We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 326: English reviews
Alliston, Canada
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Whenever I travel I look forward to staying at the local Sheraton. They seem to always have the best beds. Getting a quality sleep has always been tough for me when I travel and I find that the Sheraton always has the best beds. There were a few renovations happening when we checked in but nothing that would stop you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sixthcents
Newton, Iowa
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and i stayed here on a saturday night. The staff was very friendly. The weightroom was modern and nice. The bar was fully stocked. We did not order food or eat breakfast, so I cannot speak to that. That being said, parts of the hotel were under construction. The Sheraton Club Lounge was closed. There were large paint...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kellybennett2016
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations while staying with us. I have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping leadership to use this as a training tool to improve. As we finalize our renovations in the hotel we are working diligently to clean up after all of the construction...

Ames, Iowa
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Check in was friendly and easy. Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. We we in one of the renovated rooms and it was very nice. The decorations are subdued and give the room a comfortable feel. We had no trouble getting an elevator. The banquet room was nicely done with pleasant colors. Our meal was good and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank singingaccordionist
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are really proud of the new rooms and are glad to hear that they fit your needs and that you enjoyed them. I hope that we have the opportunity to host you again if your travels bring you back to West Des Moines.

Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Needed a one night spot close to shopping. Excellent location, great staff, comfortable bed, and just one great stay. The room was spacious and quiet. The front desk staff was welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Steve, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The front desk team works hard to be welcoming and helpful for all our guests and really appreciate that their efforts were recognized. Next time your travels bring you back to West Des Moines we look forward to hosting you again.

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Had a very good venue for having meetings but for the most part the hotel looks dated and worn. The staff is very friendly and helpful in all areas. I would stay there again but I hope they do some updates soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff. They work really hard to take care of each and every guest we host and this feedback is appreciated. We are currently working on renovating our guest rooms and are planning to have the lobby and public space done in the near future however dates have not been set. I hope...

Salina, Kansas
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

I'm a SPG member so I maybe a little partial, but I have stayed here a few times now and I'm never disappointed. Room is always clean and comfortable, pool area and workout room good and the members lounge is good. Have eaten in their restaurants and food was average but not expensive. Will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Jean, Thanks for taking to time to share your experiences in our hotel. I am really glad to hear that you enjoy your stays and always find the hotel to be consistent in delivering on our promises to you. As your travels continue to bring you to West Des Moines we look forward to continuing to be your hotel of...

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We were bummed there was not a hot tub, on one of their websites it mentioned spa but there wasn't one. When we got in our room it was 83 degrees it was quite warm, good thing we had to leave to go eat dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Amanda, I am sorry that were not fully satisfied with your recent stay in our hotel. I understand how frustrating it must be to think that there is a hot tub in the hotel when there isn't. Unfortunately we only have control of the informatino posted on the Sheraton.com website, other third party sites offer descriptions and information that unfortunately...

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We made a last minute decision to spend the night at this large hotel while traveling with our six kids, because of a problem with the trailer we were pulling. The hotel is tall with an open central lobby area and a multiple story waterfall which impressed my children greatly. We were accidentally assigned to a room which was under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonny J
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I hope that if your travels bring you to our area again you will get the opportunity to stay and see the completed renovations.

Dardenne Prairie, Missouri
Reviewed 12 November 2016

My husband attended a conference here which included the room. We were very pleased with the room and the accommodations during the conference. They are in the process of a remodel but they try and keep that distraction to a minimum. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The location of the hotel is great. It is easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina T
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your experience in West Des Moines. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Jewell, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Great amenities and rates. Went for a conference and rooms sold out fast, so book early! Discounted rate for conference on site. Staff was friendly. Very clean and modern. Several conference attendees could not get rooms and had to book elsewhere so I recommend booking shortly after confirming your conference dates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany G
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments. I hope that we get the chance to host you again when your travels bring you to the Des Moines area.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
187 reviews
4.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
539 reviews
3.3 km away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
177 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: $129 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ice machines located on floors 8 and 10”
 of 5 bubbles sleestaker, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There were some minor renovations going on at the hotel. It did not bother us. It was minor.”
 of 5 bubbles sixthcents, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Nice place”
 of 5 bubbles PhyllW, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with the King size beds are a good size.”
 of 5 bubbles 71allga, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I always like a room with a lot of light!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 4JMP, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5