We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Der Ruhe Blatz Motel

Expedia.comUS$64*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Start your review of Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
 Click to rate
Wyoming, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from another great stay with Andy and Dixie. Spent 3 nights at the motel and still very pleased with the room. Very clean, well maintained place. Noticed some changes in the office, breakfast area, new coffee maker and juice dispenser. All changes for the betterment of the motel. Thanks again Andy and Dixie for making our visit pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
USA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we checked in we were given a card to someone elses room, thankfully no one was in that room when I opened it! When we got a different key to a different room it didn't work. I had to tell the woman at the counter that maybe if she got off the phone for a minute she could make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_T7
Dowagiac, Michigan
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My cousin in handicapped and uses a wheelchair to go long distances. We were very pleased with a handicapped room that we had. It even included a shower bench. The room was very clean and included everything that we needed. The front desk clerk was very friendly and informative. We will be back in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank purple1124
ruheblatz, General Manager at Der Ruhe Blatz Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We are very glad to hear from you that you had such a pleasant stay with us. Our first priority is to offer best service to our valuable guests as we can. We would like to appreciate for a such kind words for us. We will see you again in...

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

After reading the reviews, we were expecting something nicer. The bathroom was clean and the bed was fine, but the carpet was filthy. We killed between 15 and 20 flies in our room. The other couple we were with turned on their heat which filled the room with smoke and set off the fire alarm. They were told by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retiref
ruheblatz, General Manager at Der Ruhe Blatz Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to appreciate for your comments, we will try to resolve the issue. As we are exterior property and can't control the nature, but we keep fly swapper in each room for customer use. But we will work harder to solve this issue. We hope to see you again in future and have a wonderful time....

Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a short weekend to see our oldest grandson graduate and could not have been happier! Owner/Manager was very accommodating as we had several family members coming in at all times of the night. They helped us set everything up so everyone together and the rooms were ready. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms spacious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PquinsRock
ruheblatz, General Manager at Der Ruhe Blatz Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed at Der Ruhe Blatz Motel while your stay. Our entire team always try to help all of our guests as we could. Thank you for giving opportunity to serve you and we will look forward to see you again in future....

Wyoming, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We have just returned from a one night stay. We were very pleased again with the room. Renovations have been made to freshen up the rooms. Coffee maker has been added to the room. Very homey feeling. Andy and Dixie are great hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
ruheblatz, General Manager at Der Ruhe Blatz Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, Diane for choosing us for your stay every time you get in our town. We plan to upgrade with something new in all of our rooms for our guest comfort every year. I am very glad to hear that you enjoy your stay better this time. We will see you again and again. Thank you so much for...

Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We stay here usually 2 or 3 times each year while traveling to see relatives in the east. The room is always clean and the beds are comfortable. The refrigerator is nice to have, too. We may not get here as often in the future now that the antique mall in Shipshewana is closing as that mall was the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
ruheblatz, General Manager at Der Ruhe Blatz Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, Karen for choosing us for your stay till now. I hope we will see again in future if you come near by our area. we love to see you again and again. I am glad to hear that we provide best service to each our guest. Shipshewana always bring new attraction each year. They will bring MAC center...

Northampton
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Hotel was clean, had a nice free breakfast, near everything. and the price was right. could have paid more money and stayed in a more upscale hotel, but why? there was no problem with this one, it literally was near everything, and the money I saved here, meant more money I could spend in Shipshewana.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
ruheblatz, General Manager at Der Ruhe Blatz Motel, responded to this review

We really appreciate that you chose us for your stay, Elizabeth. we glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. we always try our best to give best service to all of valuable guests. we will see you again in future arrival in town. Thank you so much for spreading out good words about us. - Dixie

Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Very good location for spending a few nights. Quite expensive for a motel that seems a bit rundown. We needed a place that would take pets, whuch they do. Good breakfast, with hot and cold food. The dining room is small, with only 2 tables. So if you want to meet your neighbors, that's the place to eat. Clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogerB1
ruheblatz, General Manager at Der Ruhe Blatz Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Roger for staying with us. we recently upgraded all our rooms, but i would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you had while your stay with us. we will try our best to give you best service next. Hope to see you again in future.

Clinton, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The price was right and it was clean. The breakfast area is very small so we took our food back to our room. Overall not a bad experience and we will surely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robb C
ruheblatz, General Manager at Der Ruhe Blatz Motel, responded to this review

Robb.C. Thank you for a kind and honest review for us. We are trying to expand our lobby but we do not know when that project will be implement. Our guest is our priority for us. Thank you for staying with us. we are glad that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms. We love to see you again and...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.6 km away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.1 km away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
680 reviews
3.2 km away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
31.5 km away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
198 reviews
16.5 km away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built by 16 Amish families it's called the "The Rest Place" and with all there is to see and do in our quaint little town, you'll be ready to kick off your shoes at the end of the day and settle in for a quiet night. Each of the 30 rooms feature all oak furniture built by the local Amish families. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Der Ruhe Blatz Motel

Address: 1195 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8804
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Price Range: $101 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Der Ruhe Blatz Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Der Ruhe Blatz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Der Ruhe Blatz Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Der Ruhe Blatz Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We have stayed in different rooms and fine them all the same, very clean and quiet.”
623dianeb, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“We like one of the end rooms. That is our preference but any room I feel are all very comfy.”
623dianeb, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We reserved the handicap room so if someone has difficulty this room is perfect!!!”
738marlah, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you want to stay in a clean and quite hotel I would recommend this one.”
lisas981, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If you use wifi tell them to put you close to the router.”
RoyH78, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$64* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$64
Booking.comUS$64
PricelineUS$64
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates