The Lodge on the Cove

The Lodge on the Cove

Pool
Traveller (186)
Guest Room
Room & Suite (45)
Pool
Pool & Beach (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#8 of 13 hotels in Kennebunkport
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Lodge on the Cove - the hippest kid-friendly hotel in Kennebunkport, Maine - offers a modern, light-hearted approach to the quintessential Maine vacation. Nestled on a wooded cove in Kennebunkport, our motor lodge is both relaxed and refined, with vibrant mix of vintage, classic and contemporary furnishings, bold patterns and an upbeat color palette.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Game room
Golf course
Hiking
Mini golf
Aerobics offsite
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

29 South Main Street, Kennebunkport, ME 04046
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Portland Intl Jetport
Portsmouth International Airport at Pease
305Reviews8Q+A60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 227
  • 41
  • 19
  • 9
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
erica b wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family of five (2 adjoining rooms) thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at The Lodge on the Cove. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, our rooms clean and amenities more than needed. Bikes, pool, game room, relaxing outdoor areas all accessible and clean and the Lodge is less than a mile to town. Thanks for a great visit!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri Terri, Owner at The Lodge on the Cove
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Hi Ebullard5, Thank you very much for staying with us at the LOC, we are so happy to read you enjoyed your time with family in Kennebunkport! Thank you again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jen A. wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Lodge on the Cove for our first vacation in Kennebunkport, and I would definitely stay there again. The location is perfect for biking/walking to town(<1 mile), yet far enough away to be out of the crazy busy-ness of downtown. Beautiful property with a pool, fire pit, yard games, and bikes. Great coffee in the lobby, and delicious pastries delivered to your door each morning. My husband and I and our two teenage daughters loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri Terri, Owner at The Lodge on the Cove
Responded Aug 5, 2021
HI jen_augustson, Thank you for your review and for selecting the Lodge as your resort for vacation. We are so happy that you and your family had a lovely time and really value your patronage. The Yard games are some of our favorite things- so fun! Thank you again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
christinemelaas wrote a review Jun 2021
Galena, Illinois1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here for one night and day during our visit to Kennebunkport. We loved the location of the hotel to town. It was an easy walk or bike ride if you choose to use their free bicycles on the property. The room was so cute and very clean. There was a parking spot right in front of our room and we had our own porch. We did not use the pool or have time to go to The Dory but would definitely do it if we stayed again and had more time and our kids were with us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Murat Koseoglu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge on the Cove
Responded Jul 25, 2021
Hello christinemelaas, I am so happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our bikes. Thank you for you delightful comments. Warmest regards from Kennebunkport, ME
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcie K wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room itself is nice, and the staff are very nice, but no one has a clue what they are doing here. They have four beer taps - 1 is broken. They serve 4 different can beers and ran out of 1 can at 5:30 pm on Saturday night. The bartenders are super nice, but they can’t make a cocktail. There were only 2 towels in the room , and when I asked for two more the response was “we need to run a load of laundry.” When I asked the front desk attendant if a manager was available she said the manager “went home for the night”, and she didn’t know how to contact her or any other manager.

Very nice people but obviously clueless. They need a lot more training and oversight. When I asked them to wipe down a dirty table, they were very nice and said “sure”. But that table had sat dirty for 2 hours. This does not feel like “hospitality”.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Generally avoid until the hotel is better stocked and staff receives more training.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri Terri, Owner at The Lodge on the Cove
Responded Jul 30, 2021
HI Marcie K, We are very sorry to hear this and we certainly did not intend to have this be an experience for you and your family and we are sincerely sorry and very disappointed in ourselves. We are making improvements as best as we can. While I agree wholeheartedly agree in reviewing your experience and sharing your thoughts and opinions on your stay relating to the guest service and the buildings and grounds, to refer to the team as "Clueless" is really mean and degrading, especially when we as adults should be supporting and lifting the youth of today. I would hope that in the future when you are leaving reviews on the internet you remember these posts never go away and are so hurtful to the team members when they read them.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Naturecalls412 wrote a review Jun 2021
Seven Fields, Pennsylvania32 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We just spent 2 nights in KBP at the Lodge on the Cove. Based on previous reviews we were really excited to stay at this revamped motor lodge. On paper this is the perfect place. Unfortunately, it fell short.

The good: location is actually great. Close enough to town to explore by bike or foot but far enough away from the hustle and bustle and traffic. The main lodge area is also nicely decorated and has a cool vibe. (We didn’t spend anytime there though because it was hot and stuffy with no AC running and no windows open.)

The not-so-good: the room was not necessarily dirty but also was not particularly clean. Area rug felt dirty/worn, shower with mold and the front porch with a used plastic fork and what appeared to be a booger wiped on the glass the table (I asked to have this cleaned but it was never addressed). The cushions on the chairs at the seating area in the room were also stained. The coffee pot was broken and full of water, the in room phone was not connected to anything and was therefore useless. Poor craftsmanship in the room around the sink area as well.

As far as amenities, bikes are available and we made good use of them. 1/2 available are in good working order, others could use a little TLC. Ping pong is in a small stuffy room and not poolside as advertised. No one working the restaurant for happy hour, etc. Rooms are not cleaned during your stay (which they state) and instead you can leave your used items on the porch and hang a tag on your door indicating what you need. Good in theory but no one brought our items and I had to go looking for someone to get what we needed.

Again, we really enjoyed the location. A little more attention to detail and this place could be a top notch hidden job. Disappointed that it’s not.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Can hear your neighbors but they supply noise machine and a fan in the room. Upper stairs rooms...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri Terri, Owner at The Lodge on the Cove
Responded Jul 30, 2021
Hi Naturecalls412, I completely appreciate that a simple apology doesn’t make up for your experience, it certainly isn’t representative of our company’s usual high standards, it is however, a reflection on how neglected our property is. You are absolutely right, the buildings, grounds, and rooms should be in better condition, and we are working on getting the repairs and maintenance items corrected as quickly as they can be. We can only ask for your forgiveness and understanding at this time, we certainly did not want you to have the experience you did and we thank you for your review and for staying with us and we only wish we could have offered you the experience you deserved.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SallyV102 wrote a review Sep 2021
Baltimore, Maryland8 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
For $359 a night, I would expect to at least be able to reach someone at the front desk to ask how to work the air conditioner. There are very few occupied rooms here and no staff after 8:00. We were told someone at Kennebunkport Inn would be available 24 hours a day, but they don’t answer their phones either at 10:00pm. It feels like Bates Motel here. The pool, bar, and restaurant are all closed for the season and yet we’re paying full price for a fairly dated , mediocre room, with no outlets near the bed to charge devices . If we could move, we would.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pedsrn wrote a review Oct 2021
Mooresville, North Carolina105 contributions79 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Realizing this area is a very high priced area, it still jars your being when the nightly rate was 400.00 for a
Motel type room that was very small , required 2 visits from the maintenance guy to fix a broken air conditioner remote, and a TV setting. Now I will say they were responsive to my call but it was frustrating to have to waste the time to call in the first place.
A small bag for breakfast was left at the door in the morning. Unfortunately the warm pastry was soggy- not the best choice for this kind of breakfast.
Would not recommend this motel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RTrudeau314 wrote a review Nov 2021
Atlanta, Georgia3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived the last week in September and found out we were the only guests, staff left about 5, breakfast was not hot in a restaurant on site but a bag attached to the door in the morning and a room with mold, stains on carpets and furniture and bath curtain torn which we mentioned to the staff. After all that we were told that we were in season snd no reduction in price from $500 per night. After we left our travel agent had no success in reaching management to discuss a refund. We went to breakfast at another property that was far nicer for the same price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid completely.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heather F wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very disappointing experience. The lack of attention from staff is downright unacceptable when paying over $700 a night. The front desk is staffed with young people who are expected to also keep up with the pool, food, restocking and general needs of all the guests making it nearly impossible to find them should you need something. This is most certainly a managerial issue as the manager rounds on his 5 properties once a day whereby forcing his young staff to run the place incredibly short staffed. These poor kids are taking the brunt of the frustrations day in and out left to fend for themselves. Management should be ashamed of themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Derek Hunt, General Manager at The Lodge on the Cove
Responded Aug 13, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your recent stay here with us. I am sincerely disappointed to learn you didn't enjoy your experience here with us. While, I personally oversee multiple properties, I have a full-time dedicated manager at the Lodge on the Cove. In addition to the management presence, we provide daily overlap in our front desk staffing to ensure our guests needs are met during peak hours. Lastly, our Dory Restaurant staff handle all food and beverage operations during operating hours and assist with keeping up/organizing the pool throughout the day. Again, I truly apologize if you felt our staffing levels were not adequate during your stay and I will personally review your feedback with my team in an effort to continuously improve our guest experience. I hope you have a wonderful rest of your summer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristin M wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom56 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is great and the rooms cozy. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool is smallish and heated. The pool was overrun with kids so anyone over 12yrs could not get in at all. The resort is great for families with very small kids but not teenagers. Our family of teenage boys felt out of place. There is no food or drink on offer in the evenings so you must make reservations somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
staubfv asked a question May 2019
New York City, New York10 contributions4 helpful votes
Dog friendly?
Answer from lodgeonthecove
I am sorry, but no the Lodge on the Cove does not allow pets. However here are a few recommendations for pet friendly accommodations: The Port Inn in Kennebunk, the Maine Stay Inn and the Colony Hotel in Kennebunkport.
Kristenlep asked a question Oct 2017
Hudson, New Hampshire11 contributions15 helpful votes
Is the heated pool open until December?
Answer from MemeJill
Jensen Beach, Florida25 contributions4 helpful votes
probably not
Hugh S asked a question Jul 2017
Fairfield, Connecticut7 contributions
How far to nearest swimming hole? Thinking of Day trip inland. Thank you
Answer from KRC Marketing
Kennebunkport, Maine29 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi HughUS - There are quite a few accessible lakes in southern Maine: Bunganut Pond in Lyman (35 minutes from The Lodge on the Cove); Mousam Lake in Shapleigh (45 minutes); Sebago Lake (about 60 minutes).
Hugh S asked a question Jul 2017
Fairfield, Connecticut7 contributions
How far to nearest swimming hole? Thinking of Day trip inland. Thank you
Answer from KRC Marketing
Kennebunkport, Maine29 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi HughUS - There are quite a few accessible lakes in southern Maine: Bunganut Pond in Lyman (35 minutes from The Lodge on the Cove); Mousam Lake in Shapleigh (45 minutes); Sebago Lake (about 60 minutes).
Helen N wrote a tip Aug 2023
Arlington, Massachusetts1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room was very clean but a few things could have made it better. First, the TV was not user friendly. Have to get up and point to the back "
Read full review
Laura G wrote a tip Jul 2023
Chicago, Illinois117 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for ground floor away from pool for an easy, quiet room."
Read full review
Richard M wrote a tip Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay downtown"
Read full review
RTrudeau314 wrote a tip Nov 2021
Atlanta, Georgia3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid completely."
Read full review
Chris N wrote a tip Jul 2021
6 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Noise is a problem apparently they give you ear plugs & white noise machine. Even staying on 2nd floor we could hear people below"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kennebunkport area.
PRICE RANGE
C$276 - C$645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
village cove hotel kennebunkport
LOCATION
United StatesMaineKennebunksKennebunkport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Lodge on the Cove - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lodge on the Cove
Which popular attractions are close to The Lodge on the Cove?
Nearby attractions include Saint Ann's Church (1.1 km), Gooch's Beach (1.2 km), and St. Anthony's Monastery (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lodge on the Cove?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Lodge on the Cove?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Lodge on the Cove?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lodge on the Cove?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lodge on the Cove?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chez Rosa, The Boathouse Restaurant, and Rococo Ice Cream.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lodge on the Cove?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Lodge on the Cove?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lodge on the Cove?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wallingford Farm (6.9 km), Dock Square (1.3 km), and Emmons Clock Farm (6.7 km).
Is The Lodge on the Cove accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Kennebunkport HotelsKennebunkport Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KennebunkportHotels near The Lodge on the Cove
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars