We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 158: English reviews
Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Comparisons are not good, but sometimes needs to be done. We stayed before at the Hilton near by. Big difference. The Holiday Inn has a average service. Breakfast not even close to the Hilton Garden Inn. The unexplained is that the Holiday Inn has the coffee makers in the BATHROOM. It is completly insane. The hotels are only 5 blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cetobler
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We apologize that you did not fully enjoy your time with us and will be using your comments to further coach and train our team.

Schaumburg
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This was just a one night stay but we were very impressed with this hotel. The desk person was very friendly, room was nicely furnished and very clean. Comfortable bed. Continental breakfast was typical but good. Great cinnamon buns! Would stay again when in the Des Moines area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyclaireSchaumburg
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us as your first Holiday Inn stay! We are thrilled that you were able to relax and enjoy your time with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Urbandale!

Fort Dodge
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We had a friends weekend to see the Cubs game. When we first walked into the room, there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom. Then the TV wouldn't work. We called the front desk and they moved us right away. The breakfast was very good. The second room was much better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We apologize that we got off to a bad start with you, but are happy we could get you all set to enjoy your Cubs weekend. We do hope that you will come back and see us again in the near future.

Tama, Iowa
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Urbandale after a long day at the local amusement park (Adventureland). We arrived after 11 PM and I was happy that check in was very fast and efficient. Our room was pretty standard, two beds, decent size. The only real issue that I had was that our bed ( two kids in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carny1230
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Well appointed, friendly staff. Conveniently located off the hwy. Our room had a Keurig machine and all amenities were pleasant. There is a Culver's and Ruby Tuesday within walking distance. The breakfast was good. We will frequent if in the area again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GiseppeGord
Albany
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I called as we neared Iowa and booked the hotel because it had a washer and dryer and we could get a room on the first floor close to it. When we got in my partner turned on the AC and it was not working. We had to move to anther room which was on the third floor. After 40...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank You for providing us with your feedback about your most recent stay with us. We apologize that there were some issues with your stay and will be using your review in coaching and training our team to improve. We hope in the future you have the opportunity to give us another chance.

Palatine, Illinois, USA
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This was an excellent hotel, and I was all set to give it a 5 and say it was one of the best hotels on our trip. But we slept late and at 9 a.m. housekeeping knocked on our door. Then at 9:45 we were locked out of our room. The room keys expired an hour and 15 minutes before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a_curious_1
Waco, Texas, United States
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Good stay. Clean, friendly staff. Room a little tight for 3 adults and a dog. Bathroom real small. No hairdryer. No on site food. Benigans across the parking lot. $20 for dog per night. Would recommend hotel Looks like is a big conference center. Nearby food, convenience store walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 13 July 2016

This hotel was convenient and clean. The mattress was a little bit more firm than I would like. My biggest complaint is the curtains in my room--the blackout curtains were unable to be closed, therefore I woke up with the sun and was unable to fall back asleep. Breakfast is included and was good--as expected of a Holiday Inn Express....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShayB27
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 11 July 2016

It's always difficult to review a hotel when the main problem you had with it was other guests. We stayed here based on the general quality of Holiday Inn Express and proximity to I-80. We were there on a Saturday night. There were baseball teams staying there for a little league tournament and a swim group heading to the trials....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethB02
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for returning a survey about your time with us. We apologize for the mix up with our central reservations, but were glad we were able to find a room to suit your needs. We also apologize for the other guests that disturbed you during your stay. We take all of our guests comments to heart and will work...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
4.7 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Urbandale
0.5 km away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
1.0 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale

Address: 8789 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322-6245
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range: $154 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure things work before settling in”
 of 5 bubbles PatW622, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check to see if there is a major event in the area with younger individuals”
 of 5 bubbles 998RICHARDS, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go to the IHG website”
 of 5 bubbles suzannelt, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Stay on south side if you want to be the furthest from interstate I-80”
 of 5 bubbles tonyandk, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The interstate is north of the property. The farther south you are, the quieter it will be.”
 of 5 bubbles 78MatthewH, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5