We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Suites University Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Suites University Area
View Map

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites University Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 22 April 2016

The room was nice, the location great, and amenities were fine, but the event going on was ridiculous and should have never taken place in a hotel. It was beyond loud with many customers complaining to no avail. The people attending this religious event were inconsiderate, noisy and rude, and they literally took over the hotel. I couldn't wait to...

GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

We appreciate you concerns and we realize that particular week-end was very trying for all with a Dance competition and Religious conference. We made several attempts to get the group to turn the sound down. This is not indicative of the normal groups we host.

Bourbonnais
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Stay here for a waterpolo tournament, way overpriced for what they offer!! Third floor bathroom cieling paint falling off. Breakfast wasn't good at all! Save your money and stay in Mishawaka!! Staff was friendly! Room walls seemed to be really thin, listened to my niebor snore all night.

GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

We appreciate your response. Our rates are established but what is going on in the market and that particular weekend with a Dance competition and Religious meeting. We are in the process of a renovation that will address most of your concerns and hope that at some point in the future you will give us a second chance.

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I had a great stay at your hotel. The staff was excellent and the room was one of the best I've stayed in. I'm a comedian on a long tour and this hotel has been one of the most relaxing places that I have stayed at yet. The location was great in relation to eateries in the local area, the...

GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to relay your recent stay with us to others. We look forward to seeing you again on another trip in the future.

Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 4 March 2016

My family and I have stayed in numerous Comfort Inn and Suites, and this is the worst one. The parking lot was riddled with potholes. The carpet in the room had multiple stains and some kind of sticky substance. The shower had mold, hard water build up on the shower head, which dripped all night. The toilet had stains in...

GM_ComfortSuitesSB, Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Again I want to apologize for the circumstances of your recent visit. I have taken the liberty of crediting your account back and assure you that this situation is not the norm for our hotel.

Fort Wayne
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Outside of hotel looks nice but inside is worn and in need of a refresh. Free wireless WiFi was sporadic to the point of unusable in my room. Window heating cooling unit was 10 degrees off so a 70 degree setting stayed on until the room approached 80. I didn't report the issues since hotel was full and doubted they...

GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We certainly would have liked to have addressed the AC issue while you were here. In the coming months we will be doing some upgrades to the hotel that will definitely address the concerns you mentioned. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you int he future.

Grand Haven, Michigan
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

We had a work conference here. There was about a hundred of us that stayed the night before then had our meeting the next morning in the conference room. The rooms were great and bonnie did a fantastic job taking care of us during the conference. The only thing I would suggest changing is that some of the chairs in...

GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments and we truly appreciate your kind words and suggestions. I will tell you that we just met with contractors this week and on the list is the replacement of all our breakfast and lobby furnishings. Hopefully by the next time you may visit us the work will be completed and you will notice the...

Asheboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Stayed here a couple nights ago while out traveling for work. I was super impressed with this hotel. First of all the front desk staff were very upbeat and cheerful. When I got to my room I found myself thinking the room were actually more on par with higher tiered hotel. Marble countertops, nicer furniture and huge bath tub. I...

GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

We always appreciate receiving and hearing great reviews. We will pass your kind words onto our staff and if you are in the area in the future do not hesitate to give us a call.

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Stayed here for a hockey tournament at Notre Dame. The bathrooms were awful, broken tiles, dirty tub, and for 3 damn days there was no hot water for our showers. Couple that with the fact that the hot tub was cold, the pool was freezing, the pool area was not heated well. It was about 45 degrees in the pool...

GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments concerning your recent stay. I do agree with you as far as the pool area goes, the way this building was constructed with the pool out from the building and surrounded by glass during sub zero weather and especially with wind chills below zero it is next to impossible to keep the air temperature at a...

Lowell, IN
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel is off the beaten path just a little bit near plenty of food places. Very well decorated and clean. The rooms are big and clean, I had a king suite. Fairly nice hotel, I would absolutely stay here again.

GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you again in the future. Hopefully you will get to see our updates we will be starting in late February or early March.

Stone Park, IL
Reviewed 30 December 2015

I am a Choice Hotels member, and chose this place because of proximity to my sister. Most comfort Inn's are pretty nice, but.... Check-in experience was very nice, and quick, and I also was able to use a gift card that I had earned. Initial inspection was good, but after settling in I noticed bathroom not clean (tub/shower), and bath...

GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. In regards to your bathroom issues this is an area that we are beginning to address. Our bathrooms will be getting a more spa like feel with the addition of the European style shower instead of the fiberglass tubs. We just have submitted our room counts to our owners and...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.2 km away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
5.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 29 in South Bend
103 reviews
0.3 km away
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
1.7 km away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University Area

Address: 52939 US 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Price Range: $128 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel South Bend
Comfort Suites South Bend
South Bend Comfort Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

See which rooms travellers prefer

“corner suites are large and sunny”
 of 5 bubbles norlander1, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe smoking on floor 3.”
 of 5 bubbles Toby504, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book early if you're going to attend a football game in SB”
 of 5 bubbles Hokie67, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on floor 3 were nice”
 of 5 bubbles Luluflies, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Football rates start on Fri eve instead of Thurs like some in the area.”
 of 5 bubbles nauticalabc, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay