We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capital Plaza Hotel

PricelineUS$91*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$99*
US$91*
Great Deal
US$99*
US$99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Capital Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 176: English reviews
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We were so upset with this hotel as we had seen it on Hotel Impossible. our room was clean but really dated. our bedding was very uncomfortable. When we were in the hallways by the meeting room there was a ramp outside the door with a rug thrown over the rail and a wood plank. lamp sitting on the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We do know that our room furniture is dated and that is why we are making changes as we speak. The reason you saw the ramp by the meeting rooms is because that is how we are bringing new furniture in the building. It is temporary and will go away upon...

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Front desk staff was great. Very helpful and patient. Bed was comfortable. Towels were poor quality and very small. Food at breakfast ordinary. Had a conference rate so was not too bad, but had I paid more this would have been VERY dissatisfying. Location is good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte F
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were not happy with your towels. We buy do purchase domestic linen and it is usually of the highest quality. I will review your comments with our housekeeping manager and inspect our recent linen purchases. Breakfast is complimentary and we do try to serve a variety on...

Reviewed 2 September 2016

We were here for a wedding in the Buffalo Trace Distillery and this was very convenient. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I love the old-fashioned feel of the hotel. The lobby was spacious with lots of chairs and a big, dramatic fountain. The room was great - very large, comfortable bed with modern-style bedding (light comforter with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M2481LOpamelab
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the hotel. I am sorry we didn't have grits on the buffet for you, but please know that we do serve it. We alternate between oatmeal and grits and it must have been oatmeal day. We do hope to...

New York
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Yes, I could review this hotel with some of the negatives which others have sited but having just stayed there this weekend for my daughters wedding, they came through over and over in accommodating our changing needs and were amazing. Every change I needed made met with 'let's see what we can do' and they did. I do understand that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThrutheSky
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I'm very happy to hear that you were pleased with our service. I will share your wonderful comments with the staff. Hope you visit us again any time your travels bring you to Frankfort.

Reviewed 24 August 2016

I chose the Capital Plaza Hotel because I was attending an event at the adjacent Frankfort Convention Center. I was disappointed when I arrived because the lobby and rooms looked aged and worn out. I had visited this hotel many times in the 1990's when it was a grand hotel and it was sad to see it having gone into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you did not have a positive experience. I am sorry you could not utilize the pool. However, I can not recall a time our pool was closed for any extended amount of time other than to adjust chemicals as we have not had any pool issues. It is...

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel was built in the 80s and the rooms show its age. Despite the outdated look, the room was comfortable and the bathroom vanity was huge! It was raining the day of our stay so the garage parking was a plus. The breakfast buffet was limited but good and served in the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuralRoadRunners
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay! I am glad you found our rooms comfortable and found the covered parking so convenient. We are continuously making improvements and hope you will stay with us again very soon!

travelpro123
Reviewed 12 August 2016

What must have been a proud symbol for downtown renewal is now an eyesore: The hotel and surrounding fountain plaza is underused, the neighboring (former) government office tower by Edward D. Stone Architects of NYC is empty, people talk of tearing it down. The hotel is a sad example of the 1960's, attractive only to aficionados of early (and bad)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelpr0123
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations or that you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel is independently owned and is not in any danger of being torn down. The tower you speak of, is also not empty and there are viable shops and businesses on the plaza as well. In speaking for the hotel, we...

Trussville, Alabama
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This hotel was booked online and we showed up to check in within about 10 minutes. The GREAT customer service began immediately!! Our vehicle was too tall to fit into the hotel's covered parking garage so we were allowed to park on the street directly in front of the hotel. Check in was quick and easy. We had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonne070216
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am always delighted to hear that the staff provided outstanding service! I am sharing your comments with them. I do hope you will keep us in mind next year or any time your travels bring you to the bluegrass.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Filthy carpets; smells like cigarette smoke throughout the building; fabric of chairs, decorative pillow for the bead and bead covering all had stains; furniture had water damage. Had to leave and drive all the way to Lexington, where I normally stay, at 2:30 a.m. The photo show the carpet in the hallway on the floor where the rooms are. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuxuriousOnABudget
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. I apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations. We have been making many updates and improvements over the past few years and we continue to do so. The hallway carpet you mention is scheduled to be replaced in the next few weeks and we will have new room furniture in place by the end...

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Large hotel in the city centre. Impressive foyer and entrance. We have stayed here for the past 5 years on our way through Kentucky and have not been disappointed . The hotel is comfortable and spacious. Plenty of seating in public areas inside and out. The bedroom is large and comfortable. There are a good range of toiletries and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feed back on your recent stay. I am always happy to hear great comments about the staff and the effort they put forth. I am also glad you noticed some of the changes we have made. I will do some checking on the reservation issue you mentioned. I am not aware of any problems with bookings,...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
534 reviews
6.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankfort
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#4 of 10 in Frankfort
75 reviews
20.1 km away
Best Western Lawrenceburg Inn
Best Western Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
244 reviews
29.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Wilkinson Blvd, Frankfort, KY 40601-1849 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Price Range: $147 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfort
Frankfort Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Shelbyville, Kentucky
over a year ago
Sedalia, Missouri
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had end of the hall rooms for our youthful crowd. Photos are limited because of privacy concerns for young folks.”
CoppedgeFarms, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother paying extra for the refrigerator, it may not work and can't be fixed quickly.”
kathrync678, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are noisier. Your choice.”
CharlotteF341, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
travelpr0123, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Easy to access directly from Hwy 127”
yvonne070216, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$91* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$99
TripAdvisorUS$99
TravelocityUS$99
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates