Powder Horn Family Camping Resort

Powder Horn Family Camping Resort

Traveller (68)
Pool & Beach (48)
Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 10 campsites in Old Orchard Beach
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Powder Horn Family Camping Resort is southern Maine’s finest RV Resort and campground – family owned and operated for over 50 years! Camping with us means finding your home away from home... right here in the heart of Old Orchard Beach, Maine. At Powder Horn we offer something for everyone; a full activities program, hot tubs-- drained and cleaned daily, swimming pools, an 18-hole mini golf course, a camp store, a wide range of full hook up campsites, tenting sites and seasonal sites in a resort-style setting. All of the amenities here at Powder Horn are complimentary for campers and guests. Walk to the beach or take the trolley from our on-site pick-up location. Enjoy all the action of The Pier, local shops, restaurants and all the amusements of O.O.B.!! If you are looking for a camping experience like no other, you've found it here at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Yoga classes
Pool
Breakfast available
Game room
Mini golf
Children's playground
Internet
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Wine / champagne
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Convenience store
Gift shop
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
669Reviews2Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 477
  • 131
  • 30
  • 11
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ron B wrote a review Oct 2020
Winooski, Vermont
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here again in 2020. About our 10th year here. Great place to stay. A mile to the beach and centrally located for just about anything you want to do. They went out of their way this year to make sure the bathrooms were cleaned multiple times a day and were always spotless. An easy recommendation for a campground.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Powder Horn, General Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Responded Oct 13, 2020
Thank you Ron for the kind words. We worked extra hard this year to ensure the safety of all our guests during this pandemic. We're so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy yourself again this year. See you in 2021!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chelsey wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I bought a camper and decided to head to powder horn. I was nervous about traveling here with covid but the staff and camping resort were amazing. SUPER CLEAN!!!!!! We had a beautiful lot that was perfect for my son to run around safely. The pools were quiet and after every person got up the chairs at the pool were cleaned. The bathrooms were literally perfectly cleaned. The lack of activities were understandable due to the pandemic. But we had such an amazing and relaxing time. We will most definitely be back next summer. My only complaint was old orchard beach. It is beautiful and has cleaned up over the year’s, how ever, there was no social distancing and no one was wearing a mask. But other than that, awesome stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Powder Horn, General Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Responded Sep 11, 2020
Hi Chelsey, thank you so much for the positive review. We are so happy you picked us to stay with, we understand how stressful it is to travel this summer. Our goal at Powder Horn is to make sure everyone feels comfortable and safe while in our park! We hope to see you and your family next summer when you can really experience what Powder Horn is all about! Happy Fall!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noelle S wrote a review Aug 2022
Merrimack, New Hampshire
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I went to the campground for two nights to visit my parents who were staying in their RV for two weeks. It cost $12 per person, per night plus tax and we were able to set up our tent on their site. Their site, 13P, was great because it had trees behind them and to one side. The other sites in the middle of that section are very close together and don't offer as much shade. I was impressed at how clean the restrooms were and how beautiful the flowers were at each bathroom and up by the gazebo at the entrance. The trolley to the beach was great ($2 pp or $1 pp for seniors), especially for my parents since they didn't have an additional vehicle with them. My dad had a great suggestion that they should do a book swap where you could trade books with other campers.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Powder Horn, General Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Thank you for your review, Noelles899! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with your parents and all we had to offer. Our team works very hard to keep everything looking top notch for our guests, so it's wonderful to hear it be noticed. We hope to see you and your parents again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Familyof5inCt wrote a review Jul 2020
Lebanon
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We came here for a family vacation and are so disappointed. The advertised hot tubs- a big draw for our teenagers were closed. The trolley that was advertised on the campground website costs 2 dollars per person each way for a 1 mile trip. The pool table area was closed. We couldn't even get in the get travel brochures from the room so we could find other activities for our family. We even asked the staff to get us some brochures and were told no. Then we tried the mini golf - which is supposed to be open until 9pm. It was 830 and we were told we couldn't play and to come back the next day. There was supposed to be a movie in the evening, but when we went there, the movie wasnt being shown as there were technical problems. For the money we paid to stay at this campground it is not worth it. I would not recommend and we will not be going back. We even took COVID tests so we could visit this place from out of state.. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PHFCRManager, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Responded Jul 6, 2020
Hello Familyof5inCt. We're sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your camping trip. Our hot tubs are closed at this time due to COVID-19 restrictions as stated on our website. We have actually put out multiple emails and Facebook posts which state that our pools (and other amenities) will be open with limitations. The trolley service is provided by the Saco, Biddeford, and Old Orchard Trolley Service. Luckily, like you said, we're only a mile from the beach so it's not a far walk in the case you didn't want to pay for the trolley! Our game window is open until 9PM on certain days, however we need to stop renting equipment at 8:30 so that everyone has enough time to play before returning their equipment at 9PM! We certainly apologize for the technical issues with the movie. Although not perfect, we were lucky that the movie was started only a half an hour after planned, starting at 9PM. We hope you understand that camping during a global pandemic is difficult, and not everything is going to look exactly like it has in previous years. If you would like to speak with our management team regarding your concerns, give our office a call and we'll be more than happy to chat! Best of luck with your camping endeavors in the future. Thank you, Chastity Assistant Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gene wrote a review May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Overpriced and ridiculous 30 day cancelation policy/ no refunds. I made reservations May 3rd for memorial day weekend 2021, I wanted to cancel but was never made aware of cancelation policy. I made the reservations within the 30 day window and was told no refund was available. $1103.20 for 3 nights 2 sites 6 adults and 6 children, the average working class people with families can't afford these prices. I take my kids and grandkids camping every Memorial day weekend , fourth of July and Labor day weekend and pay for it ,cause other wise they can't afford too, it's now gotten so I can't afford it. What ever happened to affordable family camping based on family of 4? They claim off season rates at this time of year , I'd hate to see peak season rates.

Very unhappy it will be our last trip to Powder Horn camping resort

Eugene Ely
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Powder Horn, General Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Responded May 13, 2021
Hello Eugene, thank you for your feedback. We would like to hear more about your situation to see what we can do for you. Please give our office a call at 207-934-4733 so we can discuss your frustrations further. Our management team is always happy to do right by our guests. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveling wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed st this campground and it was Nickle and dime all the way. $1000.00 for 5 days stay and extra for pets, extra for more than one car, extra for family more than 2 people.

We were aware we needed to change sites mid stay and then told we had to leave campground for 2 hours to come back to our next site.... no one was on the site.

Campground bragged they were full and how full they were not. About 1/2 capacity.

If you love rules and more rules on rules for a over priced campground this is the location for you. Warning the rules are not consistent.

Run by teenagers, GM quit.

I had stayed here years ago and did not recall it being this bad.

Guess they had to make money back from Covid

We left early...... there are many other over priced places to stay at Old Orchard beach.

There are some positives. There are 3 pools on site. 2 hot tubs one.for.kids and one for adults but kids in adult hot tub noticed. There is mini golf and horseshoes on site and trolly in town that runs to many of these campgrounds.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Powder Horn, General Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Responded Jul 31, 2021
Thank you for your feedback, Travelingrv123. We certainly understand that our camping resort isn’t for everyone, which is why we refunded you - in full - for the two nights which you didn’t want to stay with us. We were happy to do this for you, even though our policy states there are no refunds for early check-outs. We have a team of wonderful people, ranging from teenagers all the way up to retirees. We’re blessed to have each and every one of their smiling faces here with us this summer! We wish the best for you in your future camping endeavors, and hope you find a campground which better suits your needs. All the best, Powder Horn Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave C wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed this past week after making an appointment on Monday. The only request we had was for a site with shade. While on our way to the campground we received our confirmation via email with a $25.00 lock in fee. When we questioned the fee, we were told it was to hold the site we had requested. We only asked for a shaded site, not a specific site. Upon arrival, our site did not have a single tree. We eventually received the $25.00 refund. Sites are close together and their is no privacy. Their rates are not posted because they change nightly. As the campground fills up, the prices go up. The campground store is closed and the internet service is terrible too. Definitely will NOT be going back to this campground.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Powder Horn, General Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Thank you for your feedback, Y8928EYdavec. We understand our the site lock fee and dynamic pricing is still new to some campers, so we try our best to explain this when needed. We were glad to be able to refund you the site lock fee due the misunderstanding there. As a small family owned business, we are starting to adopt the ways of similar campgrounds in our area. We also understand our campground isn't for everyone. We're glad you were able to stay with us this passing weekend, and hope you find campgrounds that'll better suit your needs in the future! We wish you all the best, Powder Horn Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MimiandPapa22020 wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our second year camping at Powderhorn. Facilities are well maintained and cleaned often throughout the day, employees are very pleasant. Sites are well maintained. trolley stop at the entrance which will bring you down and back from the beach area. Unfortunately this year due to virus the camp store was not open and the office only has limited items available, and the trolley had stopped running it's route, so if we needed an item we had to walk down to the store and beach area, the walk is not really that far so that is also a great feature for this campground. Large campground with plenty to do for all age groups.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Powder Horn, General Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Thank you MimiandPapa22020 for such wonderful feedback! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, even with a crazy summer like this passing one. We look forward to seeing you in the future when everything is back to normal!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sightsee551146 wrote a review Oct 2020
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Powder horn is a very clean and well well managed campground. Next time staying at the big rig sites I will select a site further in from the road. With the covid there were restrictions that were controlled well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Powder Horn, General Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Responded Oct 13, 2020
Thank you so much for the review. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Old Orchard Beach!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KWS1999 wrote a review Oct 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Campground offers no privacy, the sites are super close together...and I assume that due to it being the last weekend of the season, we were all jammed in one section that barely fit our travel trailer. Besides that, the bathrooms were clean and they did have good entertainment (live music) for a couple of hours of their fall fest day. Overall, it is totally overpriced...especially when they start nitpicking about having to pay extra for every child and dog on the site. It is highly likely that we never return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Powder Horn, General Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Thank you for the feedback, KWS1999.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rstpierre2022 wrote a tip Jul 22
Bristol, Connecticut2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early to get a good spot"
Read full review
KuriousKat2 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Hampton, New Hampshire30 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check for all surcharges before reserving."
Read full review
MomNewHampshire wrote a tip Aug 2022
Enfield, New Hampshire2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"End of row camping sites are larger as a ruler."
Read full review
Lisa B wrote a tip Jul 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"make sure you request bigger site than you realy want"
Read full review
MamaG978 wrote a tip Oct 2019
Boston, Massachusetts47 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We love Powder Horn! It’s clean, people are friendly and it’s close to the OOB Pier. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Old Orchard Beach area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
powder horn family camping hotel old orchard beach
LOCATION
United StatesMaineOld Orchard Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
480
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Powder Horn Family Camping Resort - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Powder Horn Family Camping Resort?
Nearby attractions include Len Libby Chocolates (6.4 km), Old Orchard Beach (1.7 km), and Funtown Splashtown USA (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a hot tub, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Powder Horn Family Camping Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pier French Fries, Palace Diner, and Big Daddy's Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Is Powder Horn Family Camping Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Old Orchard Beach.
Are pets allowed at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Powder Horn Family Camping Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Winslow Homer's Studio (5.5 km) and Biddeford Mills Museum (6.3 km).
Is Powder Horn Family Camping Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Old Orchard Beach HotelsOld Orchard Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Old Orchard BeachHotels near Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars