We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropicana Evansville

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tropicana Evansville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tropicana Evansville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

I have nothing bad to say about this place. My boyfriend and I came and stayed overnight and it was relaxing and enjoyable on the 4th. The rooms were nice and spacious and clean. The staff was also friendly and courteous. No complaints here. I will definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alana P
Princeton, Indiana
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

The rooms on average are above 80 dollars during the week and 140 a night on the weekends. The dining is over priced. Buffet in hotel in never open. No snacks available in vending areas. Basic cable television. No mini fridge or microwave in rooms. Shower only in bathroom. Drive the extra 5 miles to the Hilton garden, the Hampton...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Guthrie, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 July 2016

love going here, nice place, fun times , gambling, Lots of fun!!! Beds are great, Showers are nice, We go usually a couple of times a month and love the staff, love the games, love having a good view of the city!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bksuperman74
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our property. We appreciate knowing that our guest’s have been taken care of. Return guests are the highest compliment to us because it means we are doing things right and helps us to give even better service in the future. Come see us again soon as we look forward to your return.

Kentucky
Reviewed 26 June 2016

View was GREAT For Shiners-fest air show. Other than that, room was clean. Nothing spectacular. A bit overpriced. I would consider staying further out of town to save money next time we visit Evansville.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redroofhater
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Our rates do fluctuate based on availability and events happening in the City. Most hotels closer to the activity do the same thing and the best deal are at hotels on the outskirts of the city. Glad you had a good view of the air show since the temperatures were so incredibly...

Tularosa, New Mexico
Reviewed 24 June 2016

This hotel is very nice, clean, quiet and in central Evansville. Great for business or pleasure. Normally, I would have given this hotel 5 stars, and serious considered writing my review last night. I'm so glad that I didn't. This morning at 0830, the housekeeping staff banged on the door, waking me up. For a moment I thought that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bumpercarr
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am sorry that the housekeeping staff woke you up and disturbed your stay. I will forward this to the Executive Housekeeper and see if this is the hotel policy. I am glad that the rest of your stay was great and though. I do hope that if you are in...

Madisonville, Kentucky
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

This was out first visit since casino became land anchored. Decided to spend the night just to recharge. Bad idea. Front desk staff was friendly enough, but our first disappointment came when we walked into our room and found 2 queen beds. Went back down and was informed they had no king rooms. Then from the 9 th floor, riverside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kdj101
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are sorry that things were not to your liking but comments such as yours gives us a chance to review where we went wrong and rectify the situation. I don't know if your reservation was for a king or if it was booked as queen beds. Sometimes things do happen...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 5 June 2016

I was plaeased to find this a pet friendly hotel! The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet tasty and plentiful. The free parking and easy access to the building is great. I was disappointed though in the cleanliness of the room. The carpet needs to be replaced and the mattresses could use an upgrade as well, especially for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert2861
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Glad that you found the staff friendly and the buffet was good. Thank you for your comments on the room. I researched and found the room that you were in and I have sent this to the Executive Housekeeper to address with his staff the cleanliness of the room and that the mattress needs to be replaced. I am sorry...

South Bend
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We booked two rooms at the Tropicana and both rooms were very clean, updated and very comfortable. The hotel staff was helpful and kind. We had a nice view of the river. It also has a few good restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michd61
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of our property. We are glad that you find our rooms to your liking. Our staff does everything we can to be sure that we provide the best experience possible and we work at this daily. Please be sure to come visit us again. Thanks,

Brownsburg, Indiana
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Lots of changes coming but very pleasantly surprised. Booked on business, usually stay at chain, higher price, so decided to try Trop Hotel. Have been to casino and joined free club. Checked in to pay $119 plus tax rate. Asked Front Desk if using my Trop Card got me anything. Yes, Senior Rate is $39! Great view of The Ohio,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jlhert
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We are always glad for our first times guests and hope that we did enough to make you a repeat visitor! Yes, this is an exciting time for us with all kinds of things coming up! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 16 May 2016

The room was nice and the view of the river was cool but the room needed maintenance. The closet door was rigged to stay closed but did not work, the bathroom was a little dirty with mold around the shower. Overall the staff was very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. Feedback such as yours gives us an opportunity to improve our product and our appearance. I will send you a private message to get your room number so our Housekeeping and Facilities team can take care of the issues in that room. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Tropicana Evansville

Address: 421 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1047 (Formerly Casino Aztar Hotel)
Region: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Price Range: $146 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Evansville 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Evansville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aztar Casino
Evansville Aztar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropicana Evansville staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Washington, Indiana
5 months ago
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Tropicana Evansville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a river view, very tranquil when waking up in the morning.”
frc269, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“DO NOT GET ONE HERE, any other hotel has better facilities than this one! Total let down.”
michaeljdupre, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book at a different hotel”
loribO9974HT, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“overlooking the river--- and not abutting the elevator”
aspen24, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I always ask for a room at the end of the hall, there is only one room connected to me.”
brdr06, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5