We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn - Merrillville

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 181: English reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Front desk staff very friendly good value for the money clean rooms nicely updated inside nice hot shower no problems with this hotel would recommend many food choices nearby and also right next to the mall.............................

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lame1
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. The our Front Desk staff will be so happy that you found them to be friendly. We work hard to provide you our guest with a wonderful experience. Again, thank you for your review and please consider us your hotel of choice should your travel plans bring you back...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Basic conveniences for a reasonable price. There was a cold spell, but the heating was quite adequate. Service/maintenance a bit spotty: no attempt to plow parking lot and very little snow removal from door entrances. After the first night I returned to my room at 1pm. As it has not yet been done and I wanted to take nap, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George4144
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to hearing our guest about there stay. Your review helps us to understand the things that we are doing right and areas of opportunity that we need to focus on in order to enhance our guest stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a...

Morris, Illinois
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I am working about 10 miles from Merrillville and five minutes from Schereville. The hotels there are almost twice what I paid for Red Roof Inn. I expected a far insuperior room but instead I got a much smaller room but very nicely decorated and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly while checking in and out. I will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy12642001
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As the manager of this property, I read every review, survey, comment card that a guest presents us with and try to respond accordingly. We also use all surveys, reviews, and comment cards as training tools to help the entire staff work toward providing our guest with a memorable and...

Warsaw, Indiana
Reviewed 18 November 2013

For a motel this is about the best you will find. Location is great and the staff is extremely helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are a little small but the are clean and comfortable. Would stay here again without hesitation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddbii
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. The staff will be so happy that you found them to be helpful. We work hard to provide you our valued guest with a wonderful experience. Again, thank you for your review and please consider us your hotel of choice should your travel plans bring you back Merrillville area....

Monterey, Tennessee
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Well Id ont know bout anyone else but I really enjoyed my stay here. had the Superior King room and it was great. Well the pillows need some work. They are hard as a rock so bring your own. Stayed for the ND game last week and will do it again. Clean, handy to Interstate,close to every thing. Food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gary m
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. It always make me happy to hear positive feedback from our guest. The staff works extremely hard to provide you our valued guest with a wonderful experience. Again, thank you for your review and please consider us your hotel of choice should your travel plans bring you back Merrillville...

Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 17 October 2013

as red roofs go, it wasn't bad. I am a traveling salesman and stay with red roof over 100 nights per year. The price/value meets my budget and for the most part the different properties have the locations that fit my needs. This property, is in my opinion, average. room was clean, grounds although where I was located was near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to hearing from our valued guest about there stay. Your review helps us to understand the things that we are doing right and areas of opportunity that we need to focus on in order to enhance our guest stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our drive to Chicago from Purdue. We were in the room less than 12 hours and that was more than enough. Our main complaint was the cleanliness of the room. Dead and alive roly polys were found in the bathroom, throughout the carpet and piled in a corner. Live and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josie501
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I cannot began to imagine your frustration with your stay. A dirty room does not make for a visit and it is totally unacceptable. I am extremely sorry that my staff did not resolve your concerns or that we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback...

Reviewed 11 September 2013

It was a great stay due to the afore mentiond staff help of patsy! I do wish however that would serve breakfast and I did have repeat issues with a front desk worker who was so rude and hateful . But from what I hear no one like her anyways so hopefully by the time you read this she will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Senioradvisor2617
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to see that your return visit was just as good as your first stay. We take pride in providing our guest with cleans rooms at a reasonable rate. Again, thank you for your review and please consider us your hotel of choice should your travel plans bring...

Palmer Lake, Colorado
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Drove up to the building and was ready to cancel my reservation. It looked dirty there were people hanging around garbage in the hallway But when you stepped in to the room it was amazing clean comfortable. If I had not seen the post giving this place good marks on trip advisor I would never have seen the inside

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kit52349
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am extremely sorry that the exterior of our building was not clean when you drove up to the property. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire staff regarding your experience and reiterate to my entire team the importance of curb appeal. We were extremely pleased...

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Pubic hair on sheets and in tub, wet towel hanging in bathroom from previous guest Riff raff hanging around outside all hours of the night. Sketchy.. Website says they had a pool. No pool. Very disappointing after a 11 hr. Drive from NY..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cal72mus
jnoel2, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I cannot begin to imagine your fustration after driving 11 hours and we checked you into a room that was not guest redi. On behalf of my team we are extremely sorry. I have shared your feedback with my entire staff and words alone cannot express my disappointment that we...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites of Merrillville
0.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
0.4 km away
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
#16 of 21 in Merrillville
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#9 of 21 in Merrillville
72 reviews
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
333 reviews
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEWLY RENOVATED RED ROOF INN Merrillville IN. WITH A NEW LOOK. FLAT SCREEN TVS IN ALL ROOMS,IN ROOM microwave and fridge's, HARDWOOD FLOORS, AND IN ROOM COFFEE. Free wi-fi anywhere Pet friendly Fax and copy service Coffee available in lobby 24 hours Snack and soft drinks vending machines Great restaurants with in walking distance ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Merrillville

Address: 8290 Georgia St, Merrillville, IN 46410-6227
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Price Range: $57 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Merrillville 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrillville Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Merrillville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn - Merrillville staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn - Merrillville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very pleasant staff.”
 of 5 bubbles 300darlenew, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request rooms closer to the office...Interstate end is VERY noisy”
 of 5 bubbles atravlerami, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Superior King has the microwaves and fridges”
 of 5 bubbles NatalieS0326, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I liked the first floor the steps to get to the second floor are on the outside of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles P1027WVannaf, 14 May 2016 | Read review
“The deluxe rooms have the fridge and microwave and always ask for a room on the first floor so you don't have to take luggage upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles NancyW722, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5