We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shadeland Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Shadeland Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shadeland Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 45: English reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I have love this place. Hotel staff was so nice. The front desk help me to check in and check me out very quickly. Housekeeper and room service people are nice too. Room are beautiful, bed is comfortable. Pool table, game room. Led tv in the Room. This is awesome Hotel. I love it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P P
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Place is so dirty and not well kept, but what got me the most is how unprofessional the night auditor was!!! He had such a bad attitude I even said to cancel my reservation cause I didn't care for his attitude. After I said that he immediately worked on my reservation faster and made sure I stayed, so I did....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John T
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We’re proud to be a Choice Hotel and strive to live up to the company’s high standards every day. We take pride in the cleanliness and quality of our accommodations, too, but I’m sincerely sorry that you were not satisfied. While we satisfy hundreds of guests each month, I respect your decision to...

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This has to be by far the nastiest and unkempt hotel I have ever seen! There were stains on everything...The shower curtain, chairs, wall and bed spread. Some of the staff was very rude.... Not to mention the power outlets have electrical burns and a prong was stuck in a ground plug outlet. Nothing that is claimed in the description...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Adiqna7722
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the comments. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your needs during this stay. While we satisfy dozens of guests every week, we clearly did not satisfy you and respect your decision not to return. Please take into account, however, that we have made significant improvements and changes in the weeks since your...

St. Louis, MO
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Through some offer from Choice Hotels I spent three nights there for $95 including tax and got about that much value, including tax. The place was under other brands before and now is a warehouse-like dump in dire need of renovation, but probably safer than it looks at first blush. The lobby too often has loud, sleazy-looking characters, and police...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quaker0ats
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We take pride in the property and do what we can to maintain clean, comfortable and pleasant accommodations in a safe and friendly environment. Many guests are completely satisfied, and while I’m pleased that you had a decent stay, I’m truly sorry that you...

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I've recently started booking motels, and will now start paying attention to reviews. In reading reviews dating back 7 years, I found th1at the Rodeway still has the same problems(except for bugs...didn't see any). As of August 2013, the front doors to the lobby are still in disrepair, the lobby still has no air conditioning, and the attached restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Greg A
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for this review from nearly a year ago. In the time since this feedback, we have used your comments and others to help us improve. We’re now a better, cleaner, safer place than ever before and satisfying hundreds of guests every month. If your travels bring you this way again, I hope you will try us...

Reviewed 10 August 2013

This place is the nastiest place ever! How ridiculous. Such liars when it comes to renting the room online! Nothing is correct there was no pool due to not working! the lights did not work floor disgusting toilet coming up off the floor. This was suppose to be a romantic night for us and it was washed down the drain...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pdof
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for these comments from last year. I’m sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. You can be sure that these comments were taken into consideration during our recent refreshing and improvement efforts and we believe our property is now better than ever before. If your travels bring you this way again, we challenge you to...

Philadelphia
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed with my family on June 28, 2013. Heard gunshots outside. Asked for my money back and ran away fast. This is a dangerous neighborhood. AVOID at all costs. Room was a mess as well. I checked Yelp first and came to Trip Advisor to write my review. I am also a Choice Hotels Rewards member and thats how I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank uadeeb
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for these comments from nearly a year ago. We’re located in a safe, friendly neighborhood and always have been. It has even improved in the last several months. I’m sorry that you mistook some kind of nearby sound for something worse and chose to leave. That’s your decision. We’ve improved our property in many ways, however, and...

Reviewed 26 May 2013

The first room we tried to get was absolutely disgusting...smelled of urine and human feces. I complained and then got switched to another room. While entering the second room a man was exiting the room with a bottle of frebreze in his hand still spraying. The room still smelled..the room had only 1 small pillow and no fitted sheet. A...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Timbo654
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, While you left these comments more than a year ago, I wanted to let you know that they were used as part of our continuous improvement efforts that have helped us significantly improve this property. I sincerely apologize that we fell short of your expectations and hope you will try our improved hotel whenever you’re in town again....

Reviewed 24 April 2013

Wow....I used to work at a hotel and this is a bad one...we moved 3 times to get a room clean enough....plus on our honeymoon...poor front desk lady only been there a short time...also no one told us the pool was closed big bummer. It will do...not very happy...good thing we won't be in the room long!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank abschmitt
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Although you commented more than a year ago, I want to make sure you understand that we read your comments at the time and used them in our continuous improvement efforts. Since the time of your stay, every aspect of this property has been reviewed and improved. Still, I’m sorry we fell short of your expectations so many...

virginia
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Very disappointed. Rooms are old. Indoor pool is closed. Breakfast is pastry(not very fresh) , coffee and apple juice.No coffee maker in room. No business center. No ice machine. uncomfortable beds. Had to wait 20 min at 3:00pm to get checked in.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank momtoeleven
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate these comments from early last year. I can assure you that we have used these and other comments in our efforts to significantly improve and enhance this property. I hope you will visit us again to see how we’re better than ever. I sincerely apologize that we fell short of your expectations all those months ago....

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East-...
#106 of 179 in Indianapolis
169 reviews
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - Cast...
#98 of 179 in Indianapolis
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castleton
Days Inn Indianapolis Off I-69
Days Inn Indianapolis Off I-69
#122 of 179 in Indianapolis
113 reviews
Quality Inn East
#100 of 179 in Indianapolis
84 reviews
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis E...
#86 of 179 in Indianapolis
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Shadeland Inn

Address: 3525 N Shadeland Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46226-5708 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Price Range: $69 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shadeland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Shadeland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Indianapolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shadeland Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Shadeland Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles FREPLUG, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go with a hotel CHAIN and spend the extra money.”
 of 5 bubbles lorettaf740, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Stay on the floor if you must, with the AC in the lobby, you'll stay cooler than upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles BBBnRicter, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Pick a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 25BR25, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Run far away from this place!!”
 of 5 bubbles Adiqna7722, 24 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay