We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kinabalu Pine Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Kinabalu Pine Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kinabalu Pine Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 285: English reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Just run away from the city, and rejuvenate yourself here... Amazing sunrise and sunset view of Mount Kinabalu... Block P units provide the best view... Local life here is so serene... Long and winding road to go around but with views so amazing, you just don't care...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Khaizal B
Reviewed 2 July 2015

the hotel view is good. The problem is how their served the customer. I had made booked on March 2015. At the beginning i was booked for 3 days 2 night but i changed to 2 days 1 night & i was told that refund process can take time 2-3 weeks. After 1 month , i made the follow up,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mastura Y
Kpine274904, General Manager at Kinabalu Pine Resort, responded to this review

Refund was made immediately on our part. Regret on slow process due to merchant card systems upgrading issue which was beyond our control. This has been our first encounter of such. Rest assure of our standard of services. We appreciate patience and understanding.

Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

The best thing about this place is the view of the mountain and it is on the main road. The rooms are not too big and food is not too great. It takes time to check in and there is no concierge service. But the view from the place more than compensates for the above negatives. The national park and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh C
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 27 June 2015

One of several lodges recommended by our mountain climbing tour operator, this was a very pleasant place to stay. The sunrise views of the mountain were quite beautiful. The resort consists a numerous multi-room cottages--each room with it's own outside entrance. Our cottage had a spacious shared deck looking out over the valley and mountain beyond. The alcohol-free restaurant had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

With all the mature pine trees, it truly reminded me of villas in the European alps. Location 5-7 minute scenic walk to the fruit and vegetable market. 10-15 minute drive to Kinabalu park HQ. Service Friendly and helpful front desk staff Rooms Spacious and clean but equipped with very basic accessories.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lauren_l0ves
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

We went here for 2 nights. It was a pleasant stay. Even it just a small cottage but the room just enough for us. We didn't get the room that facing to the mount kinabalu but we didn't regret at all. After all we still can watched the sunrise from the view point. My suggestion, wake up early and go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nonafardus
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Wow, really a relaxing and cooling resort! Nice view and nature environment. Good viewing Kinabalu Mount from this resort especially during early morning. Breakfast and steamboat as dinner were including in my package, but really a simple meal, kindly advise to improve and most choices. Room is just average. Overall it's really good for family trip or honeymooners. Will come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaveyC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Located near to Kundasang. Dinner and breakfast included are just average. Didn't expect much here. Mt Kinabalu view from P1 room is awesome, esp before 9am the peak is not covered with mist yet. Some reviews recommended grilled honey chicken wing nearby. Rented a car from KK and drove here to visit Desa dairy farm

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CSN2
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewed 21 May 2015

There were 8 of us and we took 4 rooms at P1 until P4. & we took over the whole bungalow of Block P. 1) Check in was smooth 2) View from Block P was amazing! We can see the Mount Kinabalu from our room! 3) Breakfast & dinner were included 4) Wifi very slow *** the dinner served fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsPajura
Johor Bahru
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We arrived here around 2pm and there were 2 guest at the counter doing their check in procedures. I waited for about 10 minutes to reach my turn for check in which I thought was a bit long. There is no place to seat while waiting to be check in as their reception is too small to accommodate too many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kookaaq

333 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundasang
9.2 km away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
6.1 km away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Kundasang
94 reviews
3.8 km away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 9 in Kundasang
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#5 of 13 in Kundasang
143 reviews
2.3 km away
Strawberry Garden Hotel  Kampung
22.8 km away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#6 of 24 in Ranau
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kinabalu Pine Resort is a multi-award winning & privately run accommodation that caters to budget-conscious travellers.All of our cabins have wide open porches facing Mount Kinabalu. Unlike our competitors, all of Kinabalu Pine Resort's wooden cabins are fully built using the exclusive Selangan Batu hardwood. There are Standard or Deluxe cabins, with blocks S & N at the resort's crest. All rooms come with WiFi internet access, satellite television channels, intercom facility, en-suite bathroom, hair dryer and coffee & tea making facilities.Dining & entertainment'The Pines' caters local, Chinese & Western cuisine. On cool windy nights, try ordering Steamboat (Chinese hot pot). Our karaoke lounge & bar opens nightly from 9.00pm to 11.30pm. A Conference hall to conduct your meetings and seminars surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping. Our facilites can cater up to 150 delegates in theatre setting, or up to 60 in classroom setting.Other facilitiesIncludes an on-site children's playground, outdoor barbecue pits and public telephones. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinabalu Pine Resort

Address: Kampung Kundasang (along Kundasang Ranau Highway, Kundasang, Ranau 89308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Price Range: $59 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kinabalu Pine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kinabalu Pine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Pine Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kinabalu Pine Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
24 days ago
HK
5 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Kinabalu Pine Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick rooms at chalet P and S as they face Mount Kinabalu directly”
  • view from our chalet
 of 5 bubbles louis899, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to stay further away from the main road for less karaoke noise, all rooms have views of the Mountain!”
 of 5 bubbles Oya_12, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room with a view on Mount Kinabalu”
 of 5 bubbles Marriage_9, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room at block D & R have a direct view of Mount Kinabalu. Higher room, better view.”
 of 5 bubbles EryzaI, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Chalet N if you have small kids because it near to rabbit barn. your kids will love it.”
 of 5 bubbles Mrs_Nur, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay