We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Continental

avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Centerville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy historic charm and small-town warmth at our modern boutique hotel. With a classic restaurant and bar on site, free WiFi for hotel guests, and a location at the heart of the historic Centerville, Iowa town square, The Continental Hotel is a hidden gem in southern Iowa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
29Reviews1Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 10
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Adventurer313589 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
+1
This hotel was perfect for a family meeting place. The room(s) were large-like an apartment and VERY CLEAN. The AC worked perfectly-it was hot in Centerville. The staff was super-made my bed, picked up used towels, cleaned the dishes in the kitchen…and very pleasant dining waitstaff. The lounge/dining had good selections at great prices. The hotel itself was quiet-however, I was facing the square and there was lots of traffic and noise until midnight-hot rods, kids with very loud music and motorcycles were quite loud.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Armagh76 wrote a review May 2023
Liberty, Missouri20 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Charming hotel with rich history in small-town Iowa. We visited the Pella Tulip Festival and as of February, all hotels in Pella were booked. We chose this hotel, which is about an hour south of Pella as this is where my husband's grandparents stayed the night they were married on New Years Eve 1947. The hotel was gorgeous and the architecture was lovely. All of the staff was friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed peeking around and checking out the barber shop, the old phone booth and switch board, and the sweet garden. We ordered a Reeses Cheesecake one evening and ate it in our room. Delightful! My only complaints regarding the hotel- which are not the hotels fault- were that every evening around 6 or 7pm the town kids began making loops around the square which lasted until the police broke it up around 10 or so. This included loud music, yelling, and extra loud exhausts. One night we were woken up by this at 2:30am. Not my idea of a quiet, relaxing weekend. Another complaint is that there was nothing to do. All stores were closed by 4pm on both evenings, and when we went to get ice cream at Ray's at around 7:30, it was closed. (Website stated they were open till 8). Bummer. Hopefully the Chamber of Commerce continues to work to improve the downtown area. Other than that, we loved the hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Loud in the evenings. Spacious, comfortable rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Fraser, General Manager at The Continental
Responded Aug 25, 2023
Thank you so much for your review! We were especially loved the story of how your husband's grandparents stayed here in 1947! What a lovely connection. Since your review, the City of Centerville has stepped up patrolling on the square (sorry, we wear a lot of hats and don't always respond quickly to our reviews), and we have noticed a marked improvement in the noise issue you described. We're sorry it happened, but please know your feedback was helpful. We hope you had a great time at Tulip Festival and hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stacy R wrote a review Jan 2023
Dahlgren, Illinois214 contributions99 helpful votes
Very beautiful historic hotel. Our rooms were nicely updated. Beds were comfortable and had plenty of pillows. We enjoyed our stay. Employees were very helpful during check in/out. We didnt eat at the restaurant downstairs. Would definitely reommend
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Fraser, General Manager at The Continental
Responded Aug 25, 2023
Thank you for your review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hoosier G wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
A 2 night getaway for my birthday. I was able to upgrade our room reserved thru Travelocity by calling the hotel. The new room was an executive king - very nice and we were very pleasantly surprised. It was supposedly the front desks 'favorite' room. I highly doubt that as I think it was one of the smaller king rooms (212) as we passed a few others being cleaned that were larger and nicer- still very happy with it nonetheless. There was a slight sewage odor coming from somewhere, however, which took some enjoyment away. We went to settle in for the evening and the air conditioner breaker blew so we had to switch rooms. We were placed in what seemed to be the worst room of the hotel. It was a single queen suite (201). We did get a discount for the downgrade and trouble BUT it was NOT enough. This room had an even worse sewage smell from the bathroom (which was not as nice as the kings bathroom). I think the hotel is aware of a 'smell' as both rooms had plug in air fresheners that were not doing a good job of masking the odor! The carpet was stained and the view out of every window was of scaffolding or roofs or boarded up windows - not attractive at all. The smell was so bad that we spent all evening in the bedroom with the bathroom door shut. There were bugs in the bathroom. The tv in bedroom was tiny. The bed and pillows were hard. The walls were so thin that we could hear the room next doors occupants talking and snoring. Oh, and the robes that the website says you get...there were none in either room! The next morning I told the front desk that we could not stay another night in that room and instead of trying to make it right by moving us, our money was refunded for the second night. BTW, the continental breakfast is a joke. It is a tiny stand with granola bars, milk, juice, packages of donuts and other ridiculous items. The restaurant is ok. The waitress was not informative or helpful and was annoying. We ordered an appetizer and within 5 minutes of getting it, our meal arrived. Who does that? We should have time to finish the appetizer! The fries were soggy and seasoning was non existent. We wanted/hoped to take our sons here on a vacation but we really do not want to give our business back to this hotel!! Oh and the downtown square that Centerville says is amazing...NOT! Half the stores are closed and the remaining ones are mystic or gypsy or hand me down stores - don't waste your time!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Fraser, General Manager at The Continental
