We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ramada Tropics Resort \/ Conference Center Des Moines
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,903 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,902: English reviews
burt ia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the rooms were actually very nice the pool area very clean the kids thought the water was very cold the food was average at best and the breakfast buffet is a joke at the price..if i am paying 150 a night to stay the least i expect is a decent breakfast... 8.99 is a ridiulous price for what is available...

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 398shelleyg
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place for family and grandkids. Food was not as good as last year. Kids broke out with rash due to high levels of chemicals. This caused the kids to not want to swim the last day and a half.

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheilaf703
Webster City, Iowa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erinh387
Albia, Iowa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelletS9471OP
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 246family
Hallie D, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this review

OMAHA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The pool is the reason we chose this hotel we have a 4 year old and 1 year old. Our room key didn't work which was a pain since we were on the other side of the hotel and with all the stuff and both kids it got annoying pretty fast. Overall the pool and arcade were fun, the restaurant...

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DWIEGS
Hallie D, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. I apologize about the key issue and hope that we were able to get them corrected for you. Glad that the amenities were fun for your family and we hope to see you again in the future.

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennac284
Hallie D, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this review

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 1 night with our small children (ages 1-8). The room was very clean and was big enough to fit our large family. We had a minor issue after we checked in and I was able to talk to the front desk person and she was very helpful and met our needs immediately. The pool area was great -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
Aplington, Iowa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 389pattp
Independence
Reviewed 16 January 2017

My family spent Friday night at Ramada Tropics. Check in was a little hairy, as the check in staff were busy and not overly friendly. They couldn't seem to find our reservation, took about five minutes for the manager to find it. Our room was poolside, which I would highly recommend. Rooms are average, furniture could use updating. Seemed clean....

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 115kristen

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
17.0 km away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#4 of 8 in Altoona
254 reviews
9.3 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
9.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
14.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
9.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines

Address: 5000 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322 (Formerly Holiday Inn Merle Hay)
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $157 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tropics Hotel Des Moines
Ramada Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Ramada
Ramada Des Moines
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines Iowa
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Non poolside rooms are very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles BennyIC, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Suites offer several benefits; one being two separate rooms for more privacy and another being comfortable eating space.”
 of 5 bubbles gaia43, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If traveling with a pet, request a room more around the back for ease of taking your pet out with plenty of room to walk around.”
 of 5 bubbles AllisonB527, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bring your swimming suite and workout gear.”
 of 5 bubbles JMishler, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Poolside rooms are not as loud as you would think. Rooms not connected to pool are very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles BennyIC, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5