We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Birches Motel

Save
Share
17 Thorsen Road At the Intersection of Rte 1, Hancock, ME 04640
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Visit Acadia for less! The best price. The best location. White Birches Motel, conveniently located at the crossroads of Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor and Downeast Maine Not Just Another Motel... -Comfortable, clean, and newly renovated rooms. -Competitive seasonal pricing. -Modern amenities such as Free Wi-Fi, Flat Screen TV's, Refrigerators and Microwaves. -Conveniently located within many popular Maine area attractions -Exceptional Local Service and Hospitality. -Pet Friendly Accomodations The White Birches is located in the heart of the Maine coast, and makes the perfect hub for vacation adventures, not only to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, but to all the often missed gems both up and down the coast. Castine, Camden, Schoodic Point, West Quoddy lighthouse and a hundred more are waiting for you. Make White Birches your home base!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary instant cofffee
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
24-hour security
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
114Reviews1Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 31
  • 37
  • 19
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mickey wrote a review Aug. 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The first time we stayed here in 2019, we must have had a brand new room. It was clean & adorable with a nautical theme. So, when we decided to revisit Maine again this year (2020), we booked White Birches again. What a disappointment. We must have received the oldest room in the place. As soon as I walked into the bathroom, there was a spider crawling across the floor; not a big deal as they can be anywhere, however, there was a large spider web with a spider in it in the corner of the room. After cleaning that out, it appeared back the next day. The rug felt dirty & I was completely skeeved out by the sheets. Thank goodness I brought my own pillowcase. After arriving home, I realized that I left my phone charger plug in the outlet behind the night stand. I called twice & they promised to check with housekeeping but no one returned my call either time. After the third time, they said that nothing was found. I know for a fact that I left it there & I told them that. I had pulled the cord out, which came detached from the plug & then I forgot to reach behind & grab the plug. I specifically asked if housekeeping checked the outlet behind the nightstand & was told yes. I proceeded to tell him that that means that someone must have walked off with it. He could not have cared less. We love Maine & plan to visit every year but will NEVER stay here again & DO NOT recommend it!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Gibson properties Gibson, Owner at White Birches Motel
Responded Aug. 29, 2020
Thank you for your review! We are sorry you had some issues. We were not told during your stay that the room was not to your liking as we may have been able to move you to a better room, we do have some older style rooms as we are making changes all the time. As for the charger, it did take some time to look into and get in contact with the housekeeper that cleaned the room. While it may have been a oversight on our staff for not seeing it, you are right that someone may have checked in after and walked off with it and for that we are sorry. Its not a case of we do not care, but there is not much we can do about the situation after the fact. Our housekeeper said she did not remember seeing it but that doesnt mean it was not in the room. Once more we are sorry.
Read more
Becky wrote a review Aug. 2020
Fort Wayne, Indiana1 contribution1 helpful vote
welcoming friendly and affordable. Would stay again only down fall is no complimentary soaps not that it takes away from the stay I just forgot mine lol. Rooms clean, front desk friendly, and quiet area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gibson properties Gibson, Owner at White Birches Motel
Responded Aug. 29, 2020
Thank you for your review! Thank you for such kind words, yes the soap can be a little tricky as well. We have moved to a more modern option and that is a dispenser, im not aware of any room not having one that would hold hair and body wash right in the shower and one by the sink that holds hand soap. If you could give us a call at 207-667-3621 and maybe give us a idea of what room that was. Thank you once more.
Read more
Cindy C wrote a review Mar. 2020
1 contribution
Price is amazing for its location! Only $25 per pet love that! Rooms are quiet and very clean. Definitely found our go to spot while visiting Acadia. The showers are great!! I love a hot shower and you get that here last forever too. Definitely worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager04640, Manager at White Birches Motel
Responded Mar. 28, 2020
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay and we cant wait to have you back in the future.
Read more
Megan O wrote a review Oct. 2019
Londonderry, New Hampshire46 contributions10 helpful votes
The beds were bouncy and unstable. The walls were paper thin. The WiFi was weak. The room smelled like old cigarettes. The shower head was low and pressure was weak. I wouldn’t use this motel again for a family visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager04640, Public Relations Manager at White Birches Motel
Responded Oct. 13, 2019
Sorry you had some issues. If you would like to call the hotel direct to speak about this we will talk to you. Thank you again for your review.
Read more
Brenda wrote a review Oct. 2019
1 contribution
My wife and I were doing a road trip vacation from Michigan to the East Coast including Maine. It was late when we were near Hancock and White Birches popped up in my local motel search. Very glad we chose it. Clean, newly remodeled, quiet room with all the usual amenities for a good price. Friendly staff and decent internet connection. We were pleasantly surprised enough that we would PLAN to come back here as part of our next New England vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager04640, Front Office Manager at White Birches Motel
Responded Oct. 13, 2019
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
acadia birches knights inn ellsworth/bar harbor hotel hancock, white birches country hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Acadia Birches Knights Inn Ellsworth/Bar Harbor
LOCATION
United StatesMaineDownEast and Acadia MaineHancock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about White Birches Motel
Which popular attractions are close to White Birches Motel?
Nearby attractions include Timber Tina's Great Maine Lumberjack Show (3.3 km), Wild Acadia Fun Park (3.8 km), and Rooster Brother Coffee Roasters (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at White Birches Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and off-site bowling.
Which room amenities are available at White Birches Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at White Birches Motel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at White Birches Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to White Birches Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Morton's Moo Homemade Ice Cream, Martha's Diner, and Finn's Irish Pub.
Are pets allowed at White Birches Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to White Birches Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Woodlawn (4.5 km).
Does White Birches Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is White Birches Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.