We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 259: English reviews
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We stayed at The Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown for three days while attending the Des Moines Metro Opera summer festival in July in Indianola. Our stay was entirely pleasant. The complimentary buffet breakfast was somewhat unusual in that the wait staff attended the tables with frequent water and coffee refills and other friendly attention. Parking is mostly close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Louise H., Thank you for your kind and thorough review. We are always working to improve and depend on reviews from guests to help us do so, either by letting us know what we've done right or pointing out something that needs more attention. I hope we have the pleasure of having you as our guest in the future.

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 15 September 2015

I like this hotel because it's easy access to the interstate to get anywhere in the Des Moines Area quickly. It's also close to downtown Des Moines, but still far enough away that I wouldn't want to walk. The breakfast buffet in the morning was nice and the staff that checked us in were nice as well. It's walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knorda
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear knorda, Thank you for your thorough review. I am glad our hotel was convenient for you and that our staff made you feel welcome. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Des Moines. I appreciate all of your input and have shared your thoughts with management for review. Please keep us in mind for...

Fort Dodge, Iowa
Reviewed 4 September 2015

My friends and I came to stay for a concert. We weren't in the hotel much, but I do know that the room was clean and the view was great. There was a girl maybe in her 20's with short blonde hair working the desk and she was very funny and extremely nice. After a long drive we were grouchy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Puma1231
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Puma1231, I don't think we could have asked for a better review, and I really appreciate you taking the time to offer it. It is so nice for us to know when a guest was satisfied and that our staff made our guest feel as welcomed and appreciated as they are. I truly hope we have the opportunity to...

Harrison Twp
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel overlooks downtown and is located close to a number of hospitals. There are no restaurants within walking distance so the full service restaurant and bar make it nice. The rooms were in good shape and I had a pleasant stay. I would stay there again when in Des Moines!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear John W, I am so glad to hear that you found the restaurant and bar to be a benefit to your stay. I am even more pleased to know that you would choose to stay with us again if you return to Des Moines. I hope we do have the opportunity to accommodate in the future. Thank you so...

Reviewed 30 August 2015

Our room was on the 10th floor right across from the elevator. Even though the elevator was quiet, that was the only positive for this hotel. We were on the interstate side of the hotel and it sounded like the window was open all night - very noisy. The smoke detector in our room went off every time we took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Melissa H, Thank you for your business and your review. I am sorry to hear about issues you experienced while you were at our hotel. That is not a typical experience at our hotel and certainly not the type of experience each and every one of our guests deserve. I thank you very much for bringing these issues to...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 17 August 2015

This is an average Holiday Inn. The room was small and hotel basic. Bed was comfy but walls are paper thin. We booked this hotel to attend the Iowa State Fair. The shuttle bus leaves from 2 blocks away. We were able to leave our car at hotel and not deal with traffic so it was worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hdtoth
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Hdtoth, Thank you for your review. I am glad our location and shuttle service added convenience to your stay. If you happen to return to Des Moines, we would love the opportunity to offer you a five star stay and experience. Thank you for your business and your review.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Mr. Holiday Happy & I stayed there while attending a family reunion in the area. The room was clean & comfortable, the television had a great selection of channels, and the staff (for the most part) was very friendly. The shuttle bus driver simply could not have been more accommodating, and did the hotel proud. We loved the price, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHappy29
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear HolidayHappy29, Thank you for such a kind, informative review. We at the hotel appreciate all input from our guests to improve for the future, and I know future and potential guests appreciate your input as well. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your travel needs. I hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 3 August 2015

The staff was very friendly. Very clean room. Nice location and easy access. Didn't try the restaurant. Would stay here again. Good tv cable. I stayed on the 5th floor and had a good view of the downtown area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjebuffetfan
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear sjebuffetfan, The best part of your review for all the team members at our hotel is to hear that you would stay with us again. And I hope we have the opportunity and privilege of accommodating you in the future. I am also very pleased that you found the team to be friendly and the hotel to be clean,...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I have stayed at this location many times over the years and although it is a old facility it is always clean, comfortable and consistent. They have gone through renovations in recent years to improve the inside décor and it works. The bar has limited hours through the afternoons which is the only downside but other than that it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 07BigBlue
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 07BigBlue, First of all, thank you for your continued patronage throughout the years. It is wonderful to hear that you find our property to be clean and comfortable as we take great pride in that. I have shared your thoughts regarding lounge hours with management for consideration. Thank you for the review. We look forward to your next visit.

Dublin, Ohio
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The shuttle driver picked me up from the airport, then went inside after to help me get a upgrade! I think her name was Tiffany and I really appreciate her going out of her way to do that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elyse M
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kari M, I am so pleased that you found your stay with us to be a five star stay. It is so nice to hear that you were pleased with our shuttle service and that Tiffany offered five star service as well. Please think of us again if you return to Des Moines. Thank you for your review.

270 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (229)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (21)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (109)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.4 km away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
1.1 km away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
415 reviews
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown, Des Moines, Iowa. Our convenient downtown location provides the ideal setting for both business and leisure travel. With convenient access to Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Veterans Auditorium, Des Moines Civic Center, Iowa State Fairgrounds, and Mercy Hospital, you can not go wrong when you stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown. Located in the heart of Des Moines, we are minutes away from an assortment of entertainment options. Indulge and have a ball at Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo or the Science Center. Also, exceptional dining and nightlife are just blocks away at the Court Avenue Entertainment District and the trendy Historic East Village. Downtown Des Moines is alive with special events every weekend, and our area shuttle makes navigating downtown a breeze! Relax, it's Holiday Inn. We offer free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, an indoor pool, and a complimentary downtown/airport shuttle. If you love classic American cuisine set in a casual but elegant dining atmosphere, then Genevieve's Restaurant and Cityscape Lounge are the place to go. Whether your visit brings you to Des Moines for business or pleasure, allow the Holiday Inn Downtown to be your hotel of choice! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Address: 1050 6th Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $170 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ASk for the King Deluxe”
CherylK970, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can request a room that faces downtown.”
buddhakitty, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you like a skyline view, ask for a room on the south side, and a higher floor.”
811scottg, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room not on the interstate side.”
Julie2257, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
sasheriff, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5