We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fontenay Terrace Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunkport
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fontenay Terrace Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fontenay Terrace Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We enjoyed our 2 day stay. We chose room 8 for the view and weren't disappointed. Room felt a little tight and furniture and appointments were dated, but was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but spotless. The room does need a bright light somewhere. We especially enjoyed the beautiful lawn - lunch from Portside Lobster al fresco; and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beamazz
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 October 2013

As always, I have enjoyed my stay here. Although it is a no frills motel, the Fontenay Terrace has everything you need...cleanliness, quietness, peacefulness, friendliness, and the perfect location, with pleasant, helpful and personable hosts. Easy walk to Kennebunkport Village, the beach within 100 yds, and a short walk to Walker's Point. I look forward to my visit every year....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janie1946
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewed 21 September 2013

It's difficult to find such an excellent value away from busy Route 1, let alone one within a stone's throw of an estuarine beach on Kennebunkport's geographically and architecturally sublime Ocean Avenue. All the rooms are set back from Ocean Avenue's already light traffic; noise is never an issue. Rooms with a higher number (8 is as high as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJNewEngland
Havant
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This motel is in a very nice and quiet location, although it is a fair walk into Kennebunkport which we didn't mind. The rooms are dated but clean. I would recommend this motel as good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieWales1629
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Returned to the Fontenay for our fifth year. We are never disappointed. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and so convenient to everything. Excellent value! See our review from years past. senicseeker

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scenicseeker
Rochester,NY
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Overpriced. Too far from the shops in the port. Room felt tired and outdated. The refrigerator wasn't clean. Towels were rough and low quality. Skimped... one bar of soap for sink and shower. We chose this location to easily walk to and from the port area. They need a shuttle service because this was quite far.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ASeybold
DavidBReid, Owner at Fontenay Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed. If you know much about Kennebunkport, we are one of the best values. Very few properties with rates under $200.00 to $250.00

Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have over 33 years of hotel experience in large convention and smaller Four Diamond hotels and my wife and I loved our long weekend here. The location is perfect for the area. The price was very fair for the area. The room was very clean, large and very comfortable. The grounds were attractive and well-maintained. We lounged outside playing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 13 August 2013

David and Paula couldn't have done more to make me and other guests feel at home. I stayed for the month of July and then extended for another week!! The rooms are large, comfortable and spotless. The location couldn't be better with the beach and the Kennebunk River right across the street. This is really a wonderful Inn in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelley K
DavidBReid, Owner at Fontenay Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Look forward to having you back next year !!

Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the Fontenay Terrace the first weekend of August . This little motel is in a perfect location, quiet and just a little bit outside of the main Kennebunkport area. We had a lovely weekend, enjoying the shopping and dining of Kennebunkport, along with long walks along Ocean Avenue. Everyone at the Fontenay is very nice. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R S
Anacortes, Washington
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at Fontenay Terrace as it is close to my sister's condo--and it was perfect for what we wanted. Room was spotless--and the furniture--though somewhat dated--was all in good condition. Bed was very comfortable. The location for all Kennebunkport has to offer is perfect. Beach is very close by, and a walk along Ocean Ave will either bring you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank depoelin

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kennebunkport hotels
0.1 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
484 reviews
1.6 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
602 reviews
0.1 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,565 reviews
0.1 km away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#12 of 25 in Kennebunkport
181 reviews
1.0 km away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#9 of 25 in Kennebunkport
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Fontenay Terrace Motel

Address: 128 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6302
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Fontenay Terrace Hotel Kennebunkport
Fontenay Terrace Motel Kennebunkport, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fontenay Terrace Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fontenay Terrace Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“7/8 nearest to the lake”
 of 5 bubbles fi_mathews, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It's quiet and friendly. All rooms are on ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles wigbag, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 on the end had a nice view of river, all rooms have table and chairs outdoors to enjoy..”
 of 5 bubbles donche, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“room 8 has water views!”
 of 5 bubbles opped5, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“# 8 overlooks the channel behind the motel.”
 of 5 bubbles Tommaruna, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5