We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

River View Resort

Expedia.comUS$129*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
River View Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 63: English reviews
Start your review of River View Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice size and very close to Ski area. Maybe I was expecting more by the "Resort" title? My room had a strange odor, kinda a musty smell. Every room had squeaky floors. Beds were comfortable and other then odor, the room seem clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jgvette
Marlborough, Massachusetts
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We rented a 2- bedroom suite. The living room/kitchen area is spacious and comfortable with a couch and 2 chairs. The kitchen table sits 6, and there is a full kitchen. The view from the back deck is great - mountains and a glimpse of the Androscoggin river. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Relaxing place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ivanwriter
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review

Thanks. Come on back!

Maine, United States
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We have stayed a number of times at the River View resort and the people there are really top customer service. They are very friendly and make us feel comfortable with our stay. If you are there to ski, hike or site see it is centrally located. The resort has been around a long time and could use some up...

Review collected in partnership with Veterans Holidays
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith P
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoy your stays and you'll be happy to know that we have instituted a 5 year plan to update the entire resort including all rooms to original quality standards. So keep on coming back. We're redoing carpets, furniture, painting rooms, updating decks, new flat screens etc. and we just upgraded to fiber optic networking!

Westwood, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

After reading the reviews I expected the place to be terrible. On the contrary, we were pleasantly surprised. First, we were on the second floor so had no overhead noise to deal with. There was an occasional rumbling as someone with a suitcase rolled by our door. The unit had decent furniture, couch and carpet looked new. Tub unit also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathywwma
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review

We're so happy you had a good stay and sorry about the rumble, but this year we are updating that front deck for that very reason!

Glenview
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The exterior of this hotel has been updated, so from the exterior it looked fine; not so on the interior. The rooms had not been updated for a very long time; even the mattresses feel as if they are original. In the bathroom, they do not even provide wrapped paper cups; they simply have a stack of unwrapped tiny dixie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlenviewTraveler
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review

We're always sad when someone doesn't have a pleasant stay. During periods like ski season and leaf peeping season (Late September to mid-October) we do tend to fill up and there can be a few noise issues when people are unloading etc, but if we are told about them we do explain to the noise makers that they need to...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Bethel for a week. Beautiful small Maine mountain town. We were between seasons so it was very quiet, although all stores and conveniences were open, especially "Bethel Bait, Tackle and More". That store sold the best , freshest seafood in town and was the friendliest of all the friendly stores in town. River View resort is really a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t c
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review

Thank you. One of the things most people mention is our friendly staff. Also please continue coming up as we have just initiated a 5 year plan to update the resort to its original standards in every room.

Deming
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Where to begin? First impression: YUCK! Old building in great need of repair; moldy / mildewed outdoor furniture; living room furniture should have been replaced a long time ago; 1960s wooden table with bench seats for dining; minimal housewares - Corningware plates with a pattern that was discontinued more than 20 years ago, Goodwill quality silverware, Dollar Store knives,; utilitarian...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bearhug68jr
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review

Wow. We do apologize. As noted in previous responses we instituted a 5 year plan this year to bring every unit and the entire resort up to the standards it was at 20 years ago when it became an RCI resort. This entails not only our normal maintenance and updates but major upgrades to 6 units per year. Also while...

buck county
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We stayed here after the timeshare we booked in Ohio closed. We barely had enough time to research,but they were nice enuf to give us a first floor unit. No handicapped bars in the shower,cleaners always around to take and give towels. We didn't use any of the amenities, except I did some spectacular birdwatching from the back porch where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoomug
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review

Glad you got to see some of our local wildlife! We are upgrading! And the wifi is even better now with our new fiber optic setup.

Richmond, Vermont
Reviewed 20 May 2016

My st say I am very disappointed in the resort. Very old and run down.. No blow dryer, had to go to the front desk and ask for an iron. For the price you pay I certainly expected a more up to date room. Especially since we treated our son and his girlfriend. It was our first time meeting.her and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KimSVT
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review

So sorry you were disappointed. Blow dryers like irons are kept at the front desk, though.

Gramat, France
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

Having arrived in Bethel with no reservation we found very little on offer at a reasonable rate. This place was recommended (we wrongly thought, got the names mixed up) so we walked in to enquire about availability. We were so tired we took what was offered at what we thought was quite a costly rate. When we actually got to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Colin M
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review

Sorry you were unhappy. We have won an RCI Hospitality Award (displayed in the lobby) every year for the past 10 because of our great staff. We just wanted you to know that we do listen, and this year the board instituted a pretty expensive and extensive 5 year plan to update every bit of the resort. Come back and...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
28.8 km away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
30.3 km away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
412 reviews
3.7 km away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
159 reviews
2.7 km away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
48 reviews
3.4 km away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The River View Resort is a great place to kick off a vacation in Western Maine’s premier 4-season playground. In winter you can enjoy the thrills of downhill and cross country skiing, snowmobiling and other winter activities. Summertime, you can improve your game with the area’s world-class golfing. Enjoy canoeing, rafting, kayaking or hiking the wilds of Maine. Melt your cares away in the hot tub or sauna. Any season of the year, our 80ºF indoor pool is a real treat. The friendly couple that manage the River View will supply you with kayaks, paddles and life vests for some down-home river fun.All guest accommodations at River View are two-bedroom suites that sleep 5. All of the suites are clean and comfortable. The master bedroom has two closets, ample bureau storage and a comfy queen-size bed. The second bedroom has two twin beds, bureau and closet storage. In good weather, sit on the wrap-around deck and just enjoy the beautiful countryside. Kitchens are fully equipped with pots, pans, silverware, dishes and more.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River View Resort

Address: 357 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4412
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Price Range: $187 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Bethel
River View Resort Bethel, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from River View Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Walls thin all rooms seem to be about the same.”
zoomug, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
KimSVT, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
DianeB112, 14 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Time share units have full kitchens.”
VTyankee, 27 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Main floor was quiet despite upper floor guests.”
877MarcC877, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$129* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$129
Orbitz.comUS$129
Hotels.comUS$129
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates