We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 309: English reviews
Ohio
Reviewed 29 July 2015

They were FANTASTIC with me, my husband, and our dog. Our dog made friends in the hotel. The room was WONDERFUL, especially since it had a full kitchenette with pots and such already there. It is on the canal, which was wonderful for walking. I would DEFINITELY recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
Sacramento
Reviewed 26 July 2015

I was in Indianapolis for a conference in March 2015 (sorry..this review is a bit late). The staff at the hotel were excellent and very friendly. It appeared that the rooms were recently updated in the last several months with new kitchen countertops, carpet, furniture, and paint (since this was a Residence Inn, I was given a room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pnwguy1j
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We certainly appreciate it. I apologize about the unpleasant stay. I can absolutely agree that there were missed opportunities with your stay that could have been handled differently. Either way, you are welcome to get in touch with me at the hotel so we can further discuss this matter. Thank you!

Texarcana, United States
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Employees at this hotel will care for your every need. Place was great, quiet, clean. Great location. Walked to city central, my temp work place, museums, bars. I must repeat how incredible service is

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dianna K
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback! I am glad you had a great stay!

Ventura, California
Reviewed 25 July 2015

1-First of all I was not greeted as Elite Platinum member like any other Marriott hotel I usually go to ,I am not asking for someone to pat on my back and say thank you for being loyal to Marriott, I just want someone to realize I am a person who stay for extended period of time and obviously would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OMAR A
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We certainly appreciate it. I apologize about the unpleasant stay. I can absolutely agree that there were missed opportunities with your stay that could have been handled differently. Either way, you are welcome to get in touch with me at the hotel so we can further discuss this matter. Thank you

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 20 July 2015

First day I arrived, I took a lipstick smudge towel that was folded neatly for me to use to the front desk and asked for all new ones. I cleaned my room with a vacuum I brought because it was leftover goldfish under the table and crumbs mixed with fur on the floor. Now today I couldn’t take it. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr P
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry about the issues you had experienced. I am absolutely embarrassed reading about the cleanliness problems you had. Typically we pride ourselves with excellent customer service and cleanliness. As of the pool, the hotel staff checks the chemicals three times a day; once a week an outside vendor does pool testing...

Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Be aware of the parking fee and additional fees (occupancy tax)... They failed to mention that part when I called to book reservations! When checking out and negotiating with the front desk we were given zero help, the lady was rude, telling us that their rates were significantly lower than the JW Marriott which was irrelevant! We did enjoy staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize we were not able to meet your expectations. I understand nobody likes paying for parking unfortunately hotels and business located in downtown areas charge for parking in most if not all major cities in the country. In terms of the taxes, we are required by the state of Indiana and city of...

Cincinnati
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Nice location right on the canal in downtown Indianapolis. Safe atmosphere, friendly staff, kid friendly. Comfortable beds and quiet rooms. What shocked me negatively was the charge for parking! Besides the added taxes (which all hotels have, of course), we were charged $21 per car for parking! We had 2 cars because there were five of us staying in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it. I completely understand how you feel about the parking charges. Unfortunately, it comes with being located downtown. Thank you!

Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

First I have to rave about the beauty of the canal! You walk out of the hotel door right into paradise. The canal is beautiful. From the gardens to the water features to the paintings under the bridge I am in awe. I have already been here for a week and have been very impressed with the hotel and especially...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LifeisaBeach1111
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for the wonderful feedback! I am glad you had a great stay. The canal is definitely amazing. It is good you had the time to enjoy it! Thank you

Anderson, Indiana
Reviewed 17 July 2015

this hotel used to be great and now they are average. The beds are very unpleasant and cause you to see the chiropractor when you return home. The staff are nice. The cookies and beverages at night are now gone. The food for social hour is now a complete joke. Broken waffle machines, staff that plugs three waffle makers into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank topthrill2007
Silviya S, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay like you’ve had in the past. The social hour for Residence Inns across the country has changed significantly in 2015. The program has been completely revamped by Marriott International as of January 1, 2015. Two nights a month we do desserts such...

Indiana
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Got a 2 bedroom- it's like a small apartment. Very nice layout. Comfortable couch and table with 4 chairs in living room. Full size fridge. This hotel has an awesome location - by the canal. You should request canal view room. The canal is very walker/runner friendly. At the hotel there is a pool table across from the pool downstairs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SleepingGoose

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal is the only hotel in downtown Indianapolis on the Historic Canal! Experience our modern look, high-tech amenities and beautiful views. Our Indy hotel on the Canal provides apartment-style suites with full kitchens, free WiFi, separate living areas and 32" flat-screen TVs. Enjoy complimentary grocery shopping service, free daily breakfast buffet and evening social hour plus the least expensive parking in downtown. From our balcony and terrace overlooking the Canal to our location just minutes from Lucas Oil Stadium, State Capitol and White River State Park, our pet-friendly Indy hotel on the Canal is perfectly positioned for great extended stays. Be sure to take a stroll on the adjacent running/walking path right outside our doors, rent a paddleboat, bike, Segway or feed the ducks! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal

Address: 350 W New York Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Price Range: $229 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown On The Canal Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#29 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#41 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room facing the canal, it's beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles victoriakaren, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“choose a canal view”
 of 5 bubbles ynop, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You won't hear other lodgers walking across the ceiling to the toilet at 2 a.m. if you get a room on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles lawmom555, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to have a room facing the canal”
 of 5 bubbles JGAWMR2014, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the canal have the best view”
 of 5 bubbles CDuke2014, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5