We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (251)
Room & Suite (70)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20-07-01 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Newagen Seaside Inn
Updated 20-07-01 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Tennis court
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
372Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 261
  • 63
  • 23
  • 18
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Photo Pilot wrote a review Jul. 2021
Los Angeles, California25 contributions2 helpful votes
The Newagen has a lovely hotel with a beautiful location and an excellent pub. However our room was a huge disappointment. We had a 2nd floor room in the north wing of the original building. Our room was directly over the kitchen and we hear banging, food prep and loud voices until 1130pm and again at 630am. We were unable to sleep or relax hearing all this noise. If you stay here, get a room in the new wing which is a separate building. I wish I would have known this as it ruined what could have been a lively stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the north wing of the original building.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Corinne Larson, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the feedback and for alerting us to the issue. We spoke immediately to our new staff and made them aware that their movement in the dining room was being heard above them. I'm so sorry that noise ruined your vacation.
Read more
KristaK_04330 wrote a review Jul. 2020
Augusta, Maine10 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
When we were finally ready to venture out on our first overnight adventure since the start of the pandemic, we knew we wanted to go to a place on the coast so we felt like we were away from home but not too far away, and wherever we went had to have a pool as our almost 5-year-old would be traveling with us. I found the Newagen Seaside Inn on my first search, and we are SO glad I did. The special they are running right now (July 2020) made paying for our trip so much less of a headache. On my first call to NSI, I spoke with Debi, who was kind, patient, and knowledgeable as I navigated making our reservation. Debi was equally as lovely on my couple of follow-up calls the day before we checked in. All staff we encountered during our stay were pleasant, friendly, and helpful. Check-in was a breeze thanks to Abby. Our room was easy to find, and we were provided a map of the property as well as menus for The Pub. The pamphlets in the lobby were relevant and current. Our room - Cozy Harbor suite - was delightful! It was spacious, inviting, and tastefully decorated. We were thankful for the counter space and refrigerator. The air conditioning system was quick, quiet, and cool. The bed was very comfortable, and I even liked the pillows better than what I have at home! The water was hot, and the shower had great water pressure. Both the bed and bath linens were soft, crisp white, and in excellent condition. The common spaces were well-appointed, inviting, and immaculate. The grounds were equally as impressive. We all made use of the pool both days of our stay and the Pine Room on Friday morning; both are great family spaces. Our son loved the candlepin bowling and throwing darts for the first time. We also enjoyed exploring the dock, but we decided to forego a row boat adventure on account of pea soup fog and sea farer inexperience. Because of the fog and our somewhat busy itinerary during our visit, we weren't able to check out the trails - but I'm certain they must also be lovely! The boxed breakfasts were hearty; they were more like breakfast plus a morning snack. We loved the Carrabassett coffee available all day in the lobby. Great, local coffee is always a perk. The food at The Pub was exquisite; I left a separate review for it. COVID-19 precautions were thorough and thoughtful. ALL staff wore masks in public areas, and guests were required to as well. Hand sanitizer was readily available for everyone to use. The lobby restroom was very clean. Our coastal getaway was exactly what we needed! Thank you, Newagen Seaside Inn. We can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Corinne Larson, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn
Responded Jul. 13, 2020
Thank you, Krista! It was such a pleasure hosting your family and we'd love to see you back at Newagen again!
Read more
ChrisW wrote a review Jul. 2021
1 contribution
From our early check to our final goodbyes, this resort offered a beautiful respite from our busy life. The charm and beauty of Seahorse Cottage cannot be compared. There is plenty of outside space to walk and ponder , read a book, or just sit and stare at the ocean and breath the wonderful salt sea air. I had left a pair of earrings behind and the staff mailed them to me after my return home. Thank you! A special shout-out to Abby and Matt for their kind assistance.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Corinne Larson, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
We were so happy to provide you with a restful stay - please come back and see us again soon!
Read more
sharon r wrote a review Jun. 2021
New York City, New York32 contributions15 helpful votes
I stayed for three nights in early June with my husband and 20 year old daughter. We had a room in the main inn. It was tiny with only two double beds but we made it work. The bathroom was also tiny but newly renovated. The bathroom could have used some type of hook on the wall or behind the bathroom door to hang bathing suits to dry. The decor in the room was nice but our upholstered chair actually had a piece of fabric cut out of it. I am not sure if the hotel was cutting out a spot or a guest did the damage. Also, there were several holes in the wall from some type of shelf that should have been filled in and painted over. That being said, the staff was really nice and the hostess at the restaurant was especially nice because she let us sit at a fairly private table in the restaurant all three nights. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. There were not a ton of selections and the muffins were not fresh but the type you get at a 7-11 eleven in a plastic bag. The lobby was nice and there was free coffee available most of the day that was delicious. The scenery and flowers were very nice but the pool chairs really need to be replaced. I would definitely recommend this inn because it was cozy and close to Bar Harbor.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I was in the main inn and unfortunately my room was over the restaurant so it was a bit noisy.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Corinne Larson, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn
Responded Jun. 21, 2021
Thank you for the feedback. Sounds like guest damage with that chair....we will address it. The pool chairs are on our list for replacement. Renovations have been a bit delayed due to all the challenges of last season. I wanted to make it clear to anyone reading this that we are not close to Bar Harbor, but Boothbay Harbor.
Read more
Rocket_Man0691 wrote a review Jun. 2021
Phoenix, Arizona305 contributions124 helpful votes
Nice grounds, not much around it though. Rain kept us from using their bikes but they looked in good condition. Rooms clean, nautical and country mashup decor. Beds comfortable, good amenities in bathroom, coffee maker and a refrigerator. One of our room had adjoining door that allowed all sounds to pass. Good access to Boothbay. Breakfast was included and was good. Took away one star because one evening we tried to get some food at the restaurant and we’re told by Tiffany (very rudely) they could not accommodate anyone since two hours later they had a band. Fortunately, the GM was very helpful throughout our stay. Would stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Corinne Larson, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn
Responded Jun. 21, 2021
Thank you for the feedback. We take all comments from guests to heart.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$165 - US$871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
newagen seaside hotel newagen
LOCATION
United StatesMaineMid Coast MaineSouthportNewagen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Newagen Seaside Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Newagen Seaside Inn?
Nearby attractions include Cabbage Island (5.7 km), Boothbay Region Land Trust (7.2 km), and Reid State Park (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Newagen Seaside Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Newagen Seaside Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Newagen Seaside Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Newagen Seaside Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Downeast Ice Cream Factory, Cabbage Island Clambakes, and Shannon's Unshelled.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Newagen Seaside Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Newagen Seaside Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Newagen.
Does Newagen Seaside Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Newagen Seaside Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Wilson Memorial Chapel (5.3 km).
Does Newagen Seaside Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Newagen Seaside Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.