We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eagle's Lodge Motel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 8 hotels in Ellsworth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Planning a visit to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor? Schoodic Point or the Blue Hill Peninsula? The Eagle’s Lodge Motel offers a convenient location for guests who want to explore the attractions of Downeast Maine. The lodge, a 2 story motel, has 42 rooms and is open year round in the bustling City or Ellsworth, Maine. We offer 24 hour front desk service with fresh coffee always available and a warm welcome for all of our guests. Our beautiful outdoor, heated swimming pool is open from 9 am to dusk during the warmer summer months.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
236Reviews5Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 105
  • 76
  • 34
  • 16
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Elsa_O wrote a review Sep 2023
Norwalk, CT136 contributions103 helpful votes
Don’t let the pool photo fool you. We arrived on a hot, sunny afternoon and found the pool covered in a canvas tarp. The toilet in our room was not properly secured to the floor. The bolts were rusted out, and the toilet wobbled when you would sit on it. Carpets, mattresses etc were old and worn. On the plus side, it’s dog friendly and there’s a good size grassy field in back where you can exercise your pooch. Location is convenient if you want to be near Walmart and Home Depot. Property has zero charm. Why did we stay there? A friend who lives in the area said whatever you do, don’t stay in Bar Harbor. I hadn’t been to Bar Harbor for some 25 years, though I liked it perfectly well back then. I took my friend’s word that it had gotten to be a madhouse. It hasn’t, in my opinion — it’s just as nice now as it used to be. So if we go to that area again, we’ll stay in Bar Harbor as opposed to Ellsworth.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Honestly I wouldn’t recommend staying here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charity Clough, General Manager at Eagle's Lodge Motel
Responded Sep 28, 2023
I am so sorry you weren't informed the pool was closed for the season! Our pool needs some serious maintenance and we tried to inform all incoming reservations for the summer that it was closed. We hope to have it up and running again next year! Unfortunately, as we are privately owned, we only had the funds to put new carpet in our hallways upstairs and down and in the lobby this year for renovations. We are always trying to update! If you had made us aware of the issue with the toilet, we would have gladly found you another room more to your standard. Our maintenance is here Mon-Fri and sometimes Saturday and he would have gladly taken a look and fixed any problems for you. We are happy to hear you enjoyed that we are dog friendly! Thank you! As for your friend's advice, Bar Harbor has gotten busier and more packed every year. It is still beautiful but they have updated things like implementing reservations for Cadillac Mountain sunrise and added parking meters in Bar Harbor itself to combat the high amount of guests visiting. I believe your friend was just trying to help you save some money as Bar Harbor is extremely expensive to stay directly in during the season as well! We are decently priced and located only 20 minutes one-way to Bar Harbor give or take traffic in the summer. Thank you for the constructive review! We appreciate any and all feedback! Have a wonderful fall!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PandyPandora wrote a review Jan 2023
Harpenden, United Kingdom913 contributions219 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I have to admit that, when we pulled into the parking lot, I thought we had made a mistake. However, appearances can be deceptive. Lovely, friendly reception staff (two ladies) who provided us with a local dining guide. Our room was on the first floor at the top of the stairs. Whilst the stairs could have done with a vacuum, the room was perfectly clean and the bed was comfortable. Amazing value for money with a fridge and microwave in the room and a complimentary continental breakfast. They even had dairy free milk alternatives for the cereal (a first for me in the USA). The hotel is well placed for visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charity Clough, General Manager at Eagle's Lodge Motel
Responded Sep 28, 2023
Thank you so much for the review and that you gave us a chance! We may be an older place but we try our hardest to make up for it and downeast hospitality!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Explore779120 wrote a review Feb 2023
Brooklyn, New York
We liked the room. It was convenient. We put out the "make up room" sign at 6:30 AM Wednesday January 31st 2023. We returned around 4:30PM. The staff never made any attempt to make up the room. The staff person at the front desk said that I hung the sign out at 1:30 PM and that's why I didn't get maid service. She wasn't here. She told me a lie. Hers or someone else's, I can't tell. I was given towels and that's all.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charity Clough, General Manager at Eagle's Lodge Motel
Responded Sep 28, 2023
I am so sorry to hear that your experience with our housekeeping was subpar. We have had many staffing issues this year and now have an amazing team so I am sure this has been addressed since your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eric G wrote a review Dec 2022
Millinocket, ME10 contributions1 helpful vote
Overall we were pleased and felt the price was reasonable. The staff were pleasant. We had a large, clean, quiet room with comfortable beds, a large dresser with plenty of storage space, a rack with hangers, wi-fi, microwave and fridge. The bathroom area was small but not cramped, with thick towels and extra soap and shampoo. The breakfast area was roomy and pleasant. Breakfast was basic but adequate for us: a variety of prepackaged cold cereals and oatmeal, donuts, coffee, tea, juice. The hall carpet could use a cleaning but the carpet in our room was fine. At any rate, there was no unpleasant odor as we've sometimes experienced elsewhere. Also, a larger, more visible sign would be helpful, as the entrance off High Street is a bit tricky to see in advance.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Keep an eye out for the entrance off High Street; it comes on you fast!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charity Clough, General Manager at Eagle's Lodge Motel
Responded Sep 28, 2023
Thank you very much for the kind review! We hope you choose us again if you ever visit the area!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
garnet159 wrote a review Jun 2022
Arcade, New York236 contributions79 helpful votes
Not a fancy place, by all means, but it met our needs. We spent the day at Acadia National Park and needed a place to spend the night afterwards. It's spacious and clean. A couple of the lights in the room did not work. The wifi was iffy at times and the continental breakfast needed more variety. All in all, a good place for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charity Clough, General Manager at Eagle's Lodge Motel
Responded Sep 28, 2023
Thank you for the review! We would have gladly fixed those lights for you if you had made us aware. Our maintenance is here Mon-Fri and sometimes on Saturday and he is more than happy to help. We also take suggestions for our breakfast and try to add new ideas every year! We are set up for a more grab and go style breakfast as people are anxious to beat traffic to the park and enjoy their day in Bar Harbor and the surrounding area. I am sorry the wifi was iffy, you would have been more than welcome to sit in our breakfast room as it has the best signal and enjoy a cup of coffee. Thank you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Daniel C wrote a review Oct 2021
Southwest Harbor, Maine1 contribution
The hotel was ok. I appreciated one of the employees named Shannon for cleaning a room for us. However Brent the front desk was very rude and hung upon me the first time not very professional, my sister called back and was able to get the room. The tv wasnt working and the phone wasn't working it was my husband that figured how to fix them and the bathtub had water fill up in it while taking a shower. What I would like to have is at least half mymp eu back because of the experienc.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charity Clough, General Manager at Eagle's Lodge Motel
Responded Apr 22, 2022
We're so sorry you had such a terrible experience! Our staff has changed since your last stay, so I do hope you'll consider giving us a second chance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lulu2810 wrote a review Sep 2021
Springfield, Missouri20 contributions11 helpful votes
Friendly staff always smiling and greeting you. Clean and sanitized. Masks required. Very small bathroom with tub and shower. Bright light over sink.Basic breakfast that was fine for us. Reasonable price. Stayed 2 nights. We would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charity Clough, General Manager at Eagle's Lodge Motel
Responded Apr 22, 2022
Thank you for rating and reviewing The Eagle's Lodge Motel! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the room and had a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cedar_Park_chump wrote a review Apr 2020
Burnet, Texas282 contributions120 helpful votes
When you stay in a town near a national park, like Arcadia, it's pretty much a given that you will pay a premium for the room. The alternative is usually something you wouldn't want to stay at. Eagle's Lodge was one of the few hotels that was priced decently that met our needs. Don't expect the Hyatt or even the Hampton. Eagle's Lodge is a locally-owned hotel that does the basics very well. The hotel was clean and the room was spacious. The staff were very helpful in recommending places to eat and see. The hotel also had a number of brochures to help plan our time in the Bar Harbor area. The free breakfast is basic, but met our needs. The dining room is homey and has a number of games, if you want to play them at night. If we return to the area, we would definitely consider staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charity Clough, General Manager at Eagle's Lodge Motel
Responded Apr 22, 2022
Thank you for rating and reviewing The Eagle's Lodge Motel! A lot of people love the fact that we're so close to Mount Desert Island and Bar Harbor while still being reasonably priced. We're glad to hear you may stay here again! We look forward to having you here.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
pumpkin574 wrote a review Mar 2020
Darlington, Maryland1 contribution
Nice place to stay - clean, quite - good value for the money - very friendly and helpful staff - close to areas of interest and easy to find - only stayed one night - would stay there again - plenty of parking -
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2019
Room Tip: room was nice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charity Clough, General Manager at Eagle's Lodge Motel
Responded Apr 22, 2022
Thank you for rating and reviewing The Eagle's Lodge Motel! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here and that our staff was helpful to you. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
orit m wrote a review Mar 2020
Rehovot, Israel118 contributions49 helpful votes
Very nice motel, clean nice room with all amenities as advertised. It is large with a lot of space. It is located in very convenient location for travelers, near the main road. There are several places to eat not far and places for general shopping. I will stay a second time if in the area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: No elevator for the 2nd floor......
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charity Clough, General Manager at Eagle's Lodge Motel
Responded Apr 22, 2022
Thank you for rating and reviewing The Eagle's Lodge Motel! We're glad to hear that you felt our location was convenient for shopping and dining. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ellsworth area.
PRICE RANGE
C$179 - C$253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
eagle`s hotel ellsworth, eagles hotel ellsworth
LOCATION
United StatesMaineDownEast and Acadia MaineEllsworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Eagle's Lodge Motel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Eagle's Lodge Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Eagle's Lodge Motel?
Nearby attractions include L.L.Bean Ellsworth (1.1 km), Global Beverage Warehouse (0.7 km), and D'amanda's (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Eagle's Lodge Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Eagle's Lodge Motel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a pool view, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Eagle's Lodge Motel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Eagle's Lodge Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Eagle's Lodge Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Martha's Diner, Ellsworth Pat's Pizza, and Taste Jamaica.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Eagle's Lodge Motel?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Eagle's Lodge Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Eagle's Lodge Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Black House Museum at Woodlawn (2.5 km).
Does Eagle's Lodge Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Eagle's Lodge Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.