We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Axell's Scandinavian Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Axell\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Axell's Scandinavian Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 69: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 22 July 2013

"Inn" is a big misnomer. This is a side-of-the-highway 50s style motel and a most undistinguished one at that. Yes, it is clean and the plumbing and A/C work. But, ugh!!! Ugly, small rooms looking las if they were never nice, let alone after years of use. We stayed here because of the great reviews on TA. How misleading they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XYZABCTampa
Piedmont, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were very impressed with the staff. They were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and clean. They had a full kitchen with stove, refrigerator and sink. My daughter loved the pool. Would stay in this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
sheilabobeila, Owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We really appreciate your positive review and hope to see you in the future. It was a pleasure serving you.

Moncton, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I took a Minnie vacation on our motor bike, saw this little motel ,looked good,but what a mistake!!! Did not have a good night sleep mattress was hard as a rock... But that wasn't the worst I went to take a shower NO WATER !!! And couldn't go to the front desk to report the problem because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veramx5
sheilabobeila, Owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review

Oh my goodness. I am so sorry you had trouble with the shower. There is plenty of water, both hot and cold. You must not have turned it on correctly. We have a doorbell at the office door which rings into my apartment for any after or before hours issues. I wish you had come to us and we would...

Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 6 June 2013

It was so much more than I expected. Having traveled back and forth from the midwest for 10 years I have seen my share of good and bad. This motel was great. I was just there for one night. It's a strip motel so the room wasn't huge but big enough for a king size bed, dresser, desk, night table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tvmac
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I recently attended a class in Augusta which involved an overnight stay. I found Axell's online with a great rate and made my reservations. I have pretty bad allergies and requested a non-smoking room in my reservation. Not more than an hour after my reservation was made, I received an email response confirming all the rooms were non-smoking. Upon arrival,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mbeasley8001
Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I was a walk-in guest at Axell’s Scandinavian Inn, and the young man at the desk invited me to look at a room first. He was very friendly and made a great effort to recommend all the local places to eat. The room was nice; it was very clean, and the whole motel was quiet. I thought there was someone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlisonAnnie
sheilabobeila, Owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy that you found our guest rooms to be clean and comfortable. Also, thank you for your suggestions. I am having my husband install towel rods in the 4 guest rooms that have the sinks separate from the bathroom. I just never thought of it! And no one has ever...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Fairway Motor Lodge was my home 7 nights May 2-9 2012. Traveling as a single, I'm very aware of my surroundings & alert to my safety. I was very appreciative of my quiet location & natural setting. Road noise is minimal since the pool & large lawn area are between units & route 202. I was moved to a more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 13heidi
Whitefield, Maine
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The srevice and staff here were above and beyond what you get today from most small places. The place is clean and refreshing with a home like feel. . The staff went out of their way to assist us in all we needed. We will use them each time we are there . We highly recomend them to all staing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda b
sheilabobeila, Manager at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much Linda, it was a pleasure doing business with you. We do hope you return soon! Derinda

Alingsas, Sweden
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The Scandinavian Inn is a great family motel. The owners and staff are very welcoming and friendly. Of all the motels I stayed at while on my trip to the USA this one was my favorite. I would defiantly stay there again and recommend it to other visitors of the Augusta Area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HA83
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The staff and owners are great people to do business with. They are more like friends. This has become a home away from home. I feel safe there and the rooms are so clean and the feel of home is there in every room I have stayed in. I highly recommend staying here if you are going to be in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
sheilabobeila, Owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much! It was great having you as our guest and can't wait til your return!

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
3.6 km away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
776 reviews
4.2 km away
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Maple Hill Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in Hallowell
323 reviews
5.1 km away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#1 of 9 in Augusta
402 reviews
4.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just west of the Augusta line, we are two, small, locally owned and operated motels with all the amenities of a large one. Innkeepers, Sheila and Kent, have worked tirelessly to make each and every guestroom unique, comfortable and full of amenities that they themselves would like to find while they are traveling. You won't find "cookie cutter" guestrooms here, all guestrooms are decorated differently, so if you don't like the style of one, we are sure we'll find one you love! When you visit, you must take a dip in the new inground, salt water, heated pool, located at the Fairway, just one mile from the Scandinavian Inn ! It is fabulous! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Axell's Scandinavian Inn

Address: 803 Western Ave, Manchester, ME 04351-3530
Region: United States > Maine > Manchester
Price Range: $71 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Axell's Scandinavian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Axell's Scandinavian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axells Scandinavian Hotel
Axells Scandinavian Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Axell's Scandinavian Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else for this price.”
 of 5 bubbles djmuzx, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles srnmarblefalls, 29 Oct 2015 | Read review
“room 12 is right next to the laundry room and can be noisy..”
 of 5 bubbles tobit694, 12 Feb 2015 | Read review
“My particular room is very quiet! Even for light sleepers.”
 of 5 bubbles 235lyndar, 22 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Some rooms had only one queen bed. We chose a king.”
 of 5 bubbles Boomer707, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5