We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Eisenach, Germany
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was surprized at some of the negative entries here because I had a great stay at the Red Fox last August. After traveling down Route 66 from Chicago to Oklahoma City it was time to head back and I decided to take a northern route due to the weather forcast. So I went through Kansas, Nebraska and crossed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us. While I respect the views of guests who had negative experiences, it is unfortunate that typically those are the ones that guests are motivated to write, and positive reviews aren't always as prominent -- because the guest had an enjoyable stay and went on their way. For...

Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Wallpaper hanging off the wall, stained yellow walls, mold growing on the ceiling, dingy, depressing, dated and overall just horrible. So expensive too, nearly $90 a night for this dump. The bed was cheap, old and uncomfortable. Plus the comforter was not fresh. The ugly thing had hair and old food stuck to it. So gross. The whole room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiveForTravel13
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am curious if you notified the front desk and asked to be shown other rooms that may have met your standards. If we don't know your dissatisfaction during your stay, we are unable to do everything we can to make things right. With regards to your complaints: We make improvements to the hotel regularly and as often as we...

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Fist of all I do not agree with the previous negative comments. Although the hotel is a bit dated the staffs friendless makes up for it. I had a great experience from calling in and being helped from booking my room, to actual check in. Jake who was working both when I called and showed up knew what he was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luckytraveler6
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. I pass every comment on to our staff; comments such as yours are a pleasure to relay. I'm thrilled to know we are the great pick we strive to be. Thank you for taking time to write a review!

Centennial, Colorado
Reviewed 5 April 2013

America’s Best Value Inn & Suites/Red Fox Inn is not only outdated to the point of being aesthetically appalling, it is positively dilapidated. That which was not out rightly broken was in such a state of disrepair that it was a hair’s breadth away from falling apart before our very eyes. Our stay at this establishment can only be described...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kelley C
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I think you know how hard this response must be. I think I best sum up with a heartfelt 'I'm sorry.' I truly am sorry you had a bad exoerience. I did the only thing I could which was to refund your money with our apologies. I would be insincere if I said there was no merit to items in...

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I am away from home in hotels more than I am at home. I am apalled by the hotel and its staff. I was greeted very late by a young man who reeked of marijuana and tried putting me in a room with people that were not in my party, to finally get him to understand who I was with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Melissa T
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Well, this is certainly a very disappointing review, to say the least. This review definitely has my fullest attention, and I assure you I am looking into each item -- starting with the desk clerk. I checked to see who checked you in, and the young man has been in my employ for years now. I have never encountered any...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I was stuck in a snow storm and stayed here. My room was dirty. There were cobwebs with bugs hanging in them, hair all over my bathroom, and toenail clippings on the floor. I barely slept the whole night since the bed was dsoo uncomfortable. I told the front desk about these issues when I checked out and they didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Starlitlove08
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I'm extremely sorry to hear about the issues you had with your room. That is extremely unusual, and I am at a loss. Had you let us know when you got to your room that it was not in proper order, we would have been more than happy to move you to a different room and helped you move your...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Over the holidays, my family all gathered for two-nights at the Red Fox Inn. We were able to book several rooms all next to each other. The hotel is out-dated cosmetically, but we found everything in our room to be in good working order. There was a mini-fridge, microwave, hair dryer, cable TV. Our room was located near the pool-area,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mplsfoode
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

These types of responses make my day! Thank you so much. Please allow us to serve you the next time you're in the Waverly area!

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is incredibly dated and not very clean. However, the price was very affordable and the staff at the hotel were nice. The price and the staff would not be enough to make me stay there again though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winterfe5
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. While I strive to make every guest a satisfied one, some things are unfortunately beyond my control. We are an older property, but we maintain every room and ensure that you get a great rate. I'm glad the staff treated you well! I do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Appleton
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed here for four nights while in town for a college reunion. We were surprised to find a mini fridge in the room, which came in handy for keeping drinks cold and for storing fresh fruit and other snacks so that we could eat a light lunch without having to go to a restaurant. Yes, the continental breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J S
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

This is the second favorable response I've written related to my Guest Service Representative, Scott Bruns. It's so nice to hear the positives along with the constructive criticisms. I will let Scott know how his professionalism and service skills are making an impact on our clientele. Service is everything. We recently added fruit to our continental breakfast. We do everything...

Bryan, Texas
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Red Fox is somewhat of a staple in Waverly. The decor has not changed in 20+ years and while that may be a turnoff for some, others may view it as reassuring. One thing that the Fox does not lack is personable staff. In particular, the night desk staff during my stay, Scott Bruns, was helpful, courteous, and professional....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DC0810
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review! Indeed, we are a full service hotel that offers rates that beat the most popular value brands. We pride ourselves on being clean and friendly. Thank you, in particular, for mentioning the service your received from Scott. He is an asset to my team; I will be sure to pass your comments...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waverly
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn Waverly
Comfort Inn Waverly
#1 of 5 in Waverly
104 reviews
2.5 km away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
23.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
350 reviews
31.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
20.5 km away
The Black Hawk Hotel
The Black Hawk Hotel
#6 of 14 in Cedar Falls
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel and Conference Center, with 118 interior corridor rooms. Indoor pool, elevator, game room, restaurant, meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Address: 1900 Heritage Way, Waverly, IA 50677-9200
Region: United States > Iowa > Waverly
Price Range: $68 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Red Fox Hotel Waverly
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn Waverly, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book earlier to get a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles kevinsW2367CL, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles funinthesun351112, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“first floor by the lobby and pool”
 of 5 bubbles H1214UXhannahb, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles L1374PMmattm, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Look anywhere else. Your car would be better.”
 of 5 bubbles CherylH120, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay