We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Newagen Seaside Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Newagen Seaside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 199: English reviews
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very interesting and comfortable historic building. Beautiful waterfront location and grounds. Good restaurant. Capable and friendly staff. Nearby Booth Bay Harbor well worth visiting for the shopping, sailing and other activities.

Helpful?
Thank William M
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and thanks for your kind words! More 

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Newagen Seaside Inn feels like a second home to us. We fell in love with the Inn, and the area, our first trip in 2013 when our son was married there. We've returned each summer since, twice last summer. It's a friendly place. Each time we arrive, we receive a warm welcome by a staff who delight in accommodating their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
About Hotel's Favourite Review
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The inn has very nice grounds and amenities like free full breakfast buffet, bikes and row boat. Saltwater pool heater was broken so we weren't able to use it. The room was nice, but I was appalled to see stains on the toilet seat where you sit on. I tried to clean it but it looks like it's permanently there.... More 

Helpful?
Thank RandBMan
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. It's wonderful that you became a "frequent flyer" at our restaurant. I'm sorry that the lack of TVs in the main inn kept you from staying longer. While that is common in historic properties such as ours, we do offer TVs for our guests who can't completely unplug in our Little Inn... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Wow! We stayed for a weekend and wished that we had a month. The location was so beautiful. Coffee on the balcony, while listening to the ocean crash onto the rocks, was wonderful. The staff were exceptional, friendly and willing to help at all times. The little island was wonderful to walk around and just a short drive to Boothbay... More 

Helpful?
Thank vickic23
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Vicki! What a fun group you were! Can't wait to welcome you back... More 

East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Newagen Seaside Inn on a Groupon rate and were not disappointed. The grounds were beautiful as was ocean view from our king bed room. Our room could have used a bit of a renovation but was quite comfortable. We took advantage of the outdoor fire pit on the back deck and... More 

Helpful?
Thank donna p
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Donna! We'd love to have you and your husband back soon! More 

Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I hesitated on my review from average to very good. I have been three times, but never with my husband here, so I hope I didn't oversell it. We stayed at the Little Inn, paid top dollar (not using any type of coupon). The carpet was stained, but we enjoyed the two chairs on the balcony, but was surprised there... More 

Helpful?
Thank SKB356
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your return visit and for taking time to share your comments. I'm glad you were able to make the seating work for you in your room. I wish you had mentioned your concerns to our staff, as we would have been happy to move an additional chair into the room for you. On future visits,... More 

Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Good experience. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice restaurant and prime location and coastal views. Room choice very important. Main inn suites still need updating despite some new furnishings and facing parking lot not best, particularly if u want to open windows. Also a weekend wedding destination so ask first. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Steve G
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, Steve. We hope to host you again! More 

Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016

My husband and I wanted to have a fall getaway. I found a deal on Groupon for the Newagen Seaside Inn in Southport, Maine. The location was amazing, wonderful views from both the front and the back of the Inn. They did have cottages which are probably a better option than the actual Inn. The Inn was beautifully decorated with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Nancy. We're glad you had a nice visit via Groupon. Because we are a historic inn, our bathrooms are on the smaller side, but we hope the fact that they are newly renovated makes up for that. Another hallmark of a historic property is the absence of TVs, which is clearly stated in all of... More 

Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed in the newer building the Little Inn. Nice room with excellent views from the private balcony. Good size room although there were some issues. The carpet was badly stained and the door lock was a mess. The dead bolt could not be used at all and the door could only be locked by loudly slamming it shut. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank rth27
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - we'd love to have you back. You are correct that the doors can be difficult to shut. The combination of fire-rated doors and weather stripping does make it tricky sometimes. We did disable the deadbolts on the Little Inn rooms so that our guests would not have to carry two keys with them. Hope... More 

Maynard, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Daughter's wedding on June 11, 2016. It was everything she wanted and the staff worked really well with her. Beautiful venue with green lawn down to a misty ocean bay. Light rain at the ceremony and staff didn't realize a towel down of chairs was in order. Not a biggie, but clearly attention to details would help. Lunch in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mdavidg1
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

We were honored to host your daughter's wedding. It was a beautiful weekend, and they were absolutely fantastic to work with. Our Director of Guest Services met with you at the end of the weekend to address your complaints, seemingly to your satisfaction, but I'm happy to comment publicly. Starfish Cottage is a terrific option for families who may want... More 

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
0:31
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newagen
7.4 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
344 reviews
6.5 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
332 reviews
8.7 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
406 reviews
13.4 km away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
144 reviews
5.6 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newagen Seaside Inn

Address: 60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport > Newagen
Price Range: $253 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newagen Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Newagen Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newagen Seaside Hotel Newagen
Newagen Seaside Inn Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newagen Seaside Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
over a year ago
New York City, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Newagen Seaside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in main building would be a little noisier. Probably get one in the other building that has balconies (more expensive).”
 of 5 bubbles RandBMan, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony---it's worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles vickic23, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend the Little Inn rooms. More expensive but worth it”
 of 5 bubbles rth27, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the Starfish Cottage”
 of 5 bubbles ChristieR182, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Oceanside views are best”
 of 5 bubbles AlanS191, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay