We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2015

I just wanted a decent place to sleep in Iowa City on a Friday night, and I got a good deal on this hotel. The location is not the closest to the city centre, but it can be reached in few minutes. The hotel itself is not bad, for a night I didn't expect much. In the morning I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TurtleSenior
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jeffery Hickman...

Elyria, Ohio
Reviewed 2 October 2015

The in house restaurant served a good dinner, we had the pasta and it was a huge serving, big enough for two hungry adults to share. Brooklyn and Jordon were very attentive while serving us. The front desk staff were efficient. Rooms and the public areas are clean. I would recommend this hotel for families and couples, especially anyone needing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gfindlan
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Not a fan. Lobby smelled stale. Breakfast was terrible - no name brands on cream cheese and yogurt, OJ out of a big thermos. Room was old and needed updating. Felt dirty to me. I would not stay here again. I chose the hotel because I had my dog with me but next time I will find another place that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie27
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

iowa
Reviewed 24 September 2015

The people are nice. The building is starting to show its age. Hot tub still broken after several months (I travel to IC often and several months ago when I was here it was broken then and still is). The beds are somewhat stiff. Potholes in parking lot. Good breakfast. Has a good size pool and average exercise room. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank citainc
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Iowa
Reviewed 2 September 2015

I stayed for one night for business. I am, without question, a "hotel snob." I do not stay anywhere if I don't feel comfortable removing my shoes. I booked through Priceline and after reading the reviews, tried to get out of it. It's not a three star hotel as touted by Priceline. However, I purposefully looked for reasons to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy P
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jeffery Hickman...

Canton, Missouri
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Not a destination hotel. Fine for staying overnight. It is shabby looking but clean. New carpet in the halls. The restaurant was not open as their were only a few reservations for the evening we stayed. They have fixed the concrete near the entry. It looks fine. No hot tub...not going to be fixed we were told by staff. Pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cantonnancy57
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jeffery Hickman...

Canton
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Just to let you know,we booked this hotel from Priceline who were very disagreeable. They would not change our reservation when found out that this 3 star hotel is musty, moldy, doesn't consistently have their restaurant open because they can't find bar tenders, and have very tall grass around their hotel with torn up parking area. They are not certified...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy K
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Edwardsville
Reviewed 17 August 2015

I stayed only one weekend night in mid August and I was pleasantly surprised. The Clarion is an older facility that is showing its age in some respects but it also extremely clean. I had worked most of the day in the heat and didn't arrive at the Clarion until about 7 p.m., drenched in sweat. Check in was easy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank waz_jd
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional...

Muscatine
Reviewed 12 August 2015

I stayed at this hotel the 3rd of August. Unfortunately it was below what I expected for a Clarion. The restaurant was closed and looked like it had been for a while. Sign said "undergoing repairs," We tried to use the hot tub near the indoor pool but it was empty with a sign saying it was out of service,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert D
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time to do your online survey your feedback is very important to us. We will use your comments to make improvements/changes. I m very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your patronage.

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Really nice place in Coralville right off the interstate. We found the room clean and the beds comfortable. The staff was very helpful and appears to be managed well. It is close to the university of Iowa and all things Iowa City has to offer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinoandkim
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! Your kind words are much appreciated. We do our best to ensure that every guests expectations are met, and hopefully exceeded, on every visit to our property. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon in the future. Best, Clarion Highlander Hotel

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
4.6 km away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
407 reviews
9.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
5.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
6.0 km away
Quality Inn Coralville
Quality Inn Coralville
#10 of 18 in Coralville
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2525 N Dodge St, Iowa City, IA 52245-9556 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Price Range: $97 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Illinois
over a year ago
Chicago, Illinois
3 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you HAVE to stay here bring your own towels and mattress.”
 of 5 bubbles annasO5315FS, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room that is far away from the lobby. If they have a wedding, it can get pretty noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanbA4015XA, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you do not wish to climb stairs, ask for a room on the first floor, as there does not seem to be an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles C0ldinChicag0, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors are closer to vending area”
 of 5 bubbles I7661VIjulief, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The entire second floor is for smokers and smells like it.”
 of 5 bubbles 965brendas, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay