We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Colonial Inn

Booking.comUS$119*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Colonial Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 590: English reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Our family has been coming to Ogunquit since 1966. We stayed at the Colonial for many years, but then it went downhill. Under present owners, it has come back much better than ever. Newly done over rooms, expanded porch, great lobby and pool as great as ever !

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jean S
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jean S, We would like to thank you for review and for giving us another try! Since the new ownership and major renovations, the Colonial Inn has truly been transformed. We are thrilled that you were willing to give us another try since the renovations. We look forward to having you back during your future travels to Ogunquit. Kindly,...

Lynn, Mass
Reviewed 30 October 2016

I've stayed at a few different places..This is now one of my favs. From the time we checked in to check out. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and very clean. The rooms were nice with plenty of storage and everything we needed. Rooms were done timely and the housekeeping staff was just a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jim t
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jim T, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly- we certainly are very eager to please and will do anything we can to make your stay most comfortable and enjoyable! Next time you stay with us, or call to make a reservation,...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Rooms are comfortable but many are in separate buildings, some a tidy walk away from the hotel - OK when sun shines. Many restaurants within an easy walk as was the sea. Breakfast room was very small and choice limited.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DJFGW
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Dear DJFGW, Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn! It sounds like you may have stayed in one of the outer buildings- which are a very short walk from behind the Main Inn. We can understand how some rooms may feel like a lengthier walk- especially when it is raining! If you prefer, next time you book...

Newmachar
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We had originally booked 2 nights but added a third as we liked the place very much. The place had a very nice homely ambience and the staff on the reception were very friendly and helpful. We were in the main building for 1 night and in one of the outer houses for 2 nights. The standard of room was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kenneth L
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth L, Thank you SO much for this lovely review! We are always really happy when guests decide to extend their stays. We are pleased that you found the staff and rooms accommodating. You're right about the breakfast room; we understand that it is a little cramped especially during the busy summer months. We extend the hours a bit...

Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The Inn is updated, spacious,and very inviting. The rooms are what you would expect for a sea side Inn. The staff was very helpful in directing us to fun places in town. The town was quaint and lots of fun to explore. The Inns proximity to everything was wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Spfaff
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Dear Spfaff, Ogunquit is certainly a quaint little town- everything is walking distance and there are so many things to do and see. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here and found the Colonial equally as enjoyable. We hope to see you again in 2017 and if you would like to book, please call us directly. We are...

Houlton, Maine
Reviewed 23 October 2016

After watching the Colonial being renovated on past visits to the area we were anxious to give it a try. Though we stayed in one of the units separate from the main inn, we were not disappointed. Our room was large and had a refrigerator and microwave. In the main inn, the lobby area was like a large living room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Wayne B
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Dear Wayne B, Thank you for giving us a try since we renovated and for sharing your experience. The rooms in the outer building were also renovated, as you mentioned, but have a different style. The rooms in the Main Inn are more "beach-cottage" style and flaunt the historic nature of the property. We would be happy to discuss the...

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Stayed here for two nights in a king size room in the main building with partial sea view. The room very nice and bed really comfortable. We had hoped to check in early but although some guests were able to we had to wait until exactly 3 pm. Desk staff was pleasant and helpful and able to advise on local...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank surich
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Dear Surich, We are happy that you found your room comfortable and your stay enjoyable. We apologize for not being able to accommodate your request for early check-in. We do our best, but cannot guarantee this as housekeeping is has a routine to follow to ensure the rooms are perfectly clean for our guests. We would like to thank you...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel,great staff. Best beds in ogunquit . Really enjoyed this place, they did an incredible job restoring this hotel. And the home made cookies in the afternoon are a great treat. For free I might add! The location is perfect , Perkins cove , marginal way, the beach, down town all a short walk away! Can't wait to go...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dapkas R
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ron and Debbie D, Thank you for a lovely review about your stay! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and found the amenities comforting. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay more comfortable or enjoyable, please let us know when booking and we would be happy to...

Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The Colonial Inn is a large, classic old beach hotel. It's not right on the beach, but it's only footsteps away from a great cliffside walking path, good restaurants and lots of shops. Our room was not luxurious, but spacious and nice. The staff is eager to help, and their breakfast was very tasty (loved the carrot muffins!) and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeachMartie
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Dear BeachMartie, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us this past October. We are happy that you found the amenities and location enjoyable. If you would like a more luxurious room the next time you stay with certain amenities, please let us know when booking and we would be happy to see...

Taunton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Warning... Seriously, folks, keep away. The check-in process and hotel parking were a breeze. Pavel, the desk clerk, was very warm and hospitable. A very nice young man. But when we came to our room, this is what we found: A mix of new and old furniture that didn’t fit the room. No window treatments or curtains of any kind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YackeeDoodle

341 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (164)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (35)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Premier King Room (Ocean View) (41)
Viewed
Super King Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
1.4 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
533 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.3 km away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
299 reviews
0.9 km away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Address: 145 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3711
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Price Range: $150 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Colonial Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Colonial Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms with a view if the ocean if desired.. All rooms should be very quiet.”
ricardocV3934RD, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“General manager Dole and her assistant Taylor are always available and willing to help, the Colonial is an all King bed Inn, what a luxury, there aren't many tips to give because the rooms are fantastic. ”
W6944NAstevenb, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“The views are spectacular!”
mary3062014, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Great ocean view rooms”
msga159, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Top floor rooms can have a great ocean view.”
57jeans, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$119* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$119
TripAdvisorUS$119
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates