We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University

Save
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (4)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good49%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“hi express”(5 reviews)
“college tour”(2 reviews)
“room was clean”(13 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
Special Offer: Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals
Offers from Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
Special Offer: Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
30
68
26
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
30
68
26
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expresscollege tourroom was cleanfree breakfastwould stay here againnice breakfastlobby areastate fairoatmealcampushiemarsdowntowningersollcomputersratesrefrigerator
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Located within walking distance of Drake University, eateries, diners, and taverns. Quiet area, small 2 story hotel with elevator. Fills up fast but nice for the business traveller. Just wish had microwave & fridge in my room.More

Thank Melody G
Response from ExpressDrake, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake UniversityResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate the positve feedback as well as suggestions to improve our hotel. I am pleased to report that we are planning to replace all of the furniture in the rooms within the next year...More

Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel was adequate for the time we spent while dropping our daughter off to Drake University...The breakfast was good. The rate was good... This hotel is within 2 blocks from Drake University. This is why we chose this property and it was perfect. It...More

Thank Michael W
Response from ExpressDrake, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake UniversityResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apprecaited the feedback and positive review you gave us.

Reviewed 21 August 2014

This has got to be the worst Holiday Inn I've ever stayed in. Not only is this hotel located in an unsafe neighborhood, but it is very run down and not well-maintained. This is not an area you want to walk alone in at night....More

Thank LeftField87
Response from IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake UniversityResponded 8 September 2014

Dear LeftField87, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent...More

Reviewed 21 August 2014

My company has instituted budget cuts, so I was happy to see an HIE for $109 night in downtown Des Moines (the Residence Inn was $209). When I pulled it, I knew right away this was not going to be one of the nicer HIEs....More

Thank cs3r
Response from ExpressDrake, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake UniversityResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize your room condition was not up to Holiday Inn Express standards. We have actually replaced all of the ceiling tiles in the bathrooms this week and will address any other deficiencies at our...More

Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My colleague and I shared a room while in town for a conference. Back when I made the reservation, I called the front desk to confirm 2 Queen beds and the girl on the phone said to me in a very annoyed voice that "was...More

Thank Amanda A
Response from IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake UniversityResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Amanda A, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service and cleanliness prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see you enjoyed the breakfast during your stay. We...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Business Centre with Internet Access
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast Available
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Microwave
Things to do
Tennis Court
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
anneweir
16 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Claudiolax | Reviewed this property |
Of course
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"No opinion"
Read review
"All rooms are good. Hotel is on a quiet, tree-lined street in an urban neighborhood."
Read review
"Room 219 is next to the workout room."
Read review
"A good location: close to downtown and restaurants. Terrible service lately."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing