We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Earl's Regency

Agoda.comUS$59
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$186*
US$59*
Great Deal
US$66*
US$73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Earl's Regency
Panoramas (31)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,910 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Earl's Regency
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,689: English reviews
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Best part we liked is the room balcony overlooking the pool and the beautiful mountains on the 5th floor. spacious rooms with bathtubs and amenities. courteous staffs who provided good service, wide variety of food spread for breakfast. Overall great experience. Thanks to Earls team. Regards, Amrita G Punjabi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmritaGPunjabi
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for placing your lovely review and we really appreciate your keenness in placing an inspiring review on TripAdvisor. Glad that you have had a wonderful stay with us. Please pay another visit to us to spend your vacation and we are eager to welcome you and your loved ones soon. Yours Sincerely,...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

We are a couple in our 60s. The welcome to the hotel was fine. The room 209 was a long way from the restaurant areas. The room was satisfactory however the gown provided was not clean, the Internet only worked spasmodically and the TV channels were often not working over our three day stay. The pool area smelt very badly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelle1954
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination. We regret to inform you that the internet connections were affected due to the unexpected severe rains and we apologize on the concern. Please accept our apologizes on the incident in the bar and we have already taken measures to mitigate such matters and...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We arrived at the hotel for the start of our two week vacation. 4 nights at the hotel and we travelled with another couple. The rooms we had we great. Spacious, clean with aircon that we had to turn up as it got too chilly (fantastic). A fridge and mini bar.. good 6ft bed, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for placing your lovely review and we really appreciate your keenness in placing an inspiring review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have had an exceptional culinary experience. We have taken the suggestive comment on the Indian restaurant and we surely will work on improving the addressed. Please pay another visit...

Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

The staff is not very welcoming and they do not make you feel special. The service is below average and we had to reiterate our request several times to get it done. The hotel is not even close to a 5 star and should be rated as 4 star only. I requested a cake for my wife to be set...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elie A
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination. We regret to see that the stay was not exceptional and we apologize on the shortfalls from our end. Thank you very much for paving us way for further improvement. Please accept our apologies on the concern with regard to the birthday cake; however...

Kozhikode, India
Reviewed 7 May 2016

We arrived here on a hot afternoon after completing our journey to Dambulla. We were welcomed to some cold towels and refreshing fresh fruit juice. Unfortunately we were taken to a not so good room which was right next to the swimming pool. We talked to Mr Meyer at the reception about our problem and mentioned that we had booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dedacain
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is our pleasure to see that you have lived your dream of a room with lovely views at Earl's Regency and thank you for the applause on our helpful staff and their service. We really appreciate your keenness in placing a review on TripAdvisor. We regret that the first room on offer was not satisfactory and...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Got to hotel at sundown after visiting the Temple of the sacred tooth. Reputedly Buddha's tooth smuggled into Sri Lanka in the 4th Century by an Orissan princess hidden in her hair. Today, Sri Lanka's national treasure. Very comfortable rooms, night arrival gave little time to explore. Dinner was substantial and accompanied by a lady at the piano, playing "our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JeanWN
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination. We really appreciate your keenness in placing a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see that you have had a nice time in the pool; however we truly regret that you had faced some inconveniences too during the stay. Thank you very much...

Reviewed 5 May 2016

We are mostly welcome your great effort that you have done for our most memorable & important day in our life on the 29th April 2016. Our special thanks goes to Mr. Sudesh Manage, Mr. Kasun & Mr. Rathnayake for their continues guidance. Your team exceeded our expectations and reviews from our guests were amazing...! We are surprised with the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ajith C
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Earl’s Regency as your holiday destination. We are very much delighted to see the generous recommendation for its hospitality. Thank you very much for applauding the cuisine and we surely will share your applause with our staff members. Please do pay another visit to us for some more exciting memories to...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Very helpful, polite and friendly staff. The hotel grounds are beautiful, and well maintained. Located within easy reach of Kandy town, and the railway and bus stations. Kandy sights within easy reach. The room was clean-and well maintained. Comfortable bed with good A/C. Clean toilet/bathroom. The food was excellent. Hats off for the kitchen staff. Pool available. The car park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 321dayananda
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for the applause on the lovely views, the cuisine and the friendly service. We really appreciate your keenness in placing an insightful review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled by your lovely comments on the overall stay and we are waiting to welcome you again. Yours Sincerely, Upul Gedarakumbura, General Manager, Earl's Regency,...

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

The room they gave us was smelly and you can see dump around the wall. My wife and kids couldn't breath. We complained nearly 4 times before they have moved us to another room on the ground floor around midnight and then to another room the following morning . It was not very nice experience to go through.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AZIZ_AA22
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination. We are pleased to inform that we maintain daily cleaning practices in the hotel and we regret that you had not made the complaint during the stay. However we regret on the incident very much. We warmly invite you to pay another visit to...

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 May 2016

I wish my stay were longer, only two nights. The hotel is a bit off the more taken path but the winding trip up to the hotel is worth the extra effort. For at top of hill you will be welcomed by a thouroghly refreshing hotel experience. My soul was refreshed by the views and serene atmosphere. I highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CXSng
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Earl’s Regency as your holiday destination. We are truly grateful for the time you have taken to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We are happy that we were able to deliver on our service promised and do hope that he will visit us again in the near...

1,702 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1324)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (265)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (180)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
View from Room (110)
Viewed
Dining (86)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Other (520)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Deluxe (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (23)
Viewed
Luxury (18)
Viewed
Luxury Family (24)
Viewed
Luxury Suite (39)
Viewed
Mountbatten Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tennekumbura
6.5 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
710 reviews
5.7 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.0 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
601 reviews
6.4 km away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 54 in Kandy
951 reviews
5.2 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 54 in Kandy
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Earl's Regency the crown jewel of the Kandyan Kingdom. The grandeur of an ancient Citadel adorned with contemporary 5-star luxury. A landmark of impeccable taste and unique style where one can unwind and relax while experiencing all this world has to offer. Fully air-conditioned and elegantly designed rooms with a view of the mountains and the Mahaweli river, sumptuous dining and exclusive reviving Balinese treatments at our spa. The hotel exudes opulence and grandeur. Every corner offers fresh delights for weary eyes, from the palatial lobby with its waterfall, to private corners set aside as mini lounge areas to gaze at the wonder just beyond. Stay at Earl's Regency, one of the finest Kandy hotels and your memories will include the warm hospitality of truly Sri Lanka. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Earl's Regency

Address: 84 Tenna Kumbura, Tennekumbura 20166, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Tennekumbura
Price Range: $114 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Earl's Regency 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Earl's Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl`s Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Earls
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Earl's Regency staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Beijing, China
over a year ago
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Muscat, Oman

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Earl's Regency staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pool view rooms offer a great view.”
nakulduttsharma, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“lower floor rooms help to reach the pool quickly or to garden side rooms.”
Brynethomas, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“New wing, high floor overlooking pool”
Mick0072013, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Good hotel to stay when visiting Kandy”
PP-Melbourne, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors (3 and up) offer the best views”
montillier, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$59* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$66
Expedia.comUS$73
AMOMAUS$186
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates