We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Start your review of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
 Click to rate
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well off the beaten track, but worth the effort to get there. We enjoyed excellent service and a huge tented cabin with incredible views, plus oryx taking shelter from the sun under our deck. Lots of nice touches, such as the library and cake-and-tea tent, plus the pool. He especially loved the decor; she was more excited about all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swiss-whiskers
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wolwedans occupies a very special piece of the earth. It's hard to top the sundowner location, the staff is attentive & food very good. I found that a lot of extra thought was given to guests needs as there are separate fireplaces & lounge / relaxation areas - in the lodge & at and locations set up around the reserve....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheSafariGuy1976
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Wolwedans has been on our bucket list for years, since we stayed in their self-catering former farmhouse (Family hideout) a few years ago. We knew the landscape would be breathtaking and that you visit for the experience of being in such a unique environment. Wolwedans Dunes lodge did not disappoint ito its location. But from their website (and high rates)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LydiaScholtz
Wolw123, Digital Marketing at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Lydia Wow, †hank you for your feedback. We apologize for the late response, we had some issues with accessing the notifications sent to our email. Your review is very thoughtful and we do not take offence at any of the issues you pointed out at all. In fact, we appreciate your suggestions on how we can elevate the overall...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Very nice lodge in a weird surroundings. More landscape beauty than Wildlife, wlthough if you like Oryx you must go here. The staff tries but doesn;t get to the level you would hope for. Theu offer far too little activities to spend your time here accordingly well. We went for a bushmen walk, but despite 2 beetles and 1 spider...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan P
Bellegarde, France
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Very beautiful lodge in a wonderful landscape. Selma is the perfect hostess, highly professional,attentionatel, fun to be with and all the team is great. Our guide, Mervin, and the bushman, Paulus, gave us the most interesting tours in this magnificent desert. Don't visit Namibia without staying in this exceptional lodge ! Hope to come back one day. Merry XMas and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sowhat32
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Wolwedans will remain the highlight of our 3'000 km tour in Namibia. It is located in a very remote place, at 20 km from the dust road. I fell in love with the place : the desert and its colors, the silence and the wind, the most welcoming and professional team, its exquisite food, the spacious tents and huge bathrooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTiane1415
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We stayed in the Mountain View Suite as part of our honeymoon and can only recommend Wolwedans. The “tent-style house” was of great quality, spacious and we were amazed by the open nature views and the quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful yet giving us enough privacy. The food was simply amazing and can be compared to any top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trunk12
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights and it was like in heaven. Spend more money and book the mountain view suite. It is worth every penny. Tabea the hostess, Robert (Dr. Food) the cook and Mervin the guide showed us the door to the paradise. The way to the lodge is easy to find. We recommend to do the activities as you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schmumues
Atlanta
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We moved to the Lodge after one night at the Camp. Selma, the GM was brilliant as once again was Goodly. The drive was the same with a lot of Oryx. Lunch was the same as at the Camp, very disappointing. It is impossible to get soft yolks and service was spotty when dining. Again, great tent and facilities but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank croakies
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

If you go there be aware to have enough time for arriving before dark and having enough time to enjoy the short trips that the place is offering . Almost all roads in Namibia are Dirt tracks but to go to this Lodge is even more complicated .When arriving there you will have a very friendly welcome and you will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kenda11

377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (364)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Other (200)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near NamibRand Nature Reserve
0.0 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
145 reviews
0.0 km away
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
#4 of 4 in NamibRand Nature Reserve
12 reviews
0.0 km away
Corona Guest Farm
Corona Guest Farm
#9 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 7 in Sesriem
242 reviews
0.0 km away
Soft Adventure Camp
Soft Adventure Camp
#12 of 12 in Sossusvlei
19 reviews
0.0 km away
Betta Campsite
Betta Campsite
#3 of 9 in Maltahohe
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wolwedans nestles into the dunes and is set against a backdrop of extraordinary natural beauty. Located in the heart of NamibRand Nature Reserve, our portfolio of camps provides the perfect base from which to explore vast stretches of awe-inspiring and undisturbed nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Address: NamibRand Nature Reserve, NamibRand Nature Reserve, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > NamibRand Nature Reserve
Price Range: $929 - $1,795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Wolwedans Dunes Hotel Maltahohe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wolwedans Dunes Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room next to the main lodge is too close to staff accommodation and kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles LydiaScholtz, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“May the lodges based on the right side with the wood deck access....”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisTiane1415, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Mountain View Suite ensures maximum privacy and luxury.”
 of 5 bubbles trunk12, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any one ! Just make sure you get one !”
 of 5 bubbles tys259, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All tents face in the same direction with expansive views over the dunes, valley and mountains”
 of 5 bubbles WillieOlivier, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5