We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge Freeport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Freeport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Freeport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 236: English reviews
Hereford
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Great room, great service, great price; The room is very clean and tastefully decorated. The bed is very comfortable and the WiFi is very fast. In the morning you can even make your own waffles on the waffle machine.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WillGriffiths
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review

Wow! We are very grateful for your positive review regarding your recent experience at our hotel. Thank you!! The title of your review is exactly what we are going for--an economy level hotel providing excellent service and cleanliness. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and thank you for your compliments regarding breakfast as well as the room...

Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stopped in Freeport on our way to Bar Harbor with no reservations for the night. We saw the Econo Lodge -- and had picked up a brochure with a coupon for 10% off so figured this would work. The hotel did have a room available with the reduced rates so we grabbed it as the area seemed quite busy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TerryTom2119
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review

We are so glad that you had a pleasant experience in Freeport and especially at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff, cleanliness, breakfast, and the value you received. It's great you were able to find a coupon for a discounted rate! We hope the...

North Olmsted, Ohio
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because I'm a choice hotels reward member and got a great $75 a night rate through their fall sale. We wanted to check out Freeport while visiting Portland and hotels there are way too expensive. It's sufficient for a one night stay and that's about it. Very outdated but clean and quiet which is important.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisaNM
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience! We are glad that you got a great rate through Choice Hotel's fall promotion! Thank you for your compliments regarding the cleanliness and quietness during your stay. We hope that some new furniture and carpets will make the hotel up-to-date! Thanks again!

Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We had a handicapped accessible room which was fine except it had just a double bed. Had forgotten how small they are for 2 people. Think hotels should not have any beds smaller than queens in this day and age! Loved the waffle machine for breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharronw
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review

It is so important for us to get feedback from our guests regarding their experiences, so thank you for writing us this review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the waffle machine at breakfast. It is a very popular breakfast item. We apologize that the double bed was a bit small, and agree that queen beds are the more the...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed one night in the Econo Lodge in Frreeport and found it to be a good deal for the price. This hotel was significantly less cost than other hotels in the general area and the room was more than adequate for two of us. While the furnishings were basic and the amenities were slim, the bed was comfortable, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan B
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay! We are glad you found the price reasonable, the room "more than adequate," and the bed comfortable. Thank you for these compliments! We agree that the breakfast room is not big enough for when we are full, and are hopeful that adding more tables outside next...

Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Very dated, small room with small bathroom. Rug had loose strands of fibers at each end and was worn and dirty. Tile floor portion looks grungy. Chairs very worn with dirt/stains. Beds just ok. Pillows were old, flat, and some smelled. Heat worked ok and not too noisy. Significant road noise from I-295. Will stay elsewhere next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachpaul504
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in September and choosing to write a review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay and were kept awake by traffic noise. Normally the side of Route 1 that we are on is the quieter side. Being a budget-level hotel, our rooms are a bit small, as well as the bathrooms, and...

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here after a long day of shopping cause the price was not horrible for a place to sleep, but I would have just assume traveled an hour to something better for the same price. Room was okay, spelled funny. Fixtures were rusted, pretty dated. Comforter Had cigarette burn, wasnt vert confortable either. We git a king room and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tlp923
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate you writing us a review about your recent stay. Thank you for your compliments regarding breakfast and the size of the room! We are sorry that you weren't entirely satisfied with your stay. We hope to be getting some new furniture and fixtures in the offseason so that we can get rid of the "dated" feeling to...

Canada
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here last year and had a room on the second floor - it was a comfortable, basic stay and we didn't hesitate to book again this year when we returned to Freeport...however, I don't think we will stay here again unless we're in a pinch. This time, we were on the first floor and the room was so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank akalittleeva
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad you chose to stay with us again, but apologize for falling short of your expectations. We have looked into the "dampness" in the room you stayed in, and have resolved the ventilation issue, so that should not happen again. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and appreciate your feedback....

Florence, South Carolina
Reviewed 9 August 2013

With three adults, a 4-year-old and a 1-year-old, we were looking for a place that would accommodate all of us in one room. Other hotels in the area tried to get us to book two rooms, or would charge extra for having five in a room. We decided on the Econo Lodge based on the rate and the friendliness of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric T
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review

It is so helpful that you took the time to write us a review! We are grateful that you found value in your stay and that the staff was very accommodating. I do apologize if the carpet was dirty; we will be shampooing them at the end of the season which will greatly improve that issue. We hope you enjoyed...

Southington, Connecticut
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stopped here on our way further up the coast so only have one night to write about. The desk personnel were friendly and efficient but I found the room rather dated and overall could use an upgrade. The bed was comfortable but I found the bathroom to be small, cramped and dinghy. The breakfast the next day included bagels,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lkis229
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. Thank you for your kind words about our front desk staff. We are hopefully going to be getting some upgrades in the near future. I apologize that you felt the bathroom was small and cramped. I would definitely agree that they are on the small size. We are glad...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
294 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.8 km away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
870 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Price Range: $63 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Freeport staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Massapequa, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Freeport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think most rooms are about the same. They have two levels with no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles ronaldf244, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Reception put us close to the highway and under the stairs. We got something quieter and not under the noisy stairs to the upper level.”
 of 5 bubbles Lynnsie, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I am disabled and asked for a drive up and they accommodated me no problem.”
 of 5 bubbles BarrieB760, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay across the street at the Holiday Inn instead”
 of 5 bubbles 144robert, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower level - no elevator to get upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles cmurray83, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5