We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2016

We have stayed here many times when visiting Iowa City. It is not as up to date as other hotels but it is inexpensive and quiet. I could see how getting a room next to the pool could be annoying but we have avoided that with no problem. Staff is great and rooms are always clean when we arrive. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ed G
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Called this hotel from the road on the way to Iowa City about an hour or so out last Monday and made reservation. Arrived around 5 pm or so. We went to the room, needed to get ready for an event after a long trip and no hot water. Called the front desk and was told a pipe had broken... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hawkeyes4
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Iowa City
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for our 27th year anniversary and we had fun. Our room was clean the hotel was quite I would stay there again. I love the breakfast housekeeper and front was nice. It's right by the store I needed to go to. It's right by the highway straight shot to the mall. Love the pool and hot tube... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional... More 

Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We spent 3 nights in this Clarion Hotel. Would not stay there again. Our room faced the indoor pool. The pool was noisy into the late night and then again in the early morning. The bathroom was filthy with human waste streaked on the outside of the toilet bowl and the bathroom sink didn't drain. When the desk was notified... More 

Helpful?
Thank Howard P
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Feces spread down the front of the toilet when we came in to the room. Notified the hotel only to notice it was still there after next days cleaning. Sink clogged. Dirty towels with hairs on them. Balcony facing indoor pool was noisy all night.

Helpful?
1 Thank seatown44
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2016

I was here for a few days and the location was very convenient for my needs. The hotel is nice and quiet. They have a very nice indoor pool that actually has some depth, and a very nice hottub/spa that is tiled. Only drawback is that the room was kind of dingy. The floor had not been vacuumed in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoeater
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jeffery Hickman... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Hotel had good staff but the rooms are old and outdated. There are also bugs in room, whether they are roaches or some other insect along that line. Woke up in morning with them crawling on sheets. Furniture is scratched and old. Lamp shades stained. Not like a convention center hotel, more along an upscale motel 6.

Helpful?
Thank Hywayrider B
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Saint Joseph MO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel is cheap, that's mostly what it has going for it. The rooms have not been updated since the mid 90's and the comfort matches. When in my room I had to clean the air filter to the heater as it was so clogged it blew out dust, the coffee maker in the room has not been cleaned in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthewaaronflynn
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to do the online survey.I want to apologize for not meeting your standards.We will continue to make improvements, hope that you would consider staying in the future. Thanks for your patronage! More 

Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2016

This facility is not an inviting facility. In the morning, I went to the Front Desk to see about getting my airline ticket printed out. She said the Business Center was around the corner from the Front Desk. One of the computers would not turn on, the other was not configured to the printer. When I told the person at... More 

Helpful?
Thank dcurran52203
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2016

First off we walked into our room and it was extremely cold, it took several hours (almost all night) to warm up. The temperature could not be set in degrees, just high or low so it took a lot of trial and error to get it comfortable. The beds are bouncy and floaty, not in a good way. There was... More 

Helpful?
Thank g-and-s-NYC
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your stay. I apologize for the unfortunate experience in the hot tub. We are working to correct those issues and prevent future problems from occurring. Please allow me to contact you personally to follow up in regard to the restaurant experience. I appreciate your time and we... More 

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
4.6 km away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
407 reviews
9.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
5.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
9.1 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#9 of 18 in Coralville
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Price Range: $97 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Illinois
over a year ago
Chicago, Illinois
3 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you HAVE to stay here bring your own towels and mattress.”
 of 5 bubbles annasO5315FS, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room that is far away from the lobby. If they have a wedding, it can get pretty noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanbA4015XA, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you do not wish to climb stairs, ask for a room on the first floor, as there does not seem to be an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles C0ldinChicag0, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors are closer to vending area”
 of 5 bubbles I7661VIjulief, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The entire second floor is for smokers and smells like it.”
 of 5 bubbles 965brendas, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay