We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
See the most recent reviews
Showing 86: English reviews
jax
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Def no frills.must have spent the whole budget on the brick exterior.Because the interior got robbed.the inside has def seen better days.only plus is they upgraded tv's.ok for me but i wouldn't bring my girl here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLAYTANIC666
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations; however, we are still in the process of bringing upgrades to the hotel. Starting with the exterior and then moving to the interior, we have bought brand new flat screen televisions and will be revamping the guest rooms next. To ensure we touch...

Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The rooms at this Extended Stay America are larger than most. A separate living room and kitchen area define it. It could use a light remodeling and then it would be a great value. It seems to have a pool (it's snowing here) area and a minimal workout room with two of the thee pieces of equipment working.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Northofchicago
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you noticing how spacious our guest rooms are with seperate living spaces in some and in-room kitchens for all. I do apologize that not all of our fitness equipment was in working order and you did not get to experience our pool. If you have...

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I would not recommend this hotel by any means to anyone going to stay in a hotel for an extended period of time. The employees are all unhappy about there work except for a couple and the manager does not care about the guest. When I checked in to this hotel my room I was assigned was never cleaned. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crew4ae
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am meeting with the staff there to ensure concerns such as the ones you brought up to our attention are always addressed properly with the staff. Thank you again for...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is the worst place I have ever stayed at. The management here does not care about the guest. The management lets the employees do whatever they want including take on there phone when you check in. I was trying to check in and the front desk lady was more concerned about facebook and told me to wait while she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JC77098
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our location. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your travels. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am addressing these items you brought to my attention with our staff. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, please...

Erie, Colorado
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had a very nice one night stay at this facility while driving from Colorado to Ohio. We booked it using Priceline and received a great rate. The room was massive with a living room, office area, kitchen with full-sized fridge, stove, dishwasher, and two beds. This is not at the level of a Residence Inn where we typically stay,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelin59
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property in Des Moines. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you enjoyed our room layout. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Minnesota
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed here for five nights for business. It was my first time at this hotel chain. I was pleasantly surprised and very pleased with the hotel. The room was clean and very spacious! It had a separate sitting area with a fold out sleeper couch. The kitchen was great as well for breakfast and preparing my lunch for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fang0026
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you were able to discover what Extended Stay America is all about. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Janesville
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My wife and I travel for business and try to stay at an Extended Stay whenever possible when staying two or more nights. The kitchen area is great. Our room even had a dishwasher and an oven. None of the previous Extended Stay's that we stayed at had one. A great addition. The room was clean and large with plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HTHT27
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for your suggestions on what our guests are looking for when they stay with us. We will definitely escalate these to the proper channels. Also, note we are currently reviewing our channel selections and should have more updates...

Gardner, KS
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We were visiting family in Des Moines and just needed a place for the night. For the money, the Studio Plus is definitely the way to go. The entrance to the room was indoors, something we all appreciated during the snowstorm. There was plenty of room for me, my wife and 2 daughters. The full kitchen was well appointed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jefroxu
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your sharing your great review of our property in Des Moinse, Iowa. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be visiting one of our other locations. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Reviewed 30 December 2012

I travel a lot and stay at a lot of different hotels. I came across this hotel while on a major road trip from oklahoma to minnesota. This was by far the best hotel i stayed at on my trip and one of the best ive stayed at in my life. I have found that the guest service is perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelboy1983
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our property here in Des Moines, Iowa. It's always great to hear that our guests such as yourself are always made to feel like they are at home. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Morton, Illinois
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed here for one night before an early flight out of Des Moines. The lady working check-in (I arrived fairly late, around 8pm) was very sweet. She seemed genuinely interested in me and my travels. I had pre-paid for the room and she moved my check-in process along pretty smoothly. The room was mostly clean but a bit dated....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank skating102
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay. It was great to hear that our staff was so friendly to you. Yet, I do apologize for the issues you had during your stay as this is not something that typically occurs here at our hotel. I have taken your comments and reviewed them with the staff...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
1.0 km away
Valley West Inn
Valley West Inn
#20 of 22 in West Des Moines
123 reviews
6.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
179 reviews
2.6 km away
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
145 reviews
5.3 km away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
537 reviews
6.0 km away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#16 of 22 in West Des Moines
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pool will be temporarily closed this summer for repairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Address: 2701 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266 (Formerly Studio Plus Deluxe Studios)
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: $93 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Extended Stay so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Plus Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms appear to be excellent”
 of 5 bubbles U8068XTdavidr, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a room on the back of the building and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rmusat, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Select a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles George93001, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“I had a room on the third floor, and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PamySu, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles LadyBug929, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5