We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown

Booking.comUS$129*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 331: English reviews
Start your review of Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
 Click to rate
Boerne, Texas
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

While this hotel lived up to Hampton Inn standards, it did not have a refrigerator in the room. When we travel, we bring a cooler with foods that need to be refrigerated, and almost every other Hampton we have stayed in around the country have refrigerators. That was very disappointing. Everything else was fine. The night before in our travels,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tac0kid
Dallas, TX
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

I Think we have tried most of the hotels in Marshalltown. The newest is the Hampton Inn and is definitely the best! Fantastic breakfast beautifully served with a wonderful lady as hostess. The rooms are comfy, great bed and thicker walls. Never heard a squeak the entire time we were there. Yummy cookies when you check in and A warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolea G
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites of Marshalltown and also for taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay with us. I’m happy to hear that you had a good overall experience and that you enjoyed your interaction with my staff. I’m proud of the customer service my staff delivers and I’m glad to...

Reviewed 1 week ago

BEWARE! Hotel charges you another day if you check out early ($140)! I had a reservation for 3 days but only needed to stay 1 day - I was charged for another day although I checked out at 7 am! This is a very crooked way to do business and in my 18 years of travel, I've never had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anjpenny30
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Hampton Inn hotel was newer, large room and very clean. The TV wouldn't change channels but the lady at front desk had it fixed in no time. I would stay again when traveling through Iowa. Getting to the hotel was a challenge. The driveway is behind a brand new Casey's and easy to miss so be on the lookout.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G4194UOsheilab
Red Wing, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was very nice, we didn't have a refrigerator or microwave in our room, and the hotel was a little difficult to get to. We could see it, but the signage was not there. We came in at night, but even that it was difficult to turn on to the right road

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schafam
Marshalltown, Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was great. Breakfast was seriously lacking in the variety department. If you wanted breads and bagels they had you covered. Other than that your left with tasteless eggs. There was hardly any mention of meat and most hotels I've stayed at at least have biscuits and gravy but not this place.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikerJ7230KH
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review

I appreciate the feedback given in your review. We always strive to better ourselves and adding fresh cut fruit and “crack your own” eggs are only a couple new additions to our complimentary breakfast. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel in general. Thank you again for the review. We hope to see you again soon.

Lindstrom, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was spacious and well-appointed. The bed was comfortable and I slept well - which I don't always do when away from home. The complimentary breakfast was great - many choices to choose from and fresh.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindstromlassie
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us in Marshalltown. I’m happy to hear that we delivered to you a clean and comfortable room. Those Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses are hard to beat and I’m glad you were comfortable. Our goal is to receive feedback like yours. We look forward to your next...

Washington, Iowa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were booked in a suite only to arrive to be "accommodated" in 2 separate queen rooms- on different floors. The staff actually expected my 14 year old, 10 year old and 8 year old to sleep in a room on 2nd floor while my wife and I stayed on 4th. They were able to "pull some strings" to get...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianmI2180OF
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us. All feedback is appreciated and taken into consideration to help us improve. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while visiting us. In all honesty, we are unsure of why the problem occurred. It was either a computer glitch or an accidental error made...

Marshalltown, United States
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We have used this hotel for family gatherings a couple of times and have always been pleased with the cleanliness and quality of the rooms and particularly the helpfulness of the staff. The check-in and check-out procedure is a bit tedious, apparently due to the outdated hotel software, but we have never had any other issues.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hapk2017
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites of Marshalltown and also for taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay with us. I’m happy to hear that you had a good overall experience and that you enjoyed your interaction with my staff. I’m proud of the customer service my staff delivers and I’m glad to...

Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 April 2017

I booked 2 queen rooms connecting, they called to say the rooms I chose online were not connecting. My rooms were not queen and they were not connecting. Why call? At least the rooms I chose had 2 queen beds. I think the hotel was recently built as I didn't see a sign from the highway and I wasn't sure...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 369christinej
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. We appreciate all feedback and use it as a learning experience so we can continue providing you with an overall wonderful stay when you visit our property. I apologize that the adjoining rooms you wanted were not available upon check in. All of our adjoining rooms...

27 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshalltown
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown
0.1 km away
Best Western Regency Inn
Best Western Regency Inn
#3 of 11 in Marshalltown
141 reviews
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
#4 of 11 in Marshalltown
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Tremont Inn On Main
Tremont Inn On Main
#2 of 11 in Marshalltown
40 reviews
0.4 km away
Motel 6 Marshalltown
Motel 6 Marshalltown
#8 of 11 in Marshalltown
34 reviews
36.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown

Address: 20 Iowa Ave W, Marshalltown, IA 50158-4780
Region: United States > Iowa > Marshalltown
Price Range: $145 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Marshalltown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Denton, Texas
over a year ago
Rapid City, South Dakota
Atlantic, IA
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in teens are closest to elevator, so may want to be avoided for noise. Even numberss face the parking lot/darker side of the hotel.”
JBry, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were great.. we were on the 2nd floor towards the middle.”
660amiet, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the back/corn filed side.”
benzonit, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“stay on upper floor”
TerMar1981, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Upgrade to a King, if you have the chance to do so.”
jrosetree, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$129* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$129
Hampton.comUS$129
Orbitz.comUS$129
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates