We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Cliff House Motel

Save
Share
2 Seacliff Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2769
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$142
Hotels.comUS$142
FindHotelUS$142
eDreamsUS$142
PricelineUS$142
Orbitz.comUS$142
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (78)
Room & Suite (28)
Pool & Beach (10)

About

#26 of 44 hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Sea Cliff House Motel is a beachfront property that has been under the same ownership for over 30 years. We renovated the 3rd floor of our main house building in 2012 adding 2 new suites! We now have 3 luxury suites on our property ... the Grand Suite, the Penthouse Suite and the Honeymoon Suite. Our property also has kitchenette units, Jacuzzi rooms and of course, ocean view rooms that will take your breath away. We are a beachfront property offering a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool for the entire family (children & adults) to enjoy and we offer a seasonal outdoor hot tub spa for adults (18 years of age and over). Bring your hamburgers and hot dogs because the grills are located poolside for your convenience. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker along with free Wi-Fi and nationwide calling. The suites and kitchenettes are fully appointed ... just bring your clothing and food.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Great View
225Reviews10Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 74
  • 65
  • 30
  • 15
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sara Smith wrote a review Apr. 2021
1 contribution
I wasnt very pleased with the rooms. Also, this place assumes all their guests are thieves or vandals by charging you a $100 fee in case you cause damage or steal something. In my 30 yrs of traveling, I havent seen this happen. The rooms are overpriced and stink. Good luck If you choose this place!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Kitspin wrote a review Jan. 2021
Enfield, Connecticut7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Web site said excepts service dogs. When I arrived I was harassed for having a dog! Made me explain my disability when law states you are not allowed to ask. Was on phone discussing me with someone and after a on going battle even after I showed paperwork to prove I have a service dog they made me sign a 100.00 deposit for any theft or damage. I took photos and a video of the room before I left and when I got home to call them they accused me of destroying the room and my dog used blue pee pee pads to urinate ( they claim they were in The bathroom trash!!! I never used them even at home. They gave me a hard time to get my money back!! I tried to reach the owners and let me tell you, if you have an issue they will not reach out to you!! I had to file a complaint against them to try and get my deposit back. Never in my life have I ever been through such an ordeal! Been going to Old Orchard for over 20 years and Other establishments know me and they said if the owner wanted to talk to them they would speak for me, but didn’t matter to this owner. I always stayed at the same two other places but because it was off season I had to find another place. Well, I am in such disbelief that Old Orchard would have this kind of place there. I can’t believe they would lie like that and the owner wouldn’t even contact me to hear me out or even apologize!!!! I am known to keep my room in very clean order. I even make the bed put in here I didn’t so they would see it was clean. Never expected that and something told me to take a video and photo because of the trouble they gave me when I arrived. As for the room, the carpet was stained and old and there was no comforter on the bed. Just a thin blanket and it was cold. The bathroom floor was slanted and no kitchen ware to eat with. I even bought my own garbage bags to put my lobster dinner in so it wouldn’t smell the room. Put the bag out side on the deck until morning. Just can’t believe how they treat their guest!!! Does this room look like It was destroyed!!!! My photos are date and time stamped but the owners don’t care.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Angel Logan, Other at Sea Cliff House Motel
Responded Jan. 9, 2021
Although the Sea Cliff House has a strict NO PETS allowed policy – we fully understand and adhere to the laws specific to service dogs including what we are permitted and not permitted to ask. With that said, according to the Maine’s Human Rights Act and the federal Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) with respect to service animals in "Public Facilities and Accommodations – "Entities cannot require anything of people with "service animals" that they do not require of individuals in general, with or without pets. If a public accommodation normally charges individuals for the damage they cause, an individual with a disability may be charged for damage caused by his or her service animal" NOTE: This legislation applies only to animals specifically trained and classified as "Service Animals" and not "Assistance Animals." The documentation provided by the guest was neither legally necessary, required, or requested and did not change our long standing "Damage and Theft Deposit" policy that ALL guests must observe. This policy is posted in several online and offline locations from our third-party travel agency profiles and our official online site outlining our policies to the email confirmation that is sent to all guests prior to arrival that requires a signature upon check-in. This particular guest would have had to pay the $100 Damage and Theft Deposit whether there was a service animal or not. In addition, this is a refundable deposit barring any damage caused to our establishment, which is always determined by our staff after check-out upon inspection. Our guests are also informed in advance that If there is no damage – the deposit will be refunded to the credit card used for the stay typically 3-5 days after check-out, contingent upon the time that it takes for the Credit Card Payment Processing Company to process and release the refund. It is unfortunate that the guest entered our premises with a preconceived defensive disposition immediately upon arrival, which not only proved to be non-productive, but also, problematic. That continual demeanor throughout their stay only created an unpleasant and uncomfortable atmosphere for everyone around them. Any additional negative remarks made by this reviewer are not accurate and seem to reflect the author's previous negative experiences. Although we can certainly understand and sympathize with our guest – we can confidently confirm that our staff did everything correctly and according to the law.
Read more
Navigator698425 wrote a review Nov. 2020
7 contributions
+1
Yellow sheets, old thin yellow blanket, uncomfortable futon with stains, outdoor chair in room with very flat cushion, old repainted furniture. After check-in we were called and asked to go back to the office because she filled out the paperwork wrong.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Angel Logan, Other at Sea Cliff House Motel
Responded Jan. 9, 2021
The Sea Cliff House takes great pride in the high level of cleanliness and meticulous care that we provide within our guestrooms, luxury suites, and entire property. While we are never happy to find out that a guest is unsatisfied for any reason -- we must assert that the comments contained within this review are not only flagrantly inaccurate, but also, needlessly harmful. It is unfortunate that the author of the review chose this negative path. However, we can assure all of our future guests that the depiction conveyed within this review is the antithesis of our establishment, which is evident by the endless number of returning guests over the past 30+ years.
Read more
Shiloh wrote a review Oct. 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Very disappointed and outraged by our stay at the Sea Cliff House Motel. My husband and I booked a room for 2 nights. The morning we were supposed to leave, we woke up to someone pounding on our door. I at first thought maybe we had overslept, check out time was at 11:00 AM and I had an alarm set for 09:00 AM. I looked at my phone and it was only 08:16 AM. My husband answered the door to a very irate man who was already leaving down the steps from the 2nd floor, who proceeded to yell and accuse us of smoking in the room. Neither of us smoke and are very against it, so this was a rather shocking accusation. My husband told him we had been asleep all night and don't smoke, and he tried to ask the man who he was. The man refused to identify himself, would not say if he was an employee of the hotel or not, and told us that we had been smoking and needed to leave immediately. He then got in a blue truck and began to leave. My husband and I went outside still in our pajamas and I had even told the man before he drove off he was welcome to come in to the room to see there was no smell and we had not been smoking, but to please identify who he was. The man continued to yell through the window of his truck before driving away. The hotel office was not yet open and my husband found the emergency number and called it. We got a call back from the hotel manager who immediately accused us of smoking as well and that it was a marijuana smell and that it was coming from our room. My husband told her she could also come smell the room and that we do not smoke, and she said that we needed to leave or she would call the police. My husband told her to call the police and even welcomed it, because we actually like the police and would be happy to have an officer come take a look at the room. He also told her that the man who pounded on our door was very rude, disrespectful, and did not conduct himself professionally at all. I then spoke to her on the phone and told her we had been sleeping the entire time, and that we were very disturbed by being woken up, losing sleep, and being falsely accused but she was welcome to come inspect the room. I told her there must be some kind of mistake and our room must be confused with another. She would not say if they were going to check other rooms or not but did say she would come take a look at ours. She also told us that our windows had been open all night and they could smell it through the window. Our windows had in fact been closed all night and I told her that. After 09:00 AM my husband called her again to see if she had arrived yet at the hotel. She had not, and also said she would not be inspecting our room until 15 minutes after we checked out due to their policies regarding covid-19. When she arrived we told her we would check out and then wait 15 minutes for the room to be inspected, and then we expected an apology and a refund for at least one of the nights we stayed. She told us that she didn't "have time to deal with you guys", meanwhile it was our vacation being ruined, not hers. We checked out, waited 15 minutes and then she went in and inspected the room with another employee. When she came out she apologised, admitted she was wrong, and gave us a refund for one night, which she called "fair" for wasting our time. A refund was the very least she could do, because although we got some money back nothing will replace the time we lost during our vacation, and this threw a wrench in our entire morning. We lost sleep by getting woken up, and had planned on making coffee together and using the hot tub before leaving but needless to say, that did not happen. The manager told me that every other time they have always guessed right at which room the marijuana smell is coming from and that this is a problem they have had before, and this was the first time they were wrong. I told her that doesn't matter and they need to do their due diligence and actually investigate before accusing their paying customers. If the man who woke us up had been respectful, identified himself, and asked if he could talk to us and whether we had been smoking in the room or not, and came into the room when we asked him to see for himself, would have been one story. But to make accusations before they had gone in our room or any others for that matter was absurd. I know they hadn't checked all the other rooms yet because I saw a lot of other customers were still there when we left, and the employees won't go into the rooms until 15 minutes after check out time due to covid-19. We both told her that the man in the blue truck needs to learn to conduct himself professionally, and to identify himself when speaking to customers, especially if he is going to disturb them so abruptly in the morning while they are still asleep. He could have been anyone, and in this day and age we had no idea if he was a burglar or someone who might have wanted to harm us. This kind of behavior is unnacceptable and these employees need to think before they mistreat their customers. Lastly, not only was our last day of vacation ruined by this, but we are both extremely offended by this happening. Neither of us smoke marijuana or even cigarettes, and while we don't have anything against people who do, it is against our personal beliefs and to be accused of something so wildly untrue was unbelievable. We are going to be telling our friends and family about this, and I know a lot of businesses don't believe that will affect them when a customer says that to them but believe me, it will. Not only have you lost our business, but we plan on telling everyone we know about this experience. Normally if we really like a hotel we will recommend it to our friends or family the next time they take a vacation, but not for Sea Cliff House Motel. To be quite honest, getting woken up like this and yelled at unnanounced and uninvited was nothing short of harassment. If you want a quiet, peaceful vacation with decent hotel staff and respectful and considerate management, don't stay at the Sea Cliff House Motel. We spend a lot of our money on travel and this was the worst hotel experience we have ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Angel Logan, Other at Sea Cliff House Motel
Responded Oct. 3, 2020
Maine is a non-smoking state and the Sea Cliff House has a strict no-smoking policy. This is clearly posted and indicated within the email confirmation upon booking as well as the signed confirmation by all guests upon check-in. We understand how this may be inconvenient for some people who are smokers. However, it is our responsibility to enforce this policy. This means that if a staff member determines that smoke of any kind can be detected from the door or window of a guestroom/suite, or if another guest lodges a complaint regarding smoke coming from a neighboring room -- we must take that seriously. This policy is not designed to ruin anyone's stay, but instead, to preserve the overall environment, comfort level, and peaceful enjoyment of every guest staying at the Sea Cliff House. There are designated locations only steps outside of the property line for smokers to utilize, but again -- smoking within the room or anywhere on the Sea Cliff House property is strictly prohibited. Further, if a guest has violated any of the motel policies, we are more than happy to give that individual an opportunity to rectify the infraction to avoid any disruptive consequences. However, if the guest refuses to cooperate or becomes combative on any level -- then our only recourse is to ask that guest to leave the premises. The enforcement of our policies must be handled even more delicately because of the current pandemic for the safety of all involved. Therefore, we did what we felt was necessary in an effort to de-escalate an unpleasant situation and despite the inaccuracy of this posted review, we stand by our decision. It does not make us happy to ask any guest to leave. All that we can do is our best for everyone involved, while hoping for mutual understanding -- and that is what we did.
Read more
Andrew Z wrote a review Aug. 2020
New York214 contributions75 helpful votes
+1
When we booked, only room with Jacuzzi was available. This room is small because of jacuzzi. There is no table, no chairs inside. There is a small patio table with 2 chairs outside on a small porch, with ocean view (!). Small refrigerator with microwave and coffee maker on a small dresser. If you a fan of jacuzzi, by all means take it. Otherwise do not. Advantage – nice ocean view and proximity to beach. Because of Covid-19, there is no daily service room, which is not a big deal, since all the personnel is very helpful and accommodating. You can get coffee, towels, toiletries etc. Not a problem. We decided to stay one more night, and with a staff help we were able to. However we had to move to another room. Again, with personnel help, we were able to do it way before 3 pm, therefore we could spend entire day on a beach. This time we had a room with kitchenette. This room is much bigger, actually there are two rooms, with a table, chairs, bigger fridge, microwave and stove. There are mugs, glass cups, plates, pans – everything you need to cook a simply breakfast, lunch or dinner. No ocean view, but I would prefer that room over one with Jacuzzi. The rooms were clean, and we saw personnel spending some time to sanitized rooms before next guests. We were missing one thing – a small broom with a small shovel to clean a floor after coming back from a beach. The motel is far enough from the main pier crowd, but not too far for a nice walk. The beach is clean, with less people than other parts of the Old Orchard Beach. Next time when we visit the Old Orchard Beach, we will stay there again. Recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Second floor less noise
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Angel Logan, Other at Sea Cliff House Motel
Responded Aug. 31, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your positive review and rating. This will be forwarded to management. Thank you for staying with us!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sea cliff house hotel old orchard beach, sea cliff house and motel, sea cliff hotel, sea cliff motel
LOCATION
United StatesMaineOld Orchard Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sea Cliff House Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Sea Cliff House Motel?
Nearby attractions include Old Orchard Beach (1.0 km), Palace Playland (1.1 km), and Beach Lobster & Farmstand (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sea Cliff House Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sea Cliff House Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Sea Cliff House Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sea Cliff House Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Big Daddy's Bar & Grill, Pier French Fries, and Beach Bagels.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sea Cliff House Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sea Cliff House Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.