Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal

Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal

C/ Afueras S/N 42°14'39.3n 0°12'14.0e, 22392 Abizanda Spain
Traveller (144)
la habitación Joan Tabique
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Abizanda
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel Restaurant “Casa Fumanal” is located in Abizanda (Sobrarbe region, Huesca) in the heart of the pre-Pyrenees Aragonese, a few kilometers from various natural parks, such as Ordesa and Monte Perdido. Located next to the El Grado reservoir, from its excellent location you can enjoy nature in its purest form at any time of the year. In addition, the Monastery of Torreciudad is also a few kilometers, so the range of activities in its area of influence is very wide. The hotel hosts art exhibitions and has a library that draws or donations from writers who pass through the establishment and lounges where you can enjoy a good book sheltered from the fire. The proximity to the main wineries of the D.O. Somontano gives a very special prominence to the good wines grown in the region, very present in the excellent menus of the restaurant. Each of the hotel’s ten rooms has been designed and worked by a different contemporany artist, making them unique and special. All of them have excellent views, private bathroom, air conditioning, healting and free WIFI. The Hotel “Casa Fumanal” is an oasis of peace and tranquility, where you can relax your body and mind in tune with the environment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Breakfast available
Sun terrace
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
Catalan
199Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 174
  • 16
  • 2
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GusElena wrote a review Aug 2018
Barcelona, Spain64 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, and a perfect mix of traditional with modern. Everything is impeccably looked after and the staff are fantastic. It's a great place for kids, with a well-equipped play-room. You could be grumpy and complain about the size of room but the location, hotel and people are so nice that who cares? :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaDemba, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal
Responded Aug 21, 2018
That's so nice to hear, thank you! We're so glad all the guests can be happy, whatever the age. You happened to book our smallest room, we always advise our guests to use our web page www.lademba.com for reservation, as you can see all the rooms available, size and amenities included. We hope to see you again soon, and don't forget to book our largest room, Alegria! 😉
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
martinezcm wrote a review Aug 2018
Kansas City, Missouri484 contributions382 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Up the road there is sign indicating access to the hotel , reached by a narrow but paved road of about a couple of 100's meters. An old decaying large house has been reformed and restored to a more grandiose former self with climate control and many common rooms containing some original furniture and even a traditional mountain fireplace in the middle of the room. There are books (mostly in Spanish) everywhere, sculptures and paintings displayed all over, as decoration, and for sale. Indeed, a true work of art and creative architectural design including a play room for children near the large dining room and its grandiose glass wall with views to the lake formed by the reservoir now full.
Our room was small and decorated in a way that today may pass as artsy with a birdcage in the middle acting as lamp and some old iron clad keys hanging from the ceiling. The window, with good views to the lake, had a complex, and noisy, interior shutters design and the floor cold due to the floor cooling. The latter worked efficiently except that in the unvented bathroom the marbled floor acted as a superb humidity condenser that we at first through is was the result of recent cleaning until we figured it out and sacrificed one of the towels to periodically dried eliminating the possibility of slipping.
Our bed was comfortable and breakfast was reasonable. Yet, they offered croissants and toast or eggs and sausages. Later we found that they had different prices. A further annoying issue was that by the second day with the hotel nearly full they had only one person which, and as efficient and fast as she was she had a hard time copping with the influx of customer including children. Then, we thanked out the usefulness of the play room nearby for their waiting to be served.
This was the morning after the lunar eclipse when the personnel had stayed up to 1:30 am enjoying the coolness of the night along some chatting. Hence, explaining the presence of only one person serving restaurant style the whole room until some of the others joined by 9:30. Poor management.
Dinner is offered and it is somewhat of a captive issue situation since there are no alternatives nearby. It was fix menu with some gazpacho and either a grilled sausage or baked salmon that some people half ate. Here, there is room for improvement. Even though the excellent team of waitresses, Desiree and Violeta, did their best with their cheerful spirit and plain charm.
Overall. a very good place to visit and rest while making plans elsewhere for a feisty lunch and have snack for dinner.
The price is great and parking is free while the wi.fi was erratic particularly in the evening.
They said management had changed two months ago. Hope they consider our comments to improve the the services flow. Keep Desiree and Violeta and get in shape other personnel whose job we had a hard time figuring out.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaDemba, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal
Responded Aug 21, 2018
Thank you for your complete and well-thought review, that's truly helpful. First of all, let us apologize for any inconvenience. Spain is a country where you are somehow expected to loudly complain if you're not satisfied, we tend to assume quiet people are happy as they are. We will coach the staff about this issue and the clear explanation of breakfast/brunch option given to our guests. By the description of the room, I guess you were in Ulula. Each of our ten rooms have a completely different design and was created by a different contemporary artist. Maybe Asidos or Cubiculo would fit your taste better next time, if you give us another chance? Please remember to book through our site www.lademba.com so you can choose decoration/size/amenities to please you. The inner wood shutters are part of the architecture, but we will try to make them less noisy, maybe with some felt pieces where wood meets wood. Thank you for the suggestion. The humidity problem, we'll look into, it's not normal at all. We tolerate late chatting of the staff after their long work hours, but not at the cost of poor service to our guests. We are sorry. The team is mostly very new, with a lot of recent changes. We must make an effort for better managment and coordination. Our light Menu changes every few days, and we can always advise our guests where else to eat around Abizanda, no offense taken. We are fixing the wifi problems we kept having after a particularely strong storm. Desirée is staff, while Violeta is temporary but we'll be very happy to have her work here again when she finishes her oenology/wine studies. On site are the manager, two cooks, two waitresses, the cleaning lady, the maintenance man and sometimes the art director (who wasn't there the week around the eclipse). We are understaffed after a cook and a waiter had to leave us, and are actively trying to solve this problem. Please feel free to write directly to info@lademba.com to explain exactly what attitude of which person was questionable or to your dislike/surprise. Again, thank your for taking the time to write a usefully critic review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brozas wrote a review Apr 2018
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg225 contributions133 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Driving back to Zaragoza we decided to stop in this place for lunch. It is off the main road and not easy to see the small road that takes you to it (400 meters). It is a sophisticated place with hotel, restaurant and arts display.
We had lunch in a spacious and bright room. They only offer a menu del dia (24.50 euros) with a selection of appetizers, fish, meat and grilled meat. WE were offered as an "amouse guele" a tasting of olive oils wiht bread and a tasty boletus (mushroom) croquette. For appetizers we had tortellini with artichokes and truffle. Good and tasty. We followed with grilled rabbit and grilled lamb. The rabbit was a bit dry and the lamb was fine although not special. Overall the food was OK but not to rave about. Desserts were tasty (torrijas)
The setting is very nice, including an outdoor terrasse. The views are exceptional and the atmosphere is very peaceful.
Service is overall very attentive and they try hard to please. However they are details that are missing like checking that we need water, dropping the dessert cutlery on the table instead of setting it, taking too long to bring the bill.
The hotels installations are very interesting. Lots of space for art and library.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaDemba, Director de Recepción at Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal
Responded May 31, 2018
Thank you for your review. We're working on the visibility issues, thank you for pointing that out, it's a pity that the former managment apparently never thought of it. We are a very recent team and try our best. Our young waiters are being trained to adapt to foreign culture quirks and habits they don't know yet. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you can give us a chance to show how we evolve and learn. We will try harder in the kitchen and out.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ethan Y wrote a review Jul 2017
Evanston, Illinois16 contributions21 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I will write more details as needed. But beware if you have reservations here. It is closed! I made reservations in April for a night here on July 8. I have an email confirmation of the reservation. My family (wife and two young boys) and I showed up at this remote location at night on July 8 and it (the hotel and restaurant) are closed. The only person there was a security guard who didn't speak English. We muddled through a conversation in my limited Spanish and learned the place was closed a couple of weeks ago and will be closed for at least some weeks if not longer. There is nothing else close by. I received no word of this reservation being cancelled. The security guard had no way to contact the owner. Emails to the hotel written over the course of the last day or so have not been returned. Beware! This was not only disappointing, it left us searching for another place to stay until 130 in the morning as the closest town has no rooms because it's the busy season.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaDemba, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal
Responded Aug 16, 2017
We are really sorry for the situation you. The leader manager of La Demba quitted unexpectedly and we did our best to engage a new team that could only be working in August. Of course there is nothing we can do for the inconveniences you had to endure in the past, but we would be glad offering you a free night if you ever accept coming back to change your bad impression to a good sensation. Be assured we will do our best for your satisfaction. The NuevaDemba Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
yc038 wrote a review Jun 2015
Munich, Germany30 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
La Demba is a wonderful creation from Jota and Josep. It's situated among olive groves, overlooking the water reservoir. Every corner of it is filled with art, design and creative ideas. The owners and the staff are very warm and welcoming. It was nice and relaxing to return to La Demba after a day's sightseeing. The food prepared by chef Josep is really fresh and delicious! He uses locally sourced groceries (a lot of them are organic and from small farmers) and knows how to bring out the flavor of each ingredient and also balance btw different flavors at the same time. We had dinner every night there and never got tired of it because it was so good and the menu was changed daily. Bravo, Josep! We miss your food already :)

The region is very beautiful and has lots to offer. We went hiking at Ordesa national park and the scenery is breathtaking. There are many canyons at Sierra de Guara for water sports, especially canyoning, highly recommended. The nearby medieval towns like Ainsa and Alquézar are also worth to explore.

Thank you so much, Jota, Josep and Pita. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope we'll be able to return to La Demba in the future. Hugs also for Tina and Max!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaDemba, Propietario at Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal
Responded Jul 9, 2015
Dear couple, thank you very much for your kind words. It was our pleasure to welcome you in our house, assist you and help you enjoying the fantastic cuisine of this land. We are glad you liked it and, especially, we are happy to know we contributed a little bit to make your visit to our country enjoyable and full of nice memories. We will give a big hug to our beloved canine family, Max and Tina, from you. We also take this opportunity to send you a cordial hug from our Demba. We expect the future to join us again... Jota, Peta y Josep
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ecg801 wrote a review Nov 2018
Annapolis, Maryland10 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the most relaxing evening in our lovely room with balcony overlooking a majestic view. We started with mint tea on the balcony during sunset and then moved on to leek soup, salmon and sausage with a nice Chardonnay for dinner. Suffering from jet lag, we slept in late but the attentive staff served us fabulous coffee and saw that we got off to a great start the next day.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaDemba, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal
Responded Dec 6, 2018
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at La Demba and really hope to see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2angie70 wrote a review Oct 2017
Port Austin, Michigan13 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay and this one-of-a-kind hotel. Our room was gorgeous, the view spectacular, the surrounding scenery lovely. The hotel has many nooks and crannies to explore. Remnants of the ancient building blend with the modern new additions.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Every room in the hotel has a different theme and design, but all are beautiful.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
najpas wrote a review Jul 2017
Paris, France7 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked 2 rooms (3 persons, 2 nights) in the hotel through TripAdvisor/Hotels.com, Booking was made about 3 weeks before scheduled arrival, and Hotels.com confirmed my booking by e-mail. Amazingly, on the morning of our planned arrival (i.e. a few hours before scheduled arrival), I received a call from Hotels.com informing me that the hotel would not honor our reservations. No further information was given. I was unable to join the hotel by phone (no answer). As an aside, I had also sent the hotel 2 e-mails several days before intended arrival, to which I never received a response ...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaDemba, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal
Responded Aug 16, 2017
We are really sorry for the situation you. The leader manager of La Demba quitted unexpectedly and we did our best to engage a new team that could only be working in August. Of course there is nothing we can do for the inconveniences you had to endure in the past, but we would be glad offering you a free night if you ever accept coming back to change your bad impression to a good sensation. Be assured we will do our best for your satisfaction. The NuevaDemba Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ale_arca wrote a review Dec 2016
Paris, France5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
While trekking on the French Pyrenees (and a bit disappointed by the cold welcoming from the locals) we decided to change plans and cross the Spanish border to spend a couple days in the Ordesa and Monte Perdido Park.
Stumbling upon La Demba turned out to be the best decision of our trip. La Demba is a marvellous gem for several reasons: the whole idea behind it (a refurnished country house where each room has been designed by a different artist - our room, the "Finnish" one - was cozy and clean, perfect for Autumn); its location on top of the hill facing the picturesque village of Abizanda; its hosts Jota and Joseph and the whole staff who are perfectly welcoming and professional as one can wish; the food prepared by the supremely talented Joseph (I had the best dinner in a long time - no exaggeration); the breathtaking landscapes provided by the surrounding National Parks; what else? I know! All meals come with the sweet soundtrack of Spanish (and international) jazz music. In short, if La Demba was a cocktail it would be a blend of exceptional taste for art and food, creative ideas and talent to turn them into reality. And Jota and Joseph have all of these!
I left this place fully recharged and inspired and I still think about those 2 (too short) days today when I need a "mental escape".
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheyenne D wrote a review Nov 2016
6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The coolest hotel we've ever stayed in! It's a family-owned, rustic building located on the hillside of an olive grove with a view of the foothills of the Pyrenees and glacial water-fed lake. The hotel, which consists of only 6 rooms I believe, is each entirely designed by different artists. The result is that each room has its own unique personality and creative quirks to it! Our room was called Ulula, designed by a Finnish artist - it's a bright room with little birds (fake of course!) nesting on our light fixture and old fashion keys hanging from a hand-painted tree; keys that supposedly help keep our dreams safe. This boutique hotel operates on the principles of environmental sustainability, so expect to find heavenly smelling, package-less natural soaps in the bathroom among other things! Take a small walk in the hotel and check out the temporary expositions in their on-site art gallery, historic kitchen of the rustic building, adorable library, rustic wine cantina, wishing well, among so many other hidden and tasteful surprises! The restaurant, that's also part of the hotel, is a proud member of the Slow Food movement; the food is mostly all organic and locally sourced and carefully cooked by an exceptional, passionate chef, Josep (one of the owners of the hotel). We enjoyed every meal to the fullest, probably some of the best meals we've ever had prepared for us! The location is so beautiful and quiet, yet close enough to explore Ordesa y Monte Perdido National Park with many stunning historical towns all in the area. Jota, one of the owners, created a great itinerary for us to explore the National Park and some stunning villages. My boyfriend and I had such a great experience at La Demba and we'll definitely be recommending it to anyone that we know planning to visit the region. We also hope to come back one day and stay with Josep and Jota again to explore this beautiful region and hike the Ordesa Canyon! Muchas gracias por todo!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Journey731219 asked a question Nov 2017
12 contributions5 helpful votes
¿Cuál es el precio orientativo de un menú de degustación?
2angie70 wrote a tip Oct 2017
Port Austin, Michigan13 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Every room in the hotel has a different theme and design, but all are beautiful."
Read full review
RuPhi wrote a tip Oct 2015
The Netherlands42 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Each room was designed by a different artist. Colour palet and layout vary (for example: bathtub in the room vs. separate shower, etc.)"
Read full review
andrew190479 wrote a tip Sep 2015
Oslo, Norway9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They are all good"
Read full review
Spithead wrote a tip Jun 2014
Portsmouth, United Kingdom525 contributions213 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Front facing the large dam"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Abizanda area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
La Demba Arte-Hotel
LOCATION
SpainAragonProvince of HuescaAbizanda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal
Which popular attractions are close to Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal?
Nearby attractions include Budist Monastery Dag Shang Kagyu (8.0 km), La Casa de los Títeres (0.5 km), and Torre Museo de Las Creencias (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a view of a nearby landmark, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bar Restaurant El Entremon, La Fabrica de Naval, and Casa Fumanal.
Is Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Abizanda.
Are there any historical sites close to Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ermita De La Soledad (7.5 km).
Does Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Restaurante Hotel Casa Fumanal accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars