We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Buckhorn Lake State Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Buckhorn Lake State Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Buckhorn Lake State Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

This lodge is absolutely beautiful a family member had a poontoon boat we all were going out in and enjoying our week visit the food was nice a lil standard fare and a lil pricey for the region lake was beautiful the one thing that will keep us from returning is the park manager was drunk cussing trying to get...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Tfarr1967
Columbia, Kentucky
Reviewed 10 August 2015

went to Buckhorn this past weekend for family reunion and also to get married ,at the lodge, as always everything was great ,clean cabin and rooms and the staff as always was very nice, and very helpful with the wedding and all ,my family the Childers family and the Johnson Bowling family have been coming here for years and is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank weaver7448
Greta G, Manager at Buckhorn Lake State Resort, responded to this review

Hello Weaver, I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our Park. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that the Childers and Johnson Families choose Buckhorn Lake State...

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 August 2015

My family has been staying her for reunions every year for many years (30+). The quality has gone down in many ways in the last several years. We just returned from the reunion this weekend, and there were many problems with reservations. When we checked in, we were told that they were expecting the people for one of our reserved...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leehm178
Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Buckhorn is such a hidden treasure (up in the KY mountains)! Our extended family holds a reunion there each summer, and we love to join whenever we can! It's completely relaxing and charming. It may be a bit rustic, but there are beautiful views, great food, comfy rooms and plenty of fun things for kids to do. We love it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristy S
Greta G, Manager at Buckhorn Lake State Resort, responded to this review

Hello Kristy I am so honored that you choose Buckhorn Lake State Resort Park for your family reunion. And we’re really grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming you...

Richmond, Kentucky
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Clean room, well maintained facilities, friendly staff, free continental breakfast + yummy lodge food, a gorgeous view and all at a very affordable price! --- what more could you ask for? I would recommend Buckhorn Lake State Resort to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kentuckytraveler15
Gujranwala, Pakistan
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Buckhorn Lake State Resort is excellent place for nature lovers. Rooms are fine and comfortable with excellent view of Lake and mountains. Hotel has beautiful swimming pool. Morning View from window of room is very cool.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kausar W
Greta G, Manager at Buckhorn Lake State Resort, responded to this review

I am so honored that you and your family choose Buckhorn Lake State Resort Park while you were in Buckhorn. And we’re really grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to...

Reviewed 1 July 2015

We stayed with a group of 20 people. The rooms were beautiful and the pool area was great. The next day we met with my class in their lecture room for discussions and reflections, and their hospitality was obvious. Check the Bollingr pride sign, and the huge elk. The view of the mountains, water, and the moon, from our rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Khawla N
Greta G, Manager at Buckhorn Lake State Resort, responded to this review

I am so honored that you and your school choose Buckhorn Lake State Resort Park while you were in Buckhorn. And we’re really grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to...

Berea, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 July 2015

The Buckhorn Lake State Resort is a hidden treasure in Eastern Kentucky! I spent a night at the resort and the view from the balcony was simply amazing. There was the lake sitting in the middle of mountains on both sides. The workers were friendly and very helpful. Unfortunately, the internet service is not the best, so that was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harry T
Greta G, Manager at Buckhorn Lake State Resort, responded to this review

Hello Harry, I am so honored that you choose Buckhorn Lake State Resort Park while you were in Buckhorn. And we’re really grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming...

Berea, Kentucky
Reviewed 30 June 2015

The buckhorn lake resort was incredibly beautiful, and man do i want to go back. While some were disappointed with the nonapparent wifi, i was happy to take a break from the fast paced societal pressures and relax in a rural setting. the rooms were nice, and the service was great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrysonMcCarthey
Berea, Kentucky
Reviewed 28 June 2015

The view from the room was absolutely gorgeous; the placement of the resort could not be better, and the staff were incredibly hospitable and friendly. The quality of the actual rooms though, I would say was not great. The resort advertises free wifi, but you actually have to pay for it, and there's a 500MB limit. For those of you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guinevere B
Greta G, Manager at Buckhorn Lake State Resort, responded to this review

Dear guinevere, I'm so hornor that you choose Buckhorn Lake State Resort Park while you were visiting Buckhorn KY. Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay. KY Department of Parks recently completed an upgrade to our interntet system to be able to porvide a wide coverage area across the park. however, this upgrade has been faced...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckhorn
19.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Hazard
18.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Hazard
36 reviews
34.9 km away
Manchester Heritage Inn
Manchester Heritage Inn
#1 of 1 in Manchester
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
American Elite Inn Hazard
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Buckhorn Lake State Resort is surrounded by rolling, tree-covered hills, the lodge overlooks the beautiful 1,200-acre lake. The lodge has 36 rooms offering full amenities as well as two 2-bedroom cottages and two 3-bedroom cottages. Cottage check out by 10:00am, local time.Open year-round. Rooms are available by late afternoon. Lodge room check-out by 11:00am, local time. A limited number of lodge rooms will be available for pets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buckhorn Lake State Resort

Address: 4441 KY Highway 1833, Buckhorn, KY 41721
Region: United States > Kentucky > Buckhorn
Price Range: $85 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buckhorn Lake State Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Buckhorn Lake State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckhorn Lake State Hotel Buckhorn
Buckhorn Lake State Resort Kentucky
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buckhorn Lake State Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Covington, Kentucky
Louisville, Kentucky
9 months ago
Dayton, Ohio

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Buckhorn Lake State Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All lodge rooms face the lake!”
Debpeyton, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A good "getaway" from technology.”
KentuckyHighlander, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I like the upper floor”
weaver7448, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Don't expect to connect to the internet!”
guinevereb2015, 28 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All rooms have a balcony and lake view.”
64GeraldineP, 3 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5