We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

American Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
American Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for American Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
White, Georgia
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

After calling 30+ other hotels that were all booked I reluctantly stayed here. Upon walking into the room it was musty and wet. Floors were nasty. Comforters were riddled with holes and filth. Pillow had mold on it. TV was tiny. Air hardly worked. No shampoo in the room. Lobby smelled like curry and throw up. Won't stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank southerntrucker
Reviewed 3 April 2015

We stayed couple of niggt check in later on toilet over flowed so moved to a new room was good overall breakfast was good beds were.ok didn't have a alarm clock or coffee maker and wasn't enough towels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reed1974
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Very nice. A little hard getting into bathroom because of Unleveled floor when entering with wheelchair. Nice kitchen, stove to cook and eat. Large bathroom. Nice price. Easy access. Outdoor pool. Breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deeyve
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Great staff that will try to help you with any of not all problems and very friendly, will always stay at the American inn they are like family the continental breakfast is awesome. It really helps when you get up early for work and are hungry

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Googleshell78
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Perfect stay. simple check in and we stayed 4 days and it was very uneventful just the way a hotel should be. I would definitely recommend it if you are traveling to Kansas City and you would like easy access to the interstate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

Carol the sale lady. and the owner helped me out rooms are little outdated but clean sheets smells like bleach a little tells you they are clean. Over all it was great stay been too alot of motels travel for work i would recommend for a good rate and breakfast hot toast biscuits and gravy and waffles not bad didnt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rob7624
Reviewed 1 January 2015 via mobile

The room is average and yes could use updates but I've stayed 4 days so far and the front staff was very helpful and i have too say the sales lady carol was wonderful she helped me and wife out might be outdated but carol in sales made it very pleasant and she went out of her way too make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Misty L
Colby, Kansas
Reviewed 6 October 2014

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!! This is a nasty, terrible hotel! When we arrived at the room, there was a bunch of people overhauling a car in the parking lot with junk everywhere! They were smoking pot!! Once locked in our room, it didn't get better! Room was dirty, you could still smell pot, the lampshades were broke, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ashley K
Reviewed 20 September 2014 via mobile

This motel is Ok. The first thing i noticed was the terrible musty smell then i saw a bottle opener attached to the sink. Hmmm. It looks like it was a nice motel in the 80s but they need to update things. We didn't have a fitted sheet on our beds but they were comfy. The water pressure on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megandakota
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is absolutely disgusting. Room was very dirty, the sink faucet was so rusted we used bottled water to brush our teeth, the bathroom light didn't work so had to take a shower in the dark, which I hesitately did. The description on the Internet said microwave and fridge in every room, LIE. Small 20 inch tv. As we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank staceycl
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear Staceycl, I would like to offer my apology to you for an obvious horrible stay! I wish you would have contacted the front desk to report the numerous issues you have talked about! We would have moved you immediately. It sounds like the room you were given was a mistake and had been pulled for service but yet was...

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Kansas City
Comfort Inn Kansas City
#12 of 20 in Kansas City
96 reviews
6.1 km away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
6.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
6.2 km away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The American Inn Motel in Kansas City, Kansas is located only minutes from the Kansas International Speedway, Downtown Kansas City, the Chiefs/Royals Stadium, Cabella's, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, and the Woodlands Race Track. Amenities include: free local calls and morning coffee; outdoor pool and guest laundry; 73 cable channels; and large truck and RV parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about American Inn

Address: 7949 Splitlog Ave, I-70 and 78th Street Exit 414, Kansas City, KS 66112-2700
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range: $81 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your American Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from American Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles michelleafay, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in this hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 554ashleyk, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
“they have no restaurant so hard to judge vending is plentifull though”
 of 5 bubbles SteveB773, 25 May 2012 | Read review
“do not stay here. do not bring a black light.”
 of 5 bubbles 523AndyG, 8 Feb 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay