We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

White Birches Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
White Birches Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Never had this happen before - we went exploring Acadia for the day and did not want room service. When we returned, a large plastic bag with clean, fresh towels was hung of the outside door handle. Now that is something different. Tells a lot about the quality of service here. Was delighted by the size of the room about... More 

Helpful?
Thank padocent2016
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The room was ok and the bathroom was big. The bed linen was awful, nylon sheets and coverlet. Rooms on the front are noisy. Manager could be more friendly. No breakfast offered. Tv was good, Internet is weak .

Helpful?
2 Thank oldred2016
Bath, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

The views from the rooms are not of the harbor at all. The motel sits on a highway inland so the pics are not to be trusted! Mold on caulking in bathroom. Lots of noise transfer from other rooms. Uncomfortable beds. Owner was terrible when we voiced our concerns at check out. He told us our complaint was the first... More 

Helpful?
Thank cindysquyres
Manager04640, Manager at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

Cindy, To clarify, any pics on our website of harbors are under the "Local Area" tab and we do not advertise that we are on the harbor. The concerns you voiced were regarding the attic access in your room and that you were worried that someone could break into your room from it. However, the only means to gain access... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

This motel is not bad for an overnight stay. It's clean, quiet, right off rt 1 in Ellsworth. Beds were comfortable. The WiFi was iffy, TV is limited but we really didn't care about that. I'd stay again for a night if I were in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Len J
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We rode through Ellsworth to the white birches motel after traveling several hundred miles on route 95 headed for New Brunswick. Though we were greeted after a 15 minute change of shift conversation between employees, we found them to be pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and adequately appointed. Restaurants are plentiful in the Ellsworth area though not within... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LMPBG
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for inexpensive, clean, safe lodging, this is a good choice. It is a 30 minute drive to Bar Harbor and the park. No amenities really, but a terrific value. Just the very basics. Good enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe58156
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as two families of three in two double rooms. The reception desk was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. This was all we needed for a one night stay. Good value for money and perfect for a good night's rest.

Helpful?
Thank HCYMc
Manager04640, Owner at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will consider staying with us again on your next trip to the Acadia region. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

This motel with a few tweaks could really be great. We booked a room with two double beds. After checking in, we went to our room, tired after all the driving and found it had a king. Didn't want to deal with the hassle of changing so we decided to make it work. (Other review indicated same issue, so you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
Manager04640, Owner at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

Jeanne, Thank you for your feedback. As new owners of the motel we love to hear from our guests on how we can improve upon the property and make their stays more enjoyable. We recently remodeled rooms and changed their bed classification types in the system, so this may have caused the mix up in your room type. Our apologies... More 

Maroa, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Very comfortable. Great sheets, clean and budget friendly. Very close to Acadia National Park. Hot shower and plenty of room for 3 adults. Nice outdoor furniture and bend over the back happy staff. Did I say clean!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Edye H
Manager04640, Owner at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

Edye, Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is working hard to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable. We hope you will consider us again for any future visits to the Acadia region. More 

Vernon, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The room we had was good size. Our issues started when we turned the sheets down. The bottom sheet did not look like it had been changed , there were fresh stains on the sheets. As it was late, we slept on top of the blankets. The management did 'comp' us for the night. We got back later in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
Manager04640, Owner at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

Eileen, Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that you ran into these issues during your stay. We will be addressing these issues with our housekeeping staff and appreciate the response. More 

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
2.6 km away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
588 reviews
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
2.3 km away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
11.8 km away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
318 reviews
5.4 km away
Twilite Motel
Twilite Motel
#4 of 10 in Ellsworth
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
White Birches Motel, conveniently located at the crossroads of Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor and Downeast Maine, offers clean and affordable accommodations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Birches Motel

Address: Route 1 & Thorsen Road, 17 Thorsen Road, Hancock, ME 04605 (Formerly Acadia Birches Knights Inn Ellsworth/Bar Harbor)
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Hancock
Price Range: $67 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — White Birches Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your White Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Birches Knights Inn Ellsworth/Bar Harbor Hotel Hancock
White Birches Country Hotel
White Birches Motel Maine/Hancock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Birches Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Wellesley
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from White Birches Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ok for one night if going to to Arcadia , front rooms are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles oldred2016, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The wifi was not a good connection.”
 of 5 bubbles 552eileenc, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are newer, asked to see the room first to make sure you have the right number of bed.”
 of 5 bubbles doceant, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side may be quieter as cars park away from the door of your room.”
 of 5 bubbles mofof5, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“until they replace the old beds dont stay here”
 of 5 bubbles gladysmay50, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay