We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Iowa House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Iowa House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Iowa House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
lawrence
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I was pleasantly surprised. I wanted to stay downtown on the river and that is right where the Iowa house is. Outdoor spaces. I stayed in one of the older dorm-style rooms but it was clean, quiet, and served my purposes. The continental breakfast is minimal but served my needs and quite convenient. Plenty of options nearby (in the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alawrencetraveller
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Let me say, first, that I expected and wanted to love the Iowa House. I worked there as a housekeeper over 20 years ago when I was a student at the U of I. At that time the hotel was nothing fancy however it was meticulously maintained and we were held to VERY high standards for room cleanliness. I booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenSBrooks
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We stayed here when in Iowa City to tour the University of Iowa. The location can't be beat, view of the river from our room, continental breakfast included, we were pleased with our stay! The hotel profits go toward students!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5schades
Waynesville, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I stayed 2 nights. I'm not sure who is managing the facility, but either they have been there too long or they just don't care how the place looks. The elevators are nice wood on the interior, unfortunately they are scarred up. The rooms are small and the bathroom fixtures are very old. The bathroom is equipped with one of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dcurran52203
Carol Stream, Illinois
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Well, we did not have any major problems but several members in our group complained about air conditioning not working and being assigned to rooms that had not been cleaned. We had trouble getting our door open sometimes. The bathrooms are small. They say they did some repairs to the place but it needs more TLC. It feels kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry your group had some issues during their stay and that you had problems with your door. We are working on fixing these things that you have stated for future guest stays.

Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here to pick up my daughter from school. Thought that it would be as nice as the hotel at the Union at U of IL, but was not. Even though we were upgraded to a Jr. Suite, the room was big but the bed and sofa were uncomfortable. The tiny bathroom had a tub/shower that was so slippery I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ggsquare
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

I do apologize that the room was not up to your standards. We are working to improve some of the items in our rooms and breakfast are currently.

Atlantic, Iowa
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

The Iowa House Hotel is nothing fancy, a basic hotel with 70s decor. That said, it is right on the river and is located in the U of I Memorial Union and so it is on campus which is super convenient. It's only a 5 min walk to the pedestrian mall where you will find lots of bars and restaurants....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and being at the center of campus. We are working on improving our decor in the near future. We hope that you took advantage of all the amenities within our property.

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 4 April 2016

I mainly chose this hotel for the location because it was walking distance from my primary destination. It is on a college campus and a part of the student union it looks like... The area near the campus is a nice little shopping district that's lots of fun to walk around and seems pretty safe. There is a steep hill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and all the close amenities we have nearby. I am sorry to hear about the issues parking, as we are aware that it can be a hassle at times. We hope you come back and can see the river once the weather becomes nicer in the season!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Excellent value - right on campus next to the Iowa River. Free parking and breakfast included. Rooms are ok - could use a revamp, but for the money and location I would stay there again. Good jogging path on the river.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are working towards a revamp soon at the hotel and making it a better experience for all our guest!

Saint Paul
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This is a solid no frills hotel located in the center of University of Iowa east campus. The location is the true value proposition of the property. Otherwise, everything is Just Fine but Nothing Extraordinary. Our room was ready when promised. It was clean, with a strong scent of bleach or cleaning product present when we first entered. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam W
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard on trying to give our guest the best experience possible when visiting the area!

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.7 km away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
426 reviews
0.7 km away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
2.2 km away
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville
#12 of 18 in Coralville
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the convenient location of the Iowa House Hotel,right in the heart of University of Iowa campus on the Iowa River located 2 blocks from downtown Iowa City. Located inside the Iowa Memorial Union the 97 room, the universities self-operated hotel, offers many room styles and amenities to serve your needs during your next visit to Iowa City. Guests of Iowa House enjoy free covered parking, continental breakfast, free wireless internet, and free access to UI fitness centers, including the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center which is ranked in Top 5 college facilities. Inside the Recreation facility you will find state of the art fitness equipment, rock climbing wall, Olympic size pool, a lazy river and much more. Inside the Iowa Memorial Union, guest can find meeting spaces, theaters, ballrooms and more. Become part of the tradition and book your room with Iowa House Hotel today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Iowa House Hotel

Address: 125 North Madison St., University Of Iowa, Iowa City, IA 52242
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Price Range: $127 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iowa House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Iowa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Iowa House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Florida
Iowa
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Iowa House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request 3rd or 4th floor. And if available river view is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles ckpearl3, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles 172chuckw, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room as far away from the breakfast room as possible!”
 of 5 bubbles X6514QFpatrickc, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms are good...great to ask for view of Iowa River”
 of 5 bubbles RhettL905, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Clean and quiet rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 274irinai, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5