Responded Aug 30, 2022
We are very sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations. We were also frustrated that the AC in the room wasn't working and tried our best to make things right by relocating you to the largest available room we had and providing a discount. We're sorry the experience negatively impacted your birthday and your impression of our town.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ajayhawkfan wrote a review May 2022
Kansas City, Missouri783 contributions273 helpful votes
I liked almost everything there is about the Continental Hotel. The entire staff was very friendly. We were checked us in quickly and professionally. Our room was spotless and much larger than we expected. The bathroom was also spotless. My wife loved the plush robe. Having a sitting room separate from the bedroom is a very nice feature. I answered "mid range" to the question, "How expensive is this hotel?" If there as a selection between "mid range" and "Luxury" that would have been my choice.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Fraser, General Manager at The Continental
Responded May 4, 2022
Thank you for review! And, as someone married to a KU grad, I really like your username. :) Thanks for your clarification on the mid-range/Luxury. I think your description is exactly what we aim for, so am glad you think we're hitting the mark!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mnbob2012 wrote a review Apr 2022
Lynn Haven, Florida136 contributions94 helpful votes
Nice rooms, friendly staff and charming small town setting make this a little gem on the Iowa/Missouri border. It is a much better alternative to a chain hotel and your money is going to support small down revitalization. We have stayed here several time and each stay has been enjoyable. The restaurant is a little hit or miss as we have had both good and bad meals here, but there are alternates within a block of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Walt wrote a review Jan 2022
Shenandoah National Park, Virginia1 contribution
Jus wanted to make a note about the fabulous stay I had at the hotel. The rooms were spotless. Very impressed with the staff and food served. I would recommend this hotel to all people visiting Centerville.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Fraser, General Manager at The Continental
Responded Jan 10, 2022
Thank you so much for your visit and review! We hope your travels bring you our way again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robert R wrote a review Nov 2019
Mankato, MN26 contributions3 helpful votes
Friendly greeting when we arrived. Large clean and comfortable room. Stayed in Suite 202--the pipes are a problem. Nice to have the full services of the bar and restaurant -- again good food and great service. I will definitely return....when the weather is warmer.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms are spacious with large fridge and microwave
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AlisonF1792, Manager at The Continental
Responded Dec 5, 2019
Thank you, Robert! We appreciate your kind and understanding review. We also look forward to warmer days.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Taylor wrote a review Aug 2019
4 contributions
This hotel is picture perfect! Clean, VERY spacious rooms, kind bar & restaurant staff and comfortable bed! We loved our Executive King Suite and wished we could have stayed longer! We would be delighted to stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AlisonF1792, Manager at The Continental
Responded Aug 26, 2019
We would be delighted to have you again! Thank you very much for spreading the word about us. We really appreciate it!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Margo wrote a review Jul 2019
Venice, Florida6 contributions7 helpful votes
The Continental is a charming historic hotel, beautifully appointed, with a great story, located right on the square in Centerville. We stayed in the spacious, lovely decorated Room 204 with a full living room, kitchen and small eating area. The bedroom has a king-sized bed -- mattress and pillows exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom is large and new. Lucille's Steak and Spirits is located within the hotel. We enjoyed both dinner there and breakfast on the patio. Both meals excellent and a wide variety of items from which to select. Don't miss this beautiful hotel and restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AlisonF1792, Manager at The Continental
Responded Sep 5, 2019
Thank you so much for the review and your visit! We hope you come back and see us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Centerville area.
PRICE RANGE
C$168 - C$208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIowaCenterville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Continental - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Continental
Which popular attractions are close to The Continental?
Nearby attractions include Gypsy Quarter (0.2 km), Appanoose County Historical & Coal Mining Museum (0.2 km), and Tangleberries (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Continental?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Continental?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Continental?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Continental?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Continental?
Conveniently located restaurants include George & Nick's Pizza & Steakhouse, Lucile's, and La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant.
Is The Continental located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Centerville.
Does The Continental offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does The Continental have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Continental accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.