The Hotel Francis

The Hotel Francis

7059 US Highway 61 North at LA-10, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-4522
FREE SOUTHERN SUPPER, every Monday-Thursday evening from 5pm-7pm
Traveller (159)
MH HotelFrancis SaintFrancisville LA Guestroom Bathroom
Room & Suite (91)
MH HotelFrancis SaintFrancisville LA Property BreakfastArea
Dining (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

2.5
#3 of 3 hotels in Saint Francisville
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
In addition to our Free Complimentary HOT Breakfast, our guests can now enjoy a complimentary Free Supper, served Monday-Thursday from 5p-7p. Covid Free Exterior Property! Taking Safety Measures
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Desk
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

7059 US Highway 61 North at LA-10, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-4522
264Reviews2Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 55
  • 39
  • 43
  • 87
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jeremy_walker1 wrote a review Sep 2020
Kinder, Louisiana26 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros: decent pool for lower end hotel, night shift front desk, meals

Cons: floor wet from AC, smelled like mildew/wet shoes, locked out of room for 2 hours at 9pm with 2 small kids and dog was inside due to lock malfunction. Morning front desk was very rude. Ask to see manger (I’m a very patient person and never raised my voice, even after all this and not knowing if I had a home left from Hurricane laura)
Asked for a discount, return Atleast $25 pet fee, something for the troubles the night before.
Take in mind, That I assisted in fixing the lock, also helped maintenance carry 2 AC units up a flight a stairs.
I spend about 25-30 nights a year in St francisville, never again here.

Still waiting on the managers call
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica A wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a family weekend trip because it is pet friendly. The first room was an issue, as the ac/heater did not work. However, they promptly got us into another room. The front desk staff was pleasant enough and welcoming.
We did not take advantage of most of the offerings (e.g., never got up in time for breakfast, nor did we make it to the evening supper, not pool season) but the place was quiet and clean. Room furnishings are a bit dated (tv, etc.) but we don't really care about that.
The location is actually quite nice, as it is set back from the road, surrounded by a large pond and right down the highway from a good supermarket and a couple of (what appear to be) popular restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hotel Francis
Responded Jan 18, 2024
Dear Jessica, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and affordable. We also appreciate your understanding regarding the minor issue you faced with your initial room. It's great to know that our location was convenient for your family's weekend trip. Your feedback is greatly valued, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for an even more enjoyable stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colby G wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was priced well, had very nice continental breakfast, overlooked a pond with wildlife. The hotel overall seemed dated and in need of updating. The parking lot is well lit and feels safe but is full of bumps and potholes and in desperate need of repair.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hotel Francis
Responded Jun 1, 2022
Dear Colby, Thank you so much for your detailed review! We are happy to hear that you found many things to love about our property and that you found your experience so well-priced. At the same time, we appreciate your feedback as to where we can look to make improvements. We certainly hope that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will consider returning to stay with us again, in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adventureswithdogs wrote a review Jul 2023
St. Augustine, Florida26 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
SO DISAPPOINTED in this place!!
Front desk staff was friendly. They pretty much wished me luck trying to get ahold of the manager when i left.
They charged $25 pet fee per dog for a room that wasn't even cleaned. then refused to refund my pet fees. I spent $125.34 plus $50 in pet fees when this stay was worth about $50... because one positive, the roof didn't leak and I did not SEE any bugs.
Management would not respond to phone calls or email.
The floor was so dirty when i came out of the shower and walked the 4 feet to the bed my feet were filthy. I had to wash again and lay towels on the floor just to get dressed and wear shoes in the room.
One of my dogs discovered dog food kibble under the vanity. Luckily she is picky and just pointed it out to me.
the lighting in the room was so poor I had to use a flashlight to take pictures and find things away from the lamps. Maybe they do this purposely so guests can't see all the dirt.
The phone in the room doesn't work. When i called the front desk to ask a question she said some phones in the rooms don't work. (but they leave them in there - makes no sense).
The outlets were questionable, loose and 1 had brown on it.
The hairdryer plug was falling apart with wires exposed.
The microwave was cracked inside with peeling cover.
The TV had horrible reception with "snowy" screens and only a few channels.
The furniture is old and very worn out. not antique, just old. The lamp shade had cracks.
The bathroom had cracks in everything, tub seal was worn off (maybe that explains the moldy smell) no tub mat to keep from slipping.
I was glad I had dogs with me because it did not feel too safe outside at night. The parking lot is really run down, bumpy to drive and tripping hazards and grass unkept for walking. Lighting was iffy in areas.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hotel Francis
Responded Aug 1, 2023
It's unfortunate to hear that the upkeep of our accommodations failed to impress you, and we understand your frustration. Our team is always looking for ways to improve, so we will be sure to keep your comments in mind as we continue to make changes. Should you wish to discuss this further, we encourage you to reach out to us once more so that we may better assist you. I have not received any messages or phone calls regarding this stay. Thank you, and we hope you will consider giving us another chance soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caitlin C wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Avoid this place. They are completely inflexible and wouldn't cancel and are charging me for three full nights when my hurricane evacuation plans changed. I spent two days of my life in contact with both the hotel, it's manager, and hotels.com to no avail. The manager and whoever was at the desk and answered the phone when I first called the hotel to cancel were awful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Theresa Guillory, General Manager at The Hotel Francis
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Caitlin Cooper, I attempted to reach you, as I stated, and did not receive an answer. Again, your reservation was made and paid for through a third party! The hotel could not refund what we did not receive, your cancellation had to be done through the third party you booked through
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Krlmwd wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Charged my friend $250 extra. Tried to say it was because she smoked in the room. She did not. Then they claimed it was a disinfectant fee for leaving a dog bowl in the room after the smoking accusation was refuted. We used to enjoy this place. It's quiet and peaceful. A great spot to swim and fish. The food was always good too. But after this ordeal we won't be giving this hotel the satisfaction of our patronage ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Theresa Guillory, General Manager at The Hotel Francis
Responded Jan 11, 2021
May I please request a few more facts so that I may look into the situation? Can you please provide the name of the guest that stayed, room # they stayed in, and date of stay? I would really appreciate an opportunity to speak with someone about this stay, can someone please give me a call at your earliest convenience?
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Connector18714953521 wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst place ever to stay !!! $190 a night to sleep with spiders.Reported to the front desk@1:15pm Saturday 10/15/22 .Came back to our room at 10:37 pm 10/15/22.Spiderwebs were only cleaned from two places not to mention I wrote a list of the places we saw the spiderwebs.That shows me that the staff does not care about their guests!!! WEBSITE PICTURES ARE A LIE!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hotel Francis
Responded Oct 18, 2022
All comments are welcome, and we value your constructive input. We strive to provide our guests with truly helpful and responsive service for all guest requests, and we are sorry to hear about your experience regarding the spiderwebs. We will review this matter with our team. Thank you, and we wish you happier travels ahead.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy H wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Only left one as can't leave zero. Terrible service from reception, horrible rooms, door handle broken, bathroom disgusting, room not clean. Charged me $50 per day extra to keep our dogs here, they should have paid us to stay. Incredibly run down and if we weren't forced to stay here because of hurricane Laura I would have turned round and camped in my car. We had to buy blankets to put on top of bed as no way would I have slept on the bedding. Electrics are a death trap. Holes in carpet, stains on walls. Despite covid they still having buffet breakfast and dinner. Missing iron, rust on metal. Most of the furniture is damaged. Drive carefully as you could damage your car on drive way or car park. Desperately needs attention to every area or just demolished. Staff don't care but probably paid badly and not trained. Some had masks most wore them in correctly or not at all. Despite them knowing our circumstances of being displaced by a hurricane they did nothing to accommodate or help us by getting our room ready earlier than 3pm. Said they needed 30 mins to get room ready but it hadn't been cleaned for months.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Theresa Guillory, General Manager at The Hotel Francis
Responded Sep 2, 2020
Dear anonymous, Our property, unlike many today, still understand that there are people that travel with their animals and still individuals that smoke, so YES, we do allow guests to bring in their pets and charge a pet fee. Hurricane Laura was a very damaging and tragic storm, so we here at The Hotel Francis tried to ensure that the guests we have/had that were here and having to leave their homes were accommodated as best we could, especially by still offering COMPLIMENTARY HOT BREAKFAST AND SUPPER. I would really like to speak with you in regards to your experience here, as the Wednesday Laura hit, and Thursday after, we had NO complaints from anyone, and had these issues been brought to our attention, they would have MOST definitely been corrected. I would like to get an understanding of what room you were assigned to, so that my staff and I can address any issues presented. Look forward to speaking with you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracie J wrote a review May 19
Jackson, Louisiana3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It seems each time I go, it gets better and better! Cassandra Delaney is the best Manager for this property. Including the owners, Casey that worked on May 16, I had never met, was also a sweetheart. Both, Cassandra and Casey made sure my check in was quick, offered extra towels and pillows. Cassandra makes sure all the guests are comfortable. We were at the pool, and she comes inside pool area making sure there's no dangers, trash, and guests have their pool bands.
My room was comfortable, clean, right by the pool. Breakfast again was hot and fresh. I feel special when we come now. Thanks Cassandra and staff. Also, The owners for making this huge change.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It only takes one time, and you will definitely return!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hotel Francis
Responded yesterday
Dear Tracie, We're thrilled to hear that each of your visits keeps getting better. Cassandra Delaney and Casey are indeed exceptional, and we're delighted they made your stay comfortable and enjoyable. It's great that the check-in process was smooth and that you appreciated the extra towels and pillows. We're also glad you found your room comfortable and clean and enjoyed the hot and fresh breakfast. Your kind words about our staff and the improvements we've made mean a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great weekend at The Hotel Francis.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curious771689 wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I give this place a negative zero! I would never return to this place nor would I refer anyone to it. I wasn’t even in the room a night better yet two hours max before being bit by a bed bugs. I immediately took all my things out the room and shook them off and loaded them into my car. Called the front dress and alerted her of my situation. I get to the front desk the girl is sweet and informative. She offered me another room, why in the hell would I want it !! I definitely Declined.She explained by it being a weekend and so late only a manger could authorize a refund and I would have to wait until Monday for a manager. I was hurt but what could I have done .Monday came I call Anita the manager answered the phone and I explained to her what happened and all she could say is her maintenance and house keeping didn’t see anything. So I mentioned I have pictures of the bug and my arm of the bites. Anita said she will look into it further and took my name and number to call me back. She did not call me back! I called back to speak with her and the sweet girl answered the phone and tried to connect me to Anita the manger who picked up and hung up in my face. So unprofessional.Guess what still no call back are concern for my health are wellness. Please stay away from this place!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Theresa Guillory, General Manager at The Hotel Francis
Responded Mar 16, 2021
Reviewer, Thank you for your review! Would you please give me a call at your earliest convenience, I would like to get an understanding of the situation you encountered. I look forward to hearing from you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaye R. asked a question Jun 2019
Mountain Home, Arkansas27 contributions1 helpful vote
Why would you continue putting guests in a motel that has been infested with bed bugs since 2015?
Answer from St Francisville GM
Saint Francisville, Louisiana18 contributions
Dear Guest, I have been employed with this property since January of 2019, to date I have not had ONE single case of bed bugs at the property. If you would like to discuss further please feel free to contact me anytime
Kaye R. asked a question Jun 2019
Mountain Home, Arkansas27 contributions1 helpful vote
Why would you continue putting guests in a motel that has been infested with bed bugs since 2015?
Answer from kbook90
Baton Rouge, Louisiana3 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel is in the perfect spot for business. I would not recommend anyone to stay here. Even when I stayed I had them to search the room for bed bugs, but of course none was found. My kids were getting ate up by something and they would let me check out to go anywhere else because they would not give me a refund.
Tracie J wrote a tip May 19
Jackson, Louisiana3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It only takes one time, and you will definitely return!!!"
Read full review
Julie M wrote a tip May 14
Grand Cane, United States3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to check the A/C when you get in the room! Also, don’t leave any food sitting out. 😝"
Read full review
David C wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t use this hotel. Better options in the area. "
Read full review
Mitzi S wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book a room here."
Read full review
MiLann G wrote a tip Oct 2023
Krebs, Oklahoma2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the place! If your coming for prison rodeo and the best western is full…. Drive from another town not this motel!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint Francisville area.
PRICE RANGE
C$105 - C$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn saint francisville, best western saint francisville, saint francisville quality inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaSaint Francisville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Hotel Francis - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hotel Francis
Which popular attractions are close to The Hotel Francis?
Nearby attractions include Rosedown Plantation State Historic Site (0.7 km), West Feliciana Historical Society Museum (1.0 km), and Sage Hill Gifts (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hotel Francis?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Hotel Francis?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at The Hotel Francis?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hotel Francis?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hotel Francis?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Francis Southern Table and Bar, Magnolia Cafe, and Cafe Petra Greek & Lebanese Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hotel Francis?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Hotel Francis located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Saint Francisville.
Are pets allowed at The Hotel Francis?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Hotel Francis offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hotel Francis?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Myrtles Plantation (2.2 km), Rosedown Plantation State Historic Site (0.7 km), and Oakley Plantation (6.7 km).
All Saint Francisville HotelsSaint Francisville Hotel DealsHotels near The Hotel Francis
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars