We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn Portage

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Portage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 336: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived late in town and scouted hotels. Most were less expensive than the Hampton and they looked like it. The Hampton is well maintained outside and in. The front desk staff are super and phoned the room after we arrived to ensure that everything was perfect. A small but nice pool and exercise room. Very comfortable bed. Very clean restroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 608sergios
Columbus, United States
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There were several hotels in the area and the Hampton had perhaps the highest rate. However taking into account the appearance of the building, the large comfortable room, the efficiency and personal attention of the staff, and the wonderful breakfast, overall it was a bargain. We plan to return to the Indian Dunes area in the spring and will be...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertsC5934BT
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My job keeps me in hotels a LOT, and I stay in Hilton properties as much as I can. That includes many many Hampton Inns. One thing I like about the Hamptons is the brand consistency. I always know what to expect when I check in. The Hampton in Portage had all of the features and amenities I have come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric18_13
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay our Hotel again.

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first room wouldn't unlock (very old decrepid locks on doors), so they moved me. Room two had tons of black mold growing in the AC/Heat Unit, carpet not vacumed (even had sunflower seeds on it), salt like substance on the TV table, smudges and smears from a dirty wash rag on the desk. The third room they moved me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aaron m
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stay in Hilton brand hotels lately, so booked them for our recent road-trip. Comparatively, this one was older, and a little less clean. We were okay with that as sometimes housekeeping just can't do magic with outdated things like carpeting, etc. however, the craziest thing about this hotel was the bathtub in our bathroom. As I said, the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Falltravels
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Our apologies for any inconvenience resulting from our tubs. The intent of the design of the tubs was to insure a quicker flow of water to the drain. We have applied a clear non skid surface to the tubs, and we provide a rubber maid bath mat in each guest room. As the Brand evolves...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a wonderful example of Hampton Inn quality. I thoroughly enjoyed everything about my stay, from the telephone booking all the way to checkout. I got caught in Winter Storm Decima with a longtime friend and we had to leave the highway for safety. We are so glad that we found this hotel because it provided great accommodations...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonrisa1908
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thank you for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.

Lake City, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't say enough good things about the staff here! They were very accommodating to us. Especially since we were stranded in portage with vehicle issues and had no transportation for 2 days. The breakfast was outstanding and was different both mornings that we were there with plenty of options. They always had hot coffee on and a smile on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for the very kind comments. Happy Holidays.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were caught in a snowstorm when 70 miles from home and very dangerous driving conditions arose suddenly. We were 3 miles away from this Hampton when our Iphone directed us to this hotel. They had rooms available and were truly lifesavers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cystokid
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.

Palm Desert
Reviewed 10 December 2016

flew into town to attend my fathers funeral so my mind was preoccupied. The check-in (late evening from flight into Midway) was quick & professional, yet welcoming. The room was nice for the price but the bed was really comfy and I liked that you offered quality toiletries in the room by Neutrogena and not cheap product! I especially appreciated...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scheshire6
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.

Knoxville, Maryland
Reviewed 29 November 2016

A few years ago, my husband and I decided that, if at all possible, we would stay at Hampton Inn because of the standard of quality we usually see, especially the comfort of beds because we both have bad backs, and the free breakfast. Hampton Inn Portage met those expectations and the staff exceeded them. This hotel had obviously gone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loislane2121
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

I shared your comments with our entire team. Thank you. Please come and visit again very soon.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
10.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
368 reviews
5.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Address: 6353 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368-1218
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Price Range: $128 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Portage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even street-side was quite, at least in the winter.”
 of 5 bubbles 608sergios, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 2nd floor above the pool and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles loislane2121, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“South side rooms are more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kathy3650, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We almost always ask for upper floor rooms for extra peace and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles dcr1837, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Interstate is close on the lobby side of the hotel, so we booked on the back and it was great.”
 of 5 bubbles Ontario76, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay