We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Charles Inn

Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (96)
Dining (1)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Come grow with us! Under new management! Enjoy a unique lodging experience in the heart of downtown Bangor. Walk to area restaurants, pubs, museums, and shopping. Large attractive rooms with cable TV, clock radios, irons, hairdryers, and free deluxe continental breakfast. View the historic city from our fourth floor conference room. Just 15 minutes to airport and major shopping malls. Less than an one hour drive to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Improving daily to serve our guests and the local community even better.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Electric Vehicle Charging Station
Golf Course
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
92Great for walkers
Grade: 92 out of 100
40Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
15Attractionswithin 0.5 km
216Reviews
169Photos
5Q+A
31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 66
  • 44
  • 27
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kristen, the concierge at front desk was friendly and above and beyond accompanying. She really made our trip special. Highly recommend! The rooms are very unique, ours had an old safe that’s been turned into a library. It has an old antique feel with modern comfortable beds.
Read more
Response from Leeanne H, Manager at The Charles Inn
Responded Dec. 14, 2018
Hello! Thank you so much for leaving a review of our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we loved hosting you! We hope to see you back in Bangor in the future. Enjoy your holiday season! - Kristin Assistant Manager
Read more
Good: Manager friendly and helpful. Cleaning people were nice. Prompt response to request for new towels. Great location. Walkable to area restaurants. Nice lobby area and access to cafe through lobby. Bad: Mattress very soft and with divot in the middle. Filthy worn out carpet
Read more
Response from Leeanne H, Manager at The Charles Inn
Responded Dec. 14, 2018
Hi Pamela, I want to genuinely thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I sincerely apologize for you not thoroughly enjoying your experience. I am also glad to hear some of the positive things you experienced too! Please reach out to us directly at the hotel at 207-992-2820 to see if there is anything at all that we could do to improve your past experience! We do read over each review and discuss what has been said and try our best to improve where we can to ensure a better stay for all of our guests. You taking the time to list out your experience here is very helpful to us therefore very appreciated! It only helps us grow as a business. I hope you have a happy holiday season and if you're back in Bangor we hope for the chance to give you a better stay! - Kristin Assistant Manager
Read more
There are some serious pros and cons to consider with this place. We enjoyed our stay here. Check in and out was a breeze. Bangor wasn't super busy when we checked in, and it was a weekend, so we were able to secure street parking overnight. It may have been a bit more of a
Read more
Response from Leeanne H, Manager at The Charles Inn
Responded Dec. 14, 2018
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review of our hotel! All feedback is greatly appreciate so we can improve as a business. As for the East Coast Ghost Trackers room I am sorry you did not enjoy it! The best part about our hotel is that all of our rooms are themed differently as everyone has different likes. If you come through Bangor again I would love to show you around to our other renovated rooms and see which one you like best! Thank you again for your review and happy holidays! - Kristin Assistant Manager
Read more
Great location right in the downtown centre. That makes it a bit noisy through the night especially out the back. 4am street cleaning, trains sounding off at 5am and we w unfortunately timed our visit with roadworks from 7am, but we were awake by then anyway. Loads of character
Read more
Response from Leeanne H, Owner at The Charles Inn
Responded Oct. 15, 2018
Hi Douglas, This was a fantastic review! Not only do we appreciate what you had to say, and the way you said it. But we also greatly appreciate the fact that you did take the time out of your day to explain exactly how your time here with us went. It's very important for the this Inns future that our guests give us as much advice as they'd like and really explain how their stay with us turned out for them. Our goal is any other Inns goal i suppose, and that's to meet everyone's needs. We want our guests to leave here excited for their next return. Not only to enjoy the Inn but also the employees that maintain it. I am sorry about all of the different noises that had gone on around us. It just happens to be one of the things about the location that's not very enjoyable. If that noise impacts your stay though we do have quieter rooms that we could put you in. All of the rooms are very different and it makes it perfect because everyone likes different things. We have a little something for everyone! We do thank you for coming and joining our family. We also hope that you'll come back in the near future and give us another try. If you book with us directly over the phone i will give you a generous rate :) I look forward to seeing you guys again and have a wonderful evening. -Sandy D.- Manager.
Read more
We spent two nights here, on our way on a driving trip and back from Cape Breton. We had a small room on the way there, which was comfortable but basic. On the way back, Sandy kindly upgraded us to the beautiful room with the green four-poster and the old safe, and also reduced
Read more
Response from Leeanne H, Owner at The Charles Inn
Responded Oct. 13, 2018
Dear Foobie, Thank you so much for such an awesome review! I try to do what i can to make our guests as happy as possible and i knew you guy's were just going to love the switch. One of the things that i love about working here is the many different people i get to meet, From all over the world and all walks of life. It makes it even better when i develop a friendly relationship. It was so great having you guy's be apart of our family even if it just was for a few nights. If you ever find yourself back in the area i hope you'll come back! We have even more new rooms that were just finished that i think you guys will enjoy greatly :) Thank you again. -Sandy D.- Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementThe Charles Inn
Sound Proofing on windows Minimal traffic noise
Photo provided by managementThe Charles Inn
Guest room
It does have fire sprinklers. This is a good thing as this building is wood frame.
Pull chain on the exhaust fan. I works but I've never seen this setup.
Missing drain stopper
PreviousNext
12345620
do you have the address for free parking Thanks
It's pickering square off broad street
0 votes
Show all answers
what about parking and do you have elevators
Yes there's an elevator. We found a spot to park down the street. They also have parking nearby for a charge.
1 vote
Show all answers
Yes we did have a tv in the room
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes it is. We walked to the Pavillion for a concert and is only maybe 10-15 minute walk...uphill. Not a hard walk though.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Talk to the staff, maybe they can help choosing a room."
"maybe try a room on the front or back of the hotel"
"Find another place to stay. See the review."
"Ask if you have a window"
"Ask for a room overlooking the downtown square."
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the charles hotel bangorcharles hotel bangor
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Phenix Inn
LOCATION
United StatesMaineBangor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing