We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crown & Horns Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Crown & Horns Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Met up with a colleague for talk and lunch. Very helpful with coeliac request and snack lunch was excellent. Didn't have the 2 course lunch but surely you can't beat this £8.50 offer in this area! Plenty of car parking and really pleasant atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oxfordtraveller1
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We needed a one night stopover off the A34, south of Oxford and this was ideal. Very easy to find, in centre of village, nice welcome and escorted to our room on 1st floor. We loved the style and decor of this old inn. The room was smallish but charming and I especially loved the bathroom. HOWEVER the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ValerieW910
Steve M, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this review

Hello ValerieW910 Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for you kind words. It's unfortunate that your stay was a little marred by the really hot weather. We would certainly be happy to prodive fans in the future, or move you to a room more easily aired. We look forward to seeing you back here soon!

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Arrive midday so had a light lunch which was very nice and served promptly. We were shown to our room and after unpacking had a shower and got dressed for our friends wedding. Rooms were adequate and clean. Good nights sleep and a nice breakfast (not included) before leaving for home. All in all a very pleasant experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
Steve M, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this review

Hello Dave T Thank you so much for your kind review - very much appreciated !

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Stayed here on the night of Wednesday 10th August with my wife on the way home from the south coast. We had previously enjoyed a quick evening meal here on a Friday evening 2 or 3 years ago so thought we would give the accommodation a try. We booked a large double en-suite room at £90 for the night. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warrick D
Steve M, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this review

Hi Warrick D Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Apologies once again for the mix up with your room allocation. I really hope you will consider using us again in the future.

Hampstead Norreys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Following a lovely walk off road from Hampstead Norreys we had a beautiful Sunday lunch, before returning on foot to Hampstead Norreys. Following delicious starters I had roast beef, 2 had half chicken each and our 7 year old had a lovely dish from the children's menu. The adult meals were outstanding and whilst expensive was good value for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daviesjr
Steve M, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this review

hi daviesjnr Many thanks for your kind words - much appeciated ! We hope to see you back here soon !

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Worth the effort of diverting off from the A34. easy to find in the centre of the village. We were a mini bus of 14, which did swamp the pub a bit, so food order were a little slow, but worth the wait. Very friendly staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
Steve M, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this review

Hello Gaham H Many thanks for your kind words - much appreciated ! We look forward to seeing you back here in the future.

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

I booked through travel because the only place available at a reasonable cost for the area. Room are very small, just the bed fits in. Bath is just ok and Windows do not keep the downstairs pub noise out. In the morning I founded the main door still looked, I.e. No way out, until after 7 am. It's just ok...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PippoC1965
Steve M, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this review

Hi PippoC1965 Thanks for taking the time to leave you review. I'm sorry you were't wowed by your visit - should you stay again, we'd be happy to ensure you get a larger room, and receive advice on early checkouts. I really hope to see you back here soon.

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Literally NEVER answer their phone. Have tried to call on many occasions and only once got an answer. Really poor in an otherwise great pub service can be patchy on the restuarant side but food is always good Reasonable priced food and wine is very good value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorna L
Steve M, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this review

Hello Mrs Lawson Sincere apologies if we haven't always managed to answer the phone when you have tried calling. If I had your number I would gladly call you to see how we can be of assistance, however, should you still have issues getting through you can always email us on info@crownandhorns.com, as you have done in the past.

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I chose the Crown and Horns at random as a halfway point to meet up with an old colleague for lunch. It is easy to find in the centre of East Isley and has a good car park. The bar area was very comfortable with a range of seating in quiet alcoves. There was a very good menu with plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker2020
Steve M, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this review

Dear sunseeker2020 Many thanks for taking the time to post your review - and for your kind words. Very much appreciated !

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Really nice old pub, lots of character and with really nice (if small) rooms. Stayed for one night in March 2016, very welcoming staff and dinner in the restaurant was excellent and very tasty. Only problem was the breakfast. Over priced, and nothing like the standard of dinner the previous evening. Deep fried mushrooms? Come on... AVOID THIS. You can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyynwa1
Steve M, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this review

Dear andyynwa1 Many thanks for taking the time to post your review - and for your kind comments. Rest assured we will take on board your comments about breakfast and endeavour to make any necessary improvements

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Ilsley
9.3 km away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,001 reviews
13.5 km away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 15 in Newbury
554 reviews
10.2 km away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
578 reviews
13.7 km away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
0.3 km away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 2 in East Ilsley
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Crown & Horns Inn

Address: Compton Road, East Ilsley RG20 7LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > East Ilsley
Price Range: $113 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown & Horns Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crown & Horns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crown & Horns Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all very good”
 of 5 bubbles uma82, 21 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Avoid room 8 based on previous review and now also room 9 based on this review.”
 of 5 bubbles 2Nelsons, 18 May 2015 | Read review
“We had rooms 4 & 5”
 of 5 bubbles 274julietb, 10 May 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms preferable to downstairs. Room 6 moderate size. Had a look inside room 7 which had more space.”
 of 5 bubbles IrisS254, 9 May 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a larger room if they are available”
 of 5 bubbles kentpack, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay