We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Illinois
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Room number 1 smelled like curry masked by strong deodorizer. Smell so overwhelming it remained on clothing and hair. Requested and received room change. Room #2, no curry smell, but on 2nd day reeked of mold/mildew. Shower water pressure poor and water was cold. Very uncomfortable beds with pillows that were flat and old. No hairdryer in room, had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyBug929
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The room conditions you described are unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To uphold our company’s high standards, I will be reviewing our cleaning and room inspection procedures with our staff as well as making sure we are better monitoring the noise levels...

Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here two nights and chose due to location but won't stay again. It was serviceable and probably better long term, but for short term not. Little to no amenities; clean but basic at best. Rooms were small and of mixed quality. Grab and go breakfast basic at best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice D
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that we were unable to exceed your expectations. To uphold our company’s high standards, we will continue to strive to provide each guest with a comfortable room and professional customer service. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very...

Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Room was very nice. Good size flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, free grab and go breakfast, pool, work out room and laundry room. Staff was friendly and would smile and greet you every time you walked in the door. The parking lot was basically full but minimal noise in the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnymack5150
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! I truly appreciate your comments regarding our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you...

Milwaukee
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Arguably the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Just don't understand other reviews that say different. We were on the 3rd floor and it must have previously been a smoking floor. Smelled like an ash tray with bad that they tried to cover up with some sort of cleaner. Spend another $30 and stay anywhere else, you'll be glad you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJS_MKE
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. The odor issues you mentioned are unacceptable and we will be taking the necessary steps to ensure this is properly addressed. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should...

Xenia, Ohio
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Stayed here one night while passing through on a family trip. Four people in 2 double beds was a bit cozy but the room was clean and quiet, until everybody staying in the hotel started waking up around 5am. No big deal, I think I was the only one who woke up. We stayed in part because it offered free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sojournwithme
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our clean and quiet rooms. We are sorry you were disappointed in our breakfast offering and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. We appreciate your feedback as we use this to continuously improve the...

Temecula, California
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We stayed here on business during a trip to West Des Moines. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a full kitchen and upon request you are provided with cooking pans , dishes and utensils. The stair way was dirty and smelly . The only reason we know this is because we had to use the stair way due...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie T
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Hi Debbie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff. I am so sorry the elevator was out of service during your visit. While I tried to get it repaired quickly, I do realize the inconvenience it caused. I will also be monitoring the stairwell...

colorado
Reviewed 21 June 2015

having a kitchen after being on the road for 10 days is a plus hy vee grocery near by so easy to pick up supplies Breakfast was Spartan coffee (NO Decaf) apples, oranges, muffin, oatmeal and granola bar I will consider returning

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seniortvlr
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchens and had a pleasant stay overall. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015

My wife and I stayed here overnight as we were going to a concert in Clive IA. We had booked this hotel through a Hotwire deal and acknowledged that we would just have to turn up and take what we were given. When we arrived, there was building work going on in the hotel which made the initial impression somewhat...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David_Cull
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies for the issues that occurred during check-in; however, I am glad to read that they were quickly resolved. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff and the great customer service they provided. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to...

Omaha, NE
Reviewed 4 April 2015

I was concerned after reading previous reviews but hotel exceeded my expectations. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Room had all hardwood floors which was different. Hotel located in quiet neighborhood but close to shopping and restaurants. As I understand hotel was recently renovated and no longer allows smoking.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sleestaker
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff. I’m also excited to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I stayed at this Hotel last year for a month and the best part I liked was its location. Its very well placed, Valley West Mall and Walgreens were at walking distance. Staff was overall fine. The only sad part which I felt was the breakfast. This should be taken care seriously and there should be some additions to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SumirSingh
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with our location and our staff during your visit. Still, I apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be useful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you again...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
1.0 km away
Valley West Inn
Valley West Inn
#19 of 20 in West Des Moines
122 reviews
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 20 in West Des Moines
510 reviews
2.9 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
2.8 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
246 reviews
2.6 km away
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
#14 of 20 in West Des Moines
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pool will be temporarily closed this summer for repairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Address: 2701 Westown Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1441 (Formerly Studio Plus Deluxe Studios)
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: $93 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Extended Stay and Expedia so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Plus Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a room on the back of the building and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rmusat, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Select a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles George93001, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“I had a room on the third floor, and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PamySu, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles LadyBug929, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Try for top floor for seeing the area.”
 of 5 bubbles johnnymack5150, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay