We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Mequon, WI
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Just stayed here as we had a meeting at the KU Medical Center which is directly across the street so it was very convenient. The staff are certainly very nice and the room was clean though there was a giant divot in the bathroom door. For some reason I was given a handicapped room and while I'm closer to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BosoxKen
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback!

South Bend, Indiana
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

In town for the Chiefs game. Got two rooms for 4 guys and stayed two nights. Uber rides readily available with minimal wait times. Complimentary breakfast was one of the better I've had. Beds were comfy, rooms were modern and clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris h
The Villages, Florida
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We were in town for a wedding and took 3 rooms for 2 nights at this hotel. We arrived early, but check-in was no problem! Jackie on the front desk was so sweet and helpful the whole time we were there! When I first got to the room, I called down to the desk and requested extra hangers and shampoo....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear Bonnie C, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again!

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Nice place to stay. I've stayed here numerous times while visiting the hospital. I've personally never had any complaints about noise in this hotel, in fact I mentioned to the manager how quiet it was on my first visit. He told me that since a majority of the guests have business at the hospital, they won't book parties and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad L
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear Chad L, We appreciate your continued business!

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Pros: nice location off 39th on the KS side of town. Close to a great BBQ joint (Q39). Modern amenities, open parking, affordable compared to downtown hotels, good front desk service. Cons: hallway echoes into room, breakfast not great. A note for hotel management: you need to schedule more desk staff. The staff there were very helpful, but one staffer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jjansa2011
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear jjansa2011, Thank you for your feedback!

Salem, Illinois
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We made a reservation for 9-3-16 and I have my confirmation number 65447243. We came to town for a wedding. Check-in wasn't till 3. I called to see if we could check in at 2 but he said no. And that's OK. We went to the wedding and during the reception I called to let them know we would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Red2770
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear Red2770, We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive to ensure every guest has a great experience and take it very seriously when we fall short of that expectation. We hope this isolated incident does not sour your impression of all Holiday Inn Expresses.

Kansas
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this Holiday Inn Express because of its close proximity to KU Medical center. I had surgery and my husband was able to easily come back and forth to the hospital. He enjoyed being able to have a continental breakfast and cup of coffee each morning before coming to visit. He also was able to work from the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank falcon8893
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This location was easy to find, parking was a cinch, staff were friendly and helpful as well. The rooms were clean and well designed. Door closers were very powerful and unless a guest is careful, it always slams shut, but that's my only complaint.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kieran L
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here because it was very near the KU Medical Center where my husband had an appointment. (They also gave a discount for staying there and going to the Medical Center). The room was very nice and the location was perfect for us. The exterior of the building is very cool. There are several restaurants in buildings near by....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

What a difference location makes. Noisy neighbors above and beside my room. 7/11 right outside my window with customers pulling up all hours of the night music blaring loud conversations absolutely terrible. Night manager of no help would never ever stay here again. 7-Eleven is closing July 27, 2016 so at least that nuisance will be gone but they have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmetcalf582
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear jmetcalf582, We truly apologize that you were unable to relax due to exterior noise during your recent stay. We try to control exterior noise to the best of our ability and we hope this does not sour your impression of all Holiday Inn Express hotel.

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
1.5 km away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#19 of 113 in Kansas City
547 reviews
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
3.0 km away
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
6.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
#6 of 20 in Kansas City
488 reviews
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 113 in Kansas City
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Property Located acroos from KU Medical Center. We have 2 Meeting rooms with 1500 sq ft of meeting space. Located close to Westport and Country Club Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center

Address: 3932 Rainbow Blvd, Kansas City, KS 66103-2961
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range: $185 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“it would appear, the parking lot facing rooms are buffered from noise”
  • room 307
  • room 307
  • room 307
  • room 307
  • room 307
  • room 307
  • room 307
 of 5 bubbles view-with-a-room, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking parking at back will be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Dr_C_and_E, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Find a room with good beds”
 of 5 bubbles nowincolorado, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Pick a room in the back. Not on Rainbow Blvd.”
 of 5 bubbles KennaW_13, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the west side due to the number of ambulances and amount of street traffic to and from the hospital on the east.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelGirl1177, 15 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay