Golf. All lodge rooms include a microwave, mini-fridge, and wi-fi access. Other resort amenities include the Cave Arcade, the Honey Pot Sweet Shop and the Moose Crossing Convenience Store. Our Grand Bear Conference Center includes over 11,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, including 6000 sq. ft. of Grand Ballroom space to accommodate weddings, family reunions and corporate events.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Restaurant
Free Internet
Public Wifi
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Greater Peoria Airport92 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
1,842Reviews
358Photos
16Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 423
  • 526
  • 367
  • 233
  • 293
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
To be upfront, we first tried to book rooms at Starved Rock State Park Lodge. But since they did not have the number of rooms available that we needed, we opted to try for the closest other place, Grizxly Jack's. It is just outside the park, convenient for getting back and fort
Read more
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Operations Coordinator at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Responded Oct. 23, 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Resort. We strive at providing 100% guest satisfaction to all of our guests. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the waterpark was currently closed due to renovations but once complete it will be better than ever before. We do hope you will return in the near future to stay with us again.
Read more
Great for hiking at Starved Rock State Park. Clean, comfortable, and quite. However we did stayed Sunday to Monday and the pool was closed so no kids running around. The price was right and the staff was friendly
Read more
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Operations Coordinator at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Responded Oct. 23, 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Resort. We strive at providing 100% guest satisfaction to all of our guests. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the waterpark was currently closed due to renovations but once complete it will be better than ever before. We do hope you will return in the near future to stay with us again once waterpark is completed in Winter of 2018.
Read more
When you book a room online it asks if you would like additional services added, such as breakfast or mini-golf. They neglect to inform you that you will be charged when you make reservations that you will be charged the ENTIRE amount to hold the room including the additional se
Read more
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Operations Coordinator at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Responded Oct. 14, 2018
Thank you for booking with us at Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Resort. We strive at providing 100% guest service to all of our guests. I am so sorry to see that you experienced difficulties when booking your reservations online. When you are booking your reservations and adding extra services to your reservations it does say at the time of booking that payment in full is due at the time reservation is made. Also in addition to our extra services being charged this is outlined in our Deposit Policy: Your card will be charged today! A deposit in the amount of the first night's room rate plus taxes and resort fee are due immediately at the time of booking. Please allow up to 24 hours for processing of your credit card. Any remaining balance will be due at the time of check-in. I do understand that providing 100% guest satisfaction is a HUGE part of hospitality and that is what makes the hotel a success. I would love to further discuss your concerns with you to make it right. I can be reached anytime at 815-667-3866 ext. 244
Read more
we checked in, stayed for only an hour and left. there was a stench in the room, broken beds, stained couches, overflowing sinks, a hair ball in the bottom of the shower, and most disgusting of all, the water park was shut down. the water park caught on fire in january, and still
Read more
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Operations Coordinator at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Responded Oct. 14, 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Resort. We strive at providing 100% guest service to all of our guests. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Yes the waterpark is currently under renovations. Our contractors have been working hard on rebuilding and making improvements for the better throughout this whole renovation process. We are scheduled to have the waterpark reopen late November early December. Once the renovations to the waterpark are complete it will be better than ever before. With regards to the rest of your stay with us I will forward this onto our department managers so they can address your concerns with the proper staff and for future training. I would love to speak to you further regarding your concerns to be able to make it right. I can be reached at 815-667-3866 ext. 244 direct.
Read more
This is a reasonably priced lodging with a very good continental breakfast. It is located next to a state park with extensive hiking and biking trails - in addition to the waterpark. They offer a broad range of options form 4 bedroom chalets to standard lodging (2 double beds).
Read more
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Operations Coordinator at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Responded Sep. 14, 2018
Thank you for staying with us at Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Resort. We strive at proving 100% guest service to all of our guests. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will return in the near future to stay with us again. Our indoor waterpark is scheduled to reopen in Fall of 2018.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementGrizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Vacation Villas
Panoramic view of the cabin
Cabins
Luxury Cabin Eating Area
beware of bed bugs!
Previous
Is the indoor waterpark open now?
The waterpark is not expected to reopen until the 1st week of November at this time. I am sorry for the inconvenience this may cause.
0 votes
Show all answers
We do you expect the renovations to be completed and open?
Hello our renovations are expected to be completed around the first part of May of 2018. We are looking to be open and running as usual.
2 votes
Show all answers
I will be coming with family members. I use a walker or wheelchair. can resort accomodate me. any ADA bathroom safety bars? any adjoining rooms Senior or ARRP discounts? Can I make it to water park with a walker?
Yes we do have rooms that are accessible rooms. We also have adjoining rooms as well. However our waterpark is currently closed due to renovations. We are expected to be reopen and running by the first part of May 2018. Please call the hotel or check online direct for rates and discounts.
1 vote
Show all answers
Is it a long walk from the villa's to the indoor waterpark, hotel lobby etc? I can't seem to find a property map.
It is not a far walk at all from the cabins and villas to the waterpark at all.
0 votes
Show all answers
For people that stayed recently... Has it improved since new ownership? I am wanting to take my kids (12& 8) away for a weekend and this is definitely closer to where we can stay two nights as opposed to the Dells. We can't afford to take trips often, so I don't want to waste money on an unpleasant stay. Thanks!
I am from that area and moved to Louisiana 15 yrs ago. We have always stayed in a villa when we visit. Of course there is wear and tear but we have always been pleased. We visited in June and was unable to use water park. We were pleased with the villa and grounds. I am not sure where you stayed on grounds. This is serene compared to the Dells. Less expensive and less of a waterpark. I love both.
1 vote
Show all answers
Previous
"The cabins can hold 18, you can pay extra for more and use air mattresses, We made our own food and fished out our back door."
"Renting a home/villa in the woods is peaceful,"
"All of the rooms appeared to be very nice."
"Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor"
"Higher floors will probably have less noise since the arcade and water park and underground"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$84 - US$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grizzly jack`s grand bear hotel uticagrizzly jacks grand bear resortgrizzly jacks grand bear hotel
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisUtica
NUMBER OF ROOMS
272
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing