We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Dubuque

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dubuque
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dubuque
See the most recent reviews
Showing 292: English reviews
Hull
Reviewed 2 September 2016

1 night stay on way from Chicago to Mt Rushmore. Stayed as within 5 mins walk to Fenlon elevator. Friendly staff, nice room, very clean. Close to Mississippi River. Plenty of restaurants nearby and one in hotel (not used). Safe area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shortlegs
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Shortlegs, thank you for the 5 star rating and for your kind comments of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the local attractions close to the hotel and hope you had a fun, safe trip. We appreciate the 5 star rating and look forward to seeing you again. Hotel Management...

Sterling, Illinois
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I am a platinum member of IHG and I am in a lot of different Holiday Inns, This was one of the best. It was more elegant than most. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had a wonderful stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Dan R., thank you ~ for both being an IHG Rewards Club Member and for sharing feedback of your recent stay. We thank you for your loyalty and your input. We are glad to exceed all of your expectations! We appreciate the 5 star rating and your kind comments. We hope you stay with us again soon. Hotel Management Holiday...

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 August 2016

So this is our second time at this hotel, we go once a year for an event. Last year I had better feelings then this year. The hotel is an older hotel that has been maintained. it's popularity and price are caused by the the lack of choices in that spot. Hotel staff was brief and cold. Food service staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmeakim
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

JMeakim, thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We appreciate feedback, as it lets us know what we are doing well and what could be improved upon. We are pleased our food service staff made you feel welcome. We regret the issue with the bedding for the pull out...

Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Checked in on 8/24/2016. The bathroom had not been cleaned; hair all over the floor and in the bath tub. Room smelled of stale cig smoke. The beds were ok and clean. All the elevators were filthy and beat up. I can't believe the management allows the facility to look as bad as it does and charge the rates they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tarnett1099
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Tarnett1099, thank you for sharing feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We appreciate feedback, as it lets us know what we are doing well and what needs to be improved upon . We are glad your bed was clean and comfortable. We regret the issues you had with your room cleanliness and the overall hotel appearance....

River Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We were visiting Galena IL for four days and did not want to be overwhelmed with tourists so decided to stay in Dubuque. It was approximately a 25 minute drive which was nice. On the Internet, the hotel looked nice with a smal pool, hot tub, restaurant, and parking. The check in went smoothly however the hotel needs some work....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Stephanie H, thank you for sharing feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We appreciate feedback, as it lets us know what we are doing well and what could be improved upon. We are glad your check in went well. We regret your issues with your room and the restaurant. We sincerely apologize; that is not our...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stayed for a weekend getaway to explore Galena and Dubuque area with our dog. The property has a weird vibe to it, to go along with some of the looks. The common areas near the elevators are very beat up and just looks run down. Once we got to the fifth floor we noticed every door was beat up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan Q
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Ryan Q, thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad you liked your newly renovated room. We still have remodeling to do, including all of the guest room doors, the hallways, and the elevator areas. We will share your comments with our maintenance department. We regret any...

Palatine IL
Reviewed 18 August 2016

room had an unpleasant (musty) odor coming from bathroom, tub did not drain properly, bathroom vent above toilet hadn't been cleaned in YEARS,elevators were HOT, smelly and dirty, hallways did not seem to be cooled either. will think twice before I book a stay at a Holiday Inn again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DMaheu
Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Dubuque for two nights while we were on a road trip. The hotel is ideally located and within walking distance of the Missippi River Walk and downtown Dubuque while only being a short distance from Galena. Check in was fine, staff are friendly and welcoming and the car park is great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Kevin, thank you for sharing feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are very glad you had a good stay. We appreciate the 4 star rating and look forward to your next visit. Hotel Management Holiday Inn Dubuque

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here twice so far. Nice clean hotel friendly staff. Our last room wasn't so great, we asked to switch and had no problems. Within walking distance of of casino and many hotels. Had a great time at the greyhound racing near the mystique casino.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pbtaab
Grand Rapids
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This hotel was a great location and within walking distance of lots of restaurants and attractions. Downfall was the cleanliness, hair in the tub and filthy air conditioning filters. Fitness room is nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frazzledmom1971
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Chad, thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of downtown Dubuque. We regret the issues you faced with our cleanliness. We apologize; that is not our standard. We will share your comments with our Executive Housekeeper in an...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
1,910 reviews
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
576 reviews
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
5.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Address: 450 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Price Range: $123 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Dubuque staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Dubuque staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Weekend Fall Ride”
 of 5 bubbles sjbryant83, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the river, and a high floor.”
 of 5 bubbles shortlegs, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get room away from Main Street”
 of 5 bubbles jmeakim, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If possible, stay anywhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles tarnett1099, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't be surprised if the rooms shakes periodically. Our room did on the fifth floor from time to time.”
 of 5 bubbles 740ryanq, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay