We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 214: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y3890UEbrendap
Sturtevant, United States
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Business brought me to the Grinnell area and I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. They had good coffee in the lobby area that was still hot later in the evening. The breakfast was decent and the room was clean. I am not sure why but the WiFi wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 546deanb
St. Paul, MN, United States
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Spent one night here as part of a visit to Grinnell College. Checked into a nice room with seven (count 'em) USB ports and fairly comfortable furniture. Encountered a loud low hum from somewhere every two minutes or so. There's no way I can sleep with this noise. Went to the front desk and learned that there was no maintenance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank farandnearandhere
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this review

I am sorry for your inconvenience, but all of our rooms have usb ports, and the lights can be run by the switches on them, they are not just connected to the switch at the door. Yes some of our rooms do have older furniture as we are in the process of upgrading, but they all have furniture with the...

Columbia, SC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had a one-night stay here last week and while the hotel was clean and comfortable and the front desk professional and competent (although not particularly friendly), the creaking floors above us were awful. We were on the first floor, so the third floor might be better, but it was incredibly loud and made sleep difficult. When I return, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmwsc
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this review

We are sorry for the creaky floor, but did enjoy your company and time with us. We truly hope to see you again.

Pontiac
Reviewed 10 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this review

Kansas City, United States
Reviewed 5 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this review

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This is a solid choice if you need to spend the night in Grinnell. You get just what you would expect out of a Country Inn & Suites. It's a relatively clean and relatively comfortable mid-tier hotel, which is why I give it a solid rating of 3. It is not a luxury hotel, so for me it can't get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CincyWahoo
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. we appreciate the time you took to give us feedback. Hope to see you again in the future.

Grain Valley, Missouri
Reviewed 30 September 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glass16lover
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this review

Okemos, Michigan
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here after we cancelled our hotel in Cedar Rapids due to flooding in the area on our way to Minneapolis. This hotel is immaculate. The bathroom is much larger than most hotels which is nice. The staff here is welcoming and easy to work with. The beds very comfortable. Everything was in good shape. There's a fridge and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stategt
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this review

Thank You very much for taking the time to respond on trip Advisor. It was certainly our pleasure to have you. We hope you can come see us again and have many safe travels.

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grinnell
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Grinnell
99 reviews
23.1 km away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa
22.9 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
36.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell

Address: 1710 West St S, Grinnell, IA 50112-8158
Region: United States > Iowa > Grinnell
Price Range: $135 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Grinnell
Grinnell Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor might be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles lmwsc, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Further from breakfast it's quieter”
 of 5 bubbles wombat1223, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you have any more luggage than a small, easily carried hand bag, get a room on the FIRST floor FAAAAAARRRRR away from the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles HappyW899, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Request first floor to avoid stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles BruceA291, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
“235 is on the back side of hotel with nothing but a lovely peace field to look at (1st fl if stairs are a problem).”
 of 5 bubbles Holley-7, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay