We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan \/ Gurnee
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
See the most recent reviews
Showing 86: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 13 January 2016

The room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was good. It was fun making the waffles.The hotel was convenient to get back and forth to the Naval Base.Great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BriggiteA
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to the Great Lakes Naval Base. We greatly appreciate your review and look forward to serving you on your future visit to this area again. Sincerely, Dan Manager

Reviewed 11 January 2016

Seriously, I'm not sure how this hotel has any good comments unless they are family members of the owners. Ridiculously dirty and in dire need of repairs. If I had seen this room before I paid...I would have left immediately. Iron burns on the carpet, NASTY carpet, holes in the mattress, bed springs coming through the mattress, stained towels and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beckey C
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry to hear about your experience during your recent stay at our property. We will be doing some renovations this year and hope you give us a second chance to see the difference. Sincerely, Dan Manager

Carrollton, Georgia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I can't believe this hotel is open. The rooms stink like moldy musty dust. Carpet in rooms was so nasty we would not take our shoes off. Furniture was in horrible condition. There were burns on the comforter, like cigarette burns, NASTY! Ironing board but no iron, no hair dryer, would not eat the free complimentary breakfast because the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We will be doing some renovations this year so I hope you give us a second chance and see the differences. Also, our front desk is open 24/7 to assist our guests' for anything/concerns; WIFI and/or regarding other guests. Sincerely, Dan Manager

Reviewed 3 December 2015

Lets begin by saying that If there were a rating less than Terrible, we would have picked it. We were booked Sat thru Sun at the local Holiday Inn, but due to a huge snow storm, needed to come into town on Friday night and the Holiday Inn was booked. We quickly booked a room at Americas Best Value Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bre Z
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for leaving a review and assure that we will definitely look into the matter regarding your reservation. I have also spoken to our housekeeping regarding the window and bedspread. Please give me a call and I will personally look into the matter and take care of you at (847)244-6100.

Reviewed 19 September 2015

I almost gave this hotel two stars because of the friendly staff but could not do so in good conscience based only on that fact. Other than the nice staff this place is completely unnerving. The lobby definitely dates this hotel and there is a smell as soon as you walk into the building. The smell gets stronger as you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for leaving your review. We are actually in the process of renovations. Some roooms the wallpaper has been stripped and painted. Soon enough all the rooms will be redone with new paint, flooring, and furniture. I hope you can give us a second chance so you can see the difference with our always affordable rates. Sincerely,...

Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for our six flags trip. We received an awesome deal package for two rooms and six tickets, it also includes a shuttle van. The hotel was older and no it wasn't the best hotel, but it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful.I would definitely stay here again and would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maggie4249
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are in the process of some renovations this winter and we hope that you can come back and visit us next Six Flags season and see the upgrades. Sincerely, Dan GM America's Best Value Inn

Plattsburgh, New York
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Staff was very friendly.. it smelled nasty with cigarette smoke in the hallways & went into nonsmoking rooms..they should have no smoking except outside. the carpets are dirty, dont walk out in socks. I was there a couple of nights. breakfast they served was ok. its the cheap version of kelloggs, stale waffles & bagels. I felt like I paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jm m
Minneapolis
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We chose this hotel for the great price and free shuttle to Six Flags. The service that was provided was wonderful. They had wonderful advice and were very caring. Breakfast was simple, but filling. Room was large and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan C
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really appreciate your review and look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Waukegan/Gurnee area. Sincerely, Dan L.

Kentucky
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee is listed as a place to stay when visiting the Navy recruits. Avoid this hotel like a plague!! Locks don't work properly - takes a special jiggle to unlock the hotel door! Transportation is "included" to see the Navy recruits. The hotel van headliner hangs down on everyone's heads. No...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gadgetguy11
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We believe you have the wrong property. We do not have manual key entry to our hotel as all our locks are electronic key entry so no jiggling of the lock. Also, as manager I do the shuttle myself on Fridays with our own 14 passenger van. This van does not have sliding doors. No overhanging thing. Also,...

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Is this a Five Star Hotel? No. Do you get all of the amenities that comes with higher-priced rooms? No. But...the staff were friendly and very helpful, the rooms were nice, and the price was right. This is not a place I would stay for my honeymoon or romantic getaway, but for a business trip or for visiting the RTC...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
Dan L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. We appreciate any guests' feedback and we strive to improve constantly. Regarding the carpets rest assured that we will talk to our carpet cleaning company and have them steam clean again. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Sincerely, Dan L.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
2.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
2.1 km away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
5.4 km away
Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago
2.7 km away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee

Address: 411 S Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4823
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Price Range: $85 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Americas Best Value Inn Waukegan
Best Western Waukegan
Waukegan Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early!”
 of 5 bubbles danmT5018MN, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles DebbieA891, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Look at the room first, then either negotiate a more applicable price or decline the room.”
 of 5 bubbles Helomech1969, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“stay away nasty place”
 of 5 bubbles 877todde, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Stay away!”
 of 5 bubbles N7827TPmarya, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5