We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Powder Horn Family Camping Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 331: English reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We found this to be a great campground. The staff was very helpful, the grounds were in great shape. Lots of space for both seasonal and campers alike. Seasonal homes and grounds were very well maintained. Bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. The pools looked like they were well cared for. They make sure there are activities for all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
Powderhorn2016fcr, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We strive to provide quality customer service and keep our property and facilities sparkling! Very glad to hear Ed was able to assist you with your needs. He is a very valuable member of our team. See you next time!

Passadumkeag
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Very clean campground from the bathrooms, pool and campsites. A lot of fun things to do right there for the whole family to enjoy with no traveling to different locations. The adults all had a relaxing time and the kids had fun at the park, pool and really enjoyed the kid friendly hot tub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodyd7
Powderhorn2016fcr, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Very nice review thank you! Glad to hear you and your family enjoyed yourselves! Come again soon.

Lee, Maine
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Extremely clean ,pools and hot tubs very clean ,mini golf ,horseshoe pit,shuffle board ,basketball hoops playgrounds, laundry facilities, store,activities ,have stayed twice will definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorna S
Powderhorn2016fcr, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Powder Horn! See you next time!

Gloucester
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Great place to go camping !!!! Will deffinely return there ! Awesome swimming pools 3 of them lots of activates for young & old alike ! Need you use up sixty five more characters as they have a 200 limit !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank william_diane6311
Powderhorn2016fcr, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Powder Horn offers activities for every customer that comes through the door! Glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves. See you next year!

Dracut, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This is a great family camping resort that is real close to all amenities downtown center and the beach. The beach is clean and have enough lifeguards for the children watching. Great restaurants and friendly bars to choose from.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francine_chaput
Powderhorn2016fcr, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

So glad your family enjoyed the park and area! Old Orchard Beach is a great place for families to come and enjoy their summer vacations. See you next year!

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This is a campground resort. You get what you pay for- beautiful sites, clean bathrooms, efficient check in, and TONS of activities. We will be back. Our site was back in the pines- they are a little tight, but we never felt crowded. If you had bad neighbors this might be an issue, but staff asked our neighbors (who were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eemich10
Powderhorn2016fcr, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! The Pine Grove area is a favorite among most of our campers! We aim to maintain a fun family atmosphere for all to enjoy. Come again soon!

Rutland, Vermont
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Was our first time camping here and enjoyed the location and campground very much. With a 15, 12 and 2 year-old, there was plenty for all to do throughout our stay. We had a full hook-up and it was a great spot and no issues. The only trouble was with the Wi-Fi internet. Either we couldn't connect or we would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmclay77
Powderhorn2016fcr, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We love seeing old friends and making new ones. As for the WIFI, it is a work in progress. Upgrades are always taking place to make the network stronger. Thanks for your feedback!

Billerica
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We had a ball! So much to do, kids had a great time, place was spotless, bathroom shiny clean! Team to old orchard only &1.00 from park, Internet, great for winding down at night, quiet when quiet time, camp store awesome!! Cannoli guy a plus!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
Powderhorn2016fcr, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Great feedback thank you! We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed all of the amenities & facilities Powder Horn has to offer. Come again soon!

Cumberland, Rhode Island
Reviewed 9 September 2016

I have stayed at Powderhorn ever since I was little and now 30 years later I was a bit disappointed. I asked twice for a confirmation of my trip booking and never got it and the campground was infested by bees. Both of my kids were stung and they were everywhere you went by the dozens.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerrysZ2470WX
Powderhorn2016fcr, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Directly following your departure of the campground that section was closed and a team of pest control specialist came to the park to spray the area which seemed to solve the problem. We apologize for the incident that occurred with your children. As for your confirmations, it seems as if they were sent successfully. However,...

Presque Isle
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Powder Horn Campground was extremely clean and had a friendly staff. It was conveniently located a short distance from the beach. We loved returning in the evenings to play mini golf. We were able to sleep well at night as it was very quiet. We have a pop-up with no key and had no way to lock up when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon B

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Orchard Beach
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford
11.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
2.3 km away
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campground
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campgro...
#4 of 22 in Old Orchard Beach
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Inn By the Sea
Inn By the Sea
#1 of 1 in Cape Elizabeth
893 reviews
1.7 km away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#31 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
38 reviews
3.1 km away
Wagon Wheel RV Resort and Campground
Wagon Wheel RV Resort and Campgr...
#7 of 22 in Old Orchard Beach
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For family vacations that will offer something for all ages, a trip to Powder Horn Family Camping Resort in Old Orchard Beach, Maine is a great choice. We are a full service Family Camping Resort just minutes from beautiful, seven mile, Old Orchard Beach. Our facilities can accommodate all your camping needs, from tenting to full-hookup 50AMP service camping. We cater to families and couples, always striving to create and maintain a family friendly atmosphere, in all aspects of our operation.We have four swimming pools, two hot tubs, and plenty of possibilities for activities and recreation, including: horseshoe pits, mini-golf, volleyball, and basketball. We have a full children's activities program, and events during the summer that are fun for the whole family! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Powder Horn Family Camping Resort

Address: 48 Cascade Rd, P.O. Box 366, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-1524
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $46 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 480
Also Known As:
Powder Horn Family Camping Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Powder Horn Family Camping Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Powder Horn Family Camping Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Powder Horn Family Camping Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Solar light posts might be a nice touch!”
 of 5 bubbles Q3783QGheatherh, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Internet was impossible to connect to. We didn't check with staff on the problem because we had other resources.”
 of 5 bubbles neveragain68123, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“not needed ”
 of 5 bubbles arivera2015, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our only complaint is other campers walking through our lot. Children playing in our area while parents are watching. We put up a clothes line, people give us dirty looks and walk under the clothes line. ”
 of 5 bubbles mjtm4, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pines area was best for us.... Shade space and seclusion ..... Plus one bathroom felt brand new ”
 of 5 bubbles JROBBY0206, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5