We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Inn University Plaza

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Inn University Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 14 December 2016

I recently stayed here on 2 different occasions within a two week period. I really enjoy staying at the Clarion Inn Plaza Cedar Falls, The GM and his staff really make their guests feel like family. The rooms are extremely clean and inviting. The lobby for guests to check in has a very warm and inviting atmosphere. The food at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love2travel596
SarahE504, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Neil Soppe...

Liberty, Missouri
Reviewed 26 November 2016

For 20 years this was the best Holiday Inn in Waterloo/Cedar Falls. In recent years there's a great deal more competition, however, the owners of this location have recently remodeled to make this a good value (in addition to the Choice guest program). They've closed the on-site restaurant in favor of sandwiches in the bar (evenings) and a well-stocked breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baldy47
SarahE504, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Neil Soppe...

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

I understand it's a college town and there is wear and tear.. but with such a terrific location,WHY NOT clean,paint,and repair the rooms? Nice bar and common area. Would choose to go somewhere else because of the condition and cleanliness of rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbara p
SarahE504, Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Pacific Junction, Iowa
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

At first the room seemed nice (except the beds looked so small) but then the view from the bathtub was disgusting. There were several short curly hairs around the base of the toilet! Then I noticed the filthy inside of the toilet and the mold around the tub handle. It was hard to recognize the nicer things about the motel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeann H
SarahE504, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Clinton, Iowa
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Cons: This place needs to be updated! Carpets are dirty, water damaged walls and ceilings, interior walls and room doors need painted, etc. Pros: Bar food is amazing! Prices are very reasonable with large portions. Bar was kept open 3 hours later than normal so we could watch the World Series. The lone Bartender was awesome and kept up with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clintoniowa
SarahE504, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for your review. We value your concerns and hope to have the issues addressed in the near future. Sincerely, Sarah

Iowa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Rooms were not updated as stated. Peeling paint, wallpaper, bathroom doors wouldn't close. At the end of breakfast, we were relaxing and chatting with friends, cleaned up our plates, tables were cleared, trying to relax, but we were asked to leave the area so they could stack chairs on top of the tables. Tried to check in, rooms were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LongIslandIowa
Iowa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

waiting a LONG time before someone showed up at the front desk. rooms and hotel need to be upgraded, looks old and worn down a little. however, cleanliness was still acceptable. would stay here again if i needed a cheap place to bunk, otherwise i would stay away until they improve their services & amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia K
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Our class enjoyed the most wonderful weekend here at the Clarion Inn on September 16th and 17th, 2016. We had a meet and greet on Friday night and also a Saturday night buffet at the facility. From the sales manager to the wait staff, to the chef, to the desk personnel, to the maintenance personnel, they all treated us like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shellmcfarlane
Johnston, Iowa
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We had a total of three rooms rented for this weekend. We were in town for a wedding & found out after checking in our 2nd floor room they have no elevator. It took numerous trips to get our stuff in our room. We were getting ready for a wedding & did not want the room cleaned & when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karol K
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of the entire team I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I'm sorry that you felt the staff was rude as that obviously is not the impression we want our guests to have. Unfortunately the property does not have an elevator and we do our...

Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Got here at 5:00. Told we can't check in even though check in was at 3. Told there was nothing they could do about it even though we paid full price for the rooms. The front desk staff was VERY unwelcoming and unfriendly. One of my worse hotel experiences yet. Very s Disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize you had to wait to check in. We housed the away team playing the University of Northern Iowa Football and they did not check out until 2pm. We do our absolute best to get rooms ready as fast as possible but unfortunately we cannot get all 115 rooms...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
1.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
0.1 km away
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
4.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
The Black Hawk Hotel
The Black Hawk Hotel
#7 of 14 in Cedar Falls
182 reviews
3.7 km away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
5.1 km away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#3 of 14 in Cedar Falls
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarion Inn® hotel offers an ideal location during your next trip to Cedar Falls. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, this Iowa hotel's central location and affordable accommodations is sure to make your stay convenient and memorable.The Clarion Inn hotel is a great place to call home during your next trip to the Cedar Falls area. With countless features and outstanding service, your stay with us is sure to be one to remember. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Inn University Plaza

Address: 5826 University Ave, Building #1, Cedar Falls, IA 50613 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza)
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Price Range: $88 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn University Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Inn University Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn University Plaza Hotel Cedar Falls
Holiday Inn Cedar Falls
Cedar Falls Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Inn University Plaza staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Inn University Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room not adjacent to the indoor pool for more quiet and less traffic”
 of 5 bubbles Baldy47, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a 1st floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles karolk228, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room as far away from the pool area as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 457tedb, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a newly renovated room and away from the main road, lots of road construction right out front.”
  • Toilet paper holder falling out of the wall
  • Was well equipped
  • Bathroom door would not close
  • Missing tile
  • Towel Rod
  • Shower Head
 of 5 bubbles sbenson11, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like the smell of chlorine ask for a room away from the pool. It is much quieter also.”
 of 5 bubbles CloudPurpose, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